We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlos' Steak House - US prices but not US quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos' Steak House

Carlos' Steak House
Avendia A and Calle 3, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
+507 6518 9627
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carlos' Steak House - US prices but not US quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It seems if you are lucky, you'll have a great steak, if not well then.......
My experience....I ordered a medium rare NY cut.....got a well done dry steak.
I sent it back, no problem -no fuss, the replacement was medium rare alright,
but that's where it ended. Tough piece of meat full of tough fibers.
Who's fault is it if the butcher cuts the meat wrong and the restauranteur accepts it.
However, I will not be back at Carlo's for another try, at $ 17.00 in Panama, I expect it to be right.
My wife's steak was perfect.......
Maybe you will be lucky....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FAVORITE Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The owner is so awesome & so very nice, we eat here every time we are in Bocas a must !! Carlos is awesome, the food is soo good, great wine & good times, love the dessert too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Chimichurri to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Husband and I went one night for dinner and planned on splitting one entree as we were told they were huge. After we ordered with Carlos, I looked at my husband and realized we somehow had ordered two entrees! The tuna was great, super fresh and husbands steak was good too. The chimichurri though, wow....AMAZING. I pretty much put it on everything from my salad to my baked potato. Definitely need to try to replicate it at home! Only complaint- corn was not so good but the servings are huge so it didnt even matter.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The quality of the meat is excellent and is reflected in the price. The service is attentive but I have one complaint. The second time I went there and specifically asked not to season my meat, and was told it would be okay. when the steak came together with the apology that my instruction was forgotten. The restaurant is a roadside restaurant at the end of town, that means not much traffic and the atmosphere is good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good meat good service amiable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

You eat outside, there were people from yachts who knew the owner and it was fun. We eat well and it was a good relation between price and quality

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos' Steak House also viewed

 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Carlos' Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos' Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.