We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 3 Nights, get 1 Free
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A couple friends and I spent 3 nights at the Palma Royale and enjoyed every minute of it. Our flight got in quite early and the hotel stored our luggage until we were able to check in. We actually came back to grab something out of our bags around noon and our room was ready for us and they checked us in early. All of the staff was excellent! The front desk answered questions about the island, gave suggestions for eating in the area, and even booked a couple massages for us. The woman at breakfast was very accomodating and remembered specific preferences each morning. The rooms were beautiful and we had a view over the water. We used the stairs most of our stay, but I'm told it's the only hotel in town with an elevator. The location was perfect too...at the end of the street so it was a bit quieter than some of the other places. If I ever have the opportunity to go back to Bocas, I would stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    75
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
140
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Carmen will take good care of you and provide a very safe haven with beautiful, spacious rooms and a wonderful view of the sea! Because I extended my stay, Carmen moved me up to a higher floor and the room was amazing! I had a kitchen, spacious living room area, big patio and modern bathroom. The view from every window was beautiful. The location was quiet, yet still near great restaurants. The breakfast was hot and filling before my Spanish language class each morning. The staff was kind enough to call a taxi for me to get to class. The staff are all warm and welcoming. I LOVED this place!

Room Tip: Stay on floor 2, 3, or 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
Thank you for providing so many details to our potential guests. We really appreciate it.
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.

BestRegards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We rented the penthouse suite for a week. Pros: a nice place compared to others around. This city really is in poor shape(trash everywhere). The Super Gourmet shop next door is a godsend for clean and normal food and drinks. AC worked great in suite and was nice to come back to. Our suite was roomy with a beautiful balcony overlooking the water and hammack (just don't look down at the trash while looking out). Staff overall was nice and helpful. I enjoyed the breakfast and coffee in the morning. Close to everything in the main town as well. Cons: The washer/dryer is no longer available so laundry is $5 a bag (but still did a good job at that) The kitchen was not as good. The pots and pans needed updating and teflon was scratched up. I tried to cook one meal and it was a nightmare. Pans are small too. A microwave would be nice too since no oven. Our shower in the master suite was very dark, no light in there and the tiles were coming up. There was also strange smell in the suite like cheap toilet bowl cleaner. The other bedroom had two small lamps but one light was out so it was hard to see in there at night. We asked many times to get a new bulb, but no success. I'd stay here again, if I had to I guess but I prefer more luxury.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse, it's worth it to be high up with a balcony and hammack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the compliments, as well as your critiques. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We try our very best to make our guests feel at home while spending time with us here in paradise. We take pride in our ability to provide upscale accommodations, complimented with prompt, friendly and efficient service.
We have since investigated the odor issue and have tracked it back to the city line we
connect with. We apologize for the odor and inconvenience.
The kitchenware will be updated immediately and thank you for bringing it to our attention
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Please enjoy your next arrival cocktails on me!

Very best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here during our short stay in Bocas. The room was clean and of nice size. The bathroom was very nice with a "Rain" shower head. Water pressure was good. The hotel was a couple of blocks from the "main" commercial district, but that was a plus in our estimation. It was quiet and the walk was only 3-4 minutes to be in the center of the action. My wife's only negative comment was the lack of a hair dryer.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor (104) but next time will request a higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well. Blow dryers are available upon request and that information was in our guest book, we regret you did not see that.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed just one night here since we had an early Air Panama flight the next morning. We were greeted by Carmen, the GM, and she took great care of us. The room (103) was very modern, as the bathroom has upgraded fixtures and travertine tile. The bed was really comfortable and it was a nice touch to have fresh coffee beans and a grinder for our morning coffee. In the morning breakfast is included. Each day there is a happy hour from 5-7 with one drink free with purchase of another. The bartender was very friendly and made me a delightful Pina Colada! The cost for the room was a bit higher than other BocasTown properties, but as soon as you arrive you'll recognize the incredibly value!

Room Tip: 103 is just down from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
Melissa

Carmen is a gem!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff and service was excellent. Penthouse was great. Great views and included a telescope. Worth the money. Laundry service was very reasonable and promptly returned great location and good security.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Co, AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were touring Panama for 10 days and our last stop was Bocas. We stayed in many really rough hotels. This place was INCREDIBLE. We walked in and saw the fresh coffee beans in the rooms and knew we picked the right place. We stayed two nights and just loved it. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy bed, nice private patio, convenient location. Very quiet....gosh, I can't say enough good about this place. Whenever we return to Bocas we won't even be looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103, on the ground floor and had a private patio. Rooms upstairs have balconies. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.