We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean & Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteluego

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteluego
Save
You added Hosteluego to your Saves list
Avenue G between 5th and 6th Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I spent four nights with my girlfreind at Hosteluego and it was amazing. The place is brand new, well kept and well managed. The Manager was courteous helpful and often went out of his way to help us out. I find the little things are a key differentiator between a good hostel and a great one. Hosteluego was a great hostel and I recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean and well managed hostel located on a party island.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
23
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I know it sounds stupid to write a review of somewhere you didn't stay but this is what happened to us.

After reading the rave reviews about this place I called the day before we were due to arrive to see if there were any rooms. I was told that there may be dorm beds available for our first night but for the following two nights we could have a private room as it was available. I confirmed that we would have the private room for the two nights and that we would swing by on the day we arrived to see if there was any room in the dorm for the first night. I also sent an email confirming this.

Upon arrival in Bocas we headed straight for the hostal. Upon arrival we were greeted and told that whilst there were two beds in the dorm for that night, the private room that we were going to have for the follwoing two nights was no longer available! The guy was not apologetic at all and was really unhelpful in recommending somewhere else.

All I can say is that a reservation in this place is worth nothing so be warned. It may be great place to stay if your reservation is honoured.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Hostel is well furnished and common spaces are extremely comfortable. Kitchen is fully stocked. Rooms, shower, and bathroom are very clean - undoubtedly the cleanest in Bocas.

Added benefit is that Hosteluego has lots of gear on hand, like a kayak, cruiser bike, snorkeling gear, beach towels, that guests can borrow for free.

Everything you would look for in a hostel, and more.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

If you want to pàrty hard, stay in a dirty place and then get woke up when you want an early night then do not come here...however if you want to go out, have a great night and then come back to the CLEANEST hostel and COMFY, Air con beds this is the place for you.

Alex and his team that run the hostel ensure that it is spotless at all times, this is no easy task considering the amount of sand and dirt people bring in all day... as well as this a fully stocked kitchen that has a milkshake machine, blender and a massive oven so everyone can cook on the hobs, free pancakes and coffee of a morning as well as a BOSE soundsystem in the kitchen... you want to stay in and cook as it such a novelty to see a hostel kitchen so fully stocked, not a chipped plate in sight!

The back and front of the hostel have chill out areas...the back has laptops hooked up to wi-fi as well as a huge flat screen tv with cable, the front has plenty of hammocks and spaces to read and rest...

Defos the best place that I have stayed on my 3 month trip so far...Nice one!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartegena, Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We have been travelling for almost 3 months around Central America and this is by far one of the nicest hostels we've stayed in. It is SOOOOOO clean and really comfy the beds are all really cosy and sheets, pillows etc are all really fresh. Alex and Adrian are really great and will go out of their way to help with whatever they can. Although we didn't use the kitchen for much other than breakfast (free pancakes are really good!) it is so clean and has everything you would have at home for cooking. There is so many places to chill out here with lovely hammocks and a great communal area with TV. Rooms are quiet and air conditioned, bathrooms again so clean and showers are hot and powerful. Really close to the main area for bars etc but far enough away to not get all the noise, great wee restaurant about a minute walk away Rip tide-really nice food. All round a really great place to stay and we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

There is nothing to complain about when it comes to this place. Hammocks, comfy places to hang out, clean showers and bathrooms, new beds and pillows, great atmosphere, and a rocking kitchen. What makes the kitchen so great? There's a milkshake maker. A blender. A new stove. Did I mention a milkshake maker?! This place is sweet. Its quiet at night, but close to all of the nightlife you could want. The staff are really great. Tonight we're having a Family Dinner night, courtesy of Ashley. Adrian rocks some great music while working or cooking. I have been here for 8 nights and I could stay for a month....feels like home away from home!

There's plenty of dirtier options in town for the same price - treat yourself to a clean place to rest your head. You definitely won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed at Hosteluego for 8 nights in August of 2010. It is honestly the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The showers (hot/cold) are immaculate, as are the bathrooms; the rooms are spotless and well maintained and the kitchen shines. The owners have renovated the building from the bottom up and made it a superb place to stay including two hangout spots, a massive flat screen TV, and of course - the BOSE speakers.

This hostel also sports top-notch security. A gate (cleverly disguised with bamboo) wraps around the entire building and one must use two keys to get into the building and another to access their room. Under the beds are lockable storage areas that are massive compared to lockers in most hostels.

Hosteluego offers a perfect blend of a fun atmosphere and a quiet place to sleep. A stone's throw from Mondo Taitu Hostel & Bar, the thirsty traveler can drink the night away and stumble back to a quiet and cozy room. This is also key for being able to take it easy for a night or if you have something planned for the next day.

Alex, the owners' son, does a superb job of maintaing the hostel and will do whatever he can to make your stay in Bocas a blast. He can easily be spotted wearing the famous Panama Cerveza tank top - the signature feature of his wardrobe.

If you make it to Bocas, drop by and take a look at Hosteluego - as soon as you see the sparkling showers and feel the friendly atmosphere, you'll drop your bags and stay for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteluego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteluego

Address: Avenue G between 5th and 6th Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location steps from downtown Bocas. Walking distance to all bars, restaurants & shopping. Free WIFI, hot water, a/c, computer use, pancake mix/syrup, and coffee. Party everywhere else, but come back to sleep at a quiet, safe and secure building. All dorms with personal safes. All privates with personal safes and personal frigs. Everything clean and new. If you don't see it, ask us for info. Backpackers, surfers, college students, gap year students and beyond - everybody is welcome at HosteLuego. Party, relax and have the best Bocas del Toro vacation ever. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteluego Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteluego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.