We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bocas Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Om Cafe

Om Cafe
Av. F at Calle 2, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
6624-0898
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bocas Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place really had a great curry selection. The Fish and the butter chicken were two exceptionally great dishes. The samosas were over-priced (and a few other menu items) but all in all it is a tasty delight here in Bocas. The most note worthy part of the experience aside from the curry was the live music (amazing.) Check it out but be ready to spend some money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mary Esther, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So-So”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We love Indian food, and eat it quite often! Based on the strong TripAdvisor reviews, we decided to eat at Om. We started with Samosas (2 for $6) which were less than impressive and lacked the distinctive favors that we expect. I ordered Shrimp Tikka Masala and my husband ordered Buttered Chicken. His Butter Chicken was ok, but my shrimp was marginal. Naan was basically a tortilla. The lentil served with the main dish were probably the most authentic and best part of the meal. Service was efficient, but not friendly. For a $50 meal in Panama for two with one drink each, we recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great curries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We sat on the outdoor patio, which was lovely as the restaurant was quite hot inside. The curries were delicious! One of the best kormas ever! Great options for vegetarians. The naan was less than spectacular, but the meal was good overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Upstairs, nice breeze, interesting decor. Good menu with good options for groups. Authentic menu, well prepared food. Nice service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and athmosphere but avoid the waitress from the States!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A place you wouldnt presume would be in Bocas. If you are tires of fried pargo or lobster go to om. Very good food and athmosfere! Price is also good on the expensive side. The only downside is that you can encounter a waitress from the US who basically has that attitude saying "I dont want to work" and will treat you as if you were doing her a favour. She will bring you everything at once and will fool you with the check!! (Will add up taxes on the check including the tip...) This happened the 3 times she served us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Om Cafe also viewed

 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Om Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Om Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.