We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hostel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Hansi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Hansi
Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top class hostel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying for two nights but stayed for 4 instead.
This hostel is the best value for money of our trip so far. For $25 we got a private double ensuite, with hot water, satellite TV and and lovely balcony. The hostel is super clean and looks really well.

The kitchen is kept very clean and has everything you need. Each room even has its own section of the fridge which is a nice touch.

This is as far from a party hostel as you can get. It has more of a guest house feel - relaxed and quiet. It is still easy to chat to your fellow travellers.

Location is perfect as it sits beside the park and just off the main drag.

This is a great hostel!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
54
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The room was very clean and it's the first hostal I have stayed at that cleaned the room during our stay. We found it quiet in the night which meant 2 good nights sleep. The kitchen had plenty of utensils, so you could cook of you wanted ( we didn't).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved the hostel itself and the rooms. The furniture was beautiful and everything was clean. HOWEVER, we found the whole hostel to be quite sterile and unpleasant. We constantly felt slightly uncomfortable.

There were rules and orders posted up on the walls everywhere and the atmosphere was TERRIBLE. People barely said hi to one another and the staff wasn't very nice either.

The kitchen didn't have towels to dry the dishes yet there was a big sign saying "DRY YOUR DISHES!!!" right beside the sink. Overall unpleasant stay and despite the nice rooms and good location we'd likely opt for a slightly less clean place with more soul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Finally a great place to rest and relax! The rooms are so amazing clean and tidy - very german! :-) and the kitchen is perfect to cook your own meals and enjoy them in the dinning place. just on the weekends it can get louder, but the noise doesn't come from the hostel its from the street and the bars that are open on the weekends! And yes, there are quite a few smokers here, but the hostel is build with lots of open-air space so the smoke doesn't get to annoying.

Room Tip: we had room nr 7 with has an own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had the fortune opportunity to stay at a great deal clean great located hostel. The property is unfortunaltey a smoking property. The owner left her cigarretes burning in her ashtrays and the toxic smell drifted upward into my room. Upstairs I sat down with a bunch of people..looked around me and every single person was smoking cigareettes...there were 7 or 8 going plus the smoke coming up from dowstairs. I became very nautious....had to leave the hostel with my things in my room where i proceded to get a private room with bathroom to myself. And spew all night. I got poisoned from the air. I hate cigg smoke.....so wont be here again. It was very awful being sick from all the smoke i was breathing in and some of those travellers have the worst stinking cigarretes....and the owner is a chain smoker who leaves her cigss to burn in the ashtray..u know the types..Otherwise it was nice here.

Room Tip: One not above the office to avoid the owners smoking air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location of hostel hansi is great, one block from the main park and the Main Street, but it's far enough away so you can get peace and quiet when you want to sleep. The red frog connexion boat shuttle ($7 round trip) is really close too, about a minute walk away.

The rooms were clean, we stayed in a double with fan and ensuite for $25 a night. There's a kitchen which is small but has everything you need and a wonderful system with the fridge where each room has its own shelf.

There is also a fairly good book exchange - a book for a book.

Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you come here, you have to stay at Hostal Hansi, it is great.

We stayed at the Blue Diamond on our first night, the rooms were fine, it is a large place and there was a large group partying all night and reception did not tell them to be quiet! These people were so inconsiderate and basically took over the whole hotel.

Hansi is not a party hostal. Kitchen is clean, fridges are clean, it's right near the Main Street and Water Taxi rank.
I have no complaints about this place and would definitely stay here again.

A private double with private balcony/bathroom is $28. Perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Hansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hansi

Address: Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty lodging in Bocas Town
Also Known As:
Hostal Hansi Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Hansi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Hansi to your Saves list