We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gringo's

Gringo's
off Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food wasn't as good as I was expecting. It was tasty but a bit sloppy. Nice relaxed place 50mtrs from the main street. Nice service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    53
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Laid back feel, but outstanding food with beautiful presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We ate outside at Gringo's tonight and had a fabulous, affordable meal. We enjoyed the uniquely local feel that this restaurant provides, particularly the two chickens that roamed in off the street at one point.

The owner, Gary, personally came over to greet us and he even took a few moments to help educate us about the Holiday that was occurring in Panama on the day of our visit.

I can highly recommend the food at Gringo's. If very casual outdoor dining is not your style, you may want to keep looking, but be assured that if that's you, you are missing out on something one-of-a-kind.

I would eat here happily again, and again, and again....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Outstanding mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

visited bocas del toro for 4 days.
been there 4 times.

really outstanding food, very friendly service (cook pointed us the way to our hostel and taught us basic kuna), culture-mix, great margaritas and guacamole.

thx 4 everything, guys. really enjoyed the time.

your austrians ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Drinks and Food and Salsa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We found this little restaurant and went here because of TripAdvisor. It's not on the main Gringo foot path, but it's worth finding. There is nothing particularly fancy about this place, but Gary, the owner, is awesome, funny as hell, sweet as can be, and super informative. The food is excellent! We loved their salsa so much that we had them make extra for us so we could come back a couple of days later and buy it a tub. It was a pretty good tub that was devoured by the next morning. They really need to go into business selling salsa on the side since the store prices of cheap crappy salsa are so high (like $5.50 for a little jar). Go find this place. It won't blow your socks off, but it's good and fun!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and Margaritas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent a while here eating and drinking margaritas! It was a great, relaxing place and we enjoyed talking with the owner for a while. The restaurant is just off the main strip of Bocas Town and worth seeking out. The tortillas they use are amazing, the margaritas are strong, and the atmosphere is laid back. The service was friendly and attentive as well! A must-go for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's also viewed

 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Gringo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gringo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.