We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing starters, average mains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Om Cafe

Om Cafe
Av. F at Calle 2, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
6624-0898
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing starters, average mains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ate here as a group of four. Lovely setting, very hippy ish. We got a table in the corner where you sit cross legged. That was fun. Don't wear a pencil skirt!

The mixed started was really good. Very flavoursome. Especially the sheekh kebab and the potato and lentil part.

Mains we had korma, butter chicken, paneer, and chicken curry. All ok. Naan bread not very good. Not authentic. Tasted a bit strange.

A good experience but wish we had two starters and no mains!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OM serves great food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went to Om on our last night in Bocas and we were not disappointed. We got there early at 6 pm so we were able to get a table overlooking the street, catching the breeze. Our server was prompt and courteous and our food, which took a while to arrive, was hot, fresh and delicious. We order spicy mixed vegetables, tarka dahl, curried chicken and curried shrimp and each dish was excellent. The restaurant automatically adds a 10% tip for service to your bill, but I was pleased with the outcome and felt well satisfied.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food and senses treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If we'd been longer In Bocas, we would have eaten here again; we will when we go back. We love Indian food, so this was a surprise to find this great little restaurant. The food and choices and flavours here are amazing - huge amount of food, so enough to take away for lunch next day. Best place in Bocas Town for best vegetarian options, and the chicken and fish dishes were much enjoyed. The doorway upstairs to the restaurant has the name on it; but its in the main area, so easy to find. This place gets busy so we had choice seating by going early. The seats on the balcony are the best for watching the many sights on the street below. Like Bocas Town, Om is very colourful and an experience in itself. Service is in keeping with the pace of freshly prepared food, a friendly server and a charming, slightly hippy-India ambiance, which makes it a great spot to hang out and chat, while your food is prepared. Really good, but not conversation-limiting music played. Tried lots on the menu and loved it all. Well-priced for Bocas and not to be missed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Indian spice in tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great Indian food in a lovely location overlooking the main street of Bocas Town.
A lovely relaxed atmosphere makes this a great dining option.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best dinner I ate in Bocas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Tried a bunch of restaurants while in Bocas...was satisfied with most but Om was by far, the best dining experience while we were in Bocas. I had butter chicken and dahl...delish! My friend had a fish dish.....not as much food as he would have liked but it was also very tasty. The chai tea was the only thing that neither of us enjoyed and I usually love the stuff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Om Cafe also viewed

 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Om Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Om Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.