We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet budget hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Hansi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Hansi
Save
You added Hostal Hansi to your Saves list
Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet budget hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed in the 'marriage suite' which was basic but adequate. The owner of the hostel was very friendly and assisted us where she could. The hostel has a kitchen with a good food storage system and there are 2 hostel cats which are really friendly. Good location, close to boats and the main strip of bars, shops and cafes but still in a quiet area. Only downside is the smell of cigarette smoke (I think the owner smokes inside). Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
61
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Hostal Hansi for a week after having stayed at numerous other locations in Bocas (Gran Kahuna, Spanish by the Sea, and Hostal Diamond) and this was by far our favorite hostel.

A few of the things we loved:

- It's clean.
- The beds are comfortable.
- Heiki is an absolute charm.
- Private bathroom.
- The kitchen is small but well-stocked and functional.
- A common area to hang out and meet other travellers.

The only word of caution is that there are a few cats on the property. My girlfriend is allergic and didn't have any reactions though, so they may not be a big problem :)

Room Tip: No reservations, so come back every day in the morning to try to land a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I didn't actually stay here, but I felt I should comment on how rude the staff were when I asked if there was accommodation. I was told they "don't take switchers from other hostels" (whatever that means), but I sense I was 'profiled' as not the kind of clientele they wanted (a single male traveller in my 30's?), and I'm just sure they could have phrased it in a slightly less blunt manner whether they had rooms or not!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hostal Hansi for 6 days and we absolutely loved being there. We are the kind of people who enjoy much more the day than the night! We hate party hostels and we always look for CLEAN places! So here was the PERFECT place for us!


The owners were really friendly and helpful during our entire stay!

The room was big, nice, clean and also had a pleasant balcony. It was cleaned every day and towels were changed daily.

The kitchen was amazing! Very clean and well maintained. Trash and dish cloths were changed twice a day. There are 2 fridges and each room had a marked space in the fridge. There were plentiful spices to cook as well as all needed utensils!

The common area has books and games and it was also really clean. We met really nice people there!

For security the doors are closed at 20.00, but you have your own key, which is great!

Internet works pretty well in the rooms and common areas!

And to complete the location is just perfect and the price is excellent!

We recommend Hostel Hansi for people of all ages!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in Bocas Town because a member of staff at our last hostel had recommended it to us as clean and comfortable, and more quiet than some of the party places on Isla Colon, like Heike. It's hard to disagree with that assessment: the hostel was immaculately kept, had just renovated their rooms to a decent standard and offered a well-stocked kitchen . The thing that put us off was the overbearing attitude of the owner (also called Heike), manifested in her endless notes to us stuck on very available surface, forbidding everything from cooking for your mates to washing your bathers in your (private) bathroom. No doubt there were some good reasons for many of the regulations, but the cumulative impression they gave was that her guests - or perhaps just the ones like us who were backpacking - couldn't be trusted. She added to this impression by being very formal but helpful with us on the first day, and then moving to outright brusque and unfriendly when we checked out the next morning, as though we had inadvertently broken several of her house rules overnight. As far as we could tell, we had been good guests and followed all her edicts to the letter, so the sudden frosty attitude - especially making a point of saying we couldn't leave our bags for more than an hour after we checked out - seemed pretty unreasonable. However, it's only fair to say that if you need somewhere affordable to stay in the town for a night or two, are looking for a respite from the exuberantly social hostel options around, and perhaps secretly enjoy obeying your country's more arcane by-laws, you will definitely enjoy Heike's hospitality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I found this place while walking around town and I'm so glad we decided to stay here! We are in our late 20's and aren't looking for a party hostal but still don't want to pay too much. We stayed in a private room with bathroom, hot water and balcony for $28. The place is SO clean, including the kitchen which I think is very important. They make your bed everyday and provide fresh towels and sheets and empty the trash. You can tell that the appearance and maintenance of their establishment is important to us. They lock the front gate at 8:00 so you will need to use your key to get in and out. I do like this from a safety standpoint but it was a little challenging if my sister and I wanted to do different things for dinner. All in all, I would highly recommend it! But it is not for everyone. If you are looking for a party or to meet a lot of people, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying for two nights but stayed for 4 instead.
This hostel is the best value for money of our trip so far. For $25 we got a private double ensuite, with hot water, satellite TV and and lovely balcony. The hostel is super clean and looks really well.

The kitchen is kept very clean and has everything you need. Each room even has its own section of the fridge which is a nice touch.

This is as far from a party hostel as you can get. It has more of a guest house feel - relaxed and quiet. It is still easy to chat to your fellow travellers.

Location is perfect as it sits beside the park and just off the main drag.

This is a great hostel!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Hansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hansi

Address: Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hostal Hansi Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Hansi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.