We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 3 Nights, get 1 Free
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed just one night here since we had an early Air Panama flight the next morning. We were greeted by Carmen, the GM, and she took great care of us. The room (103) was very modern, as the bathroom has upgraded fixtures and travertine tile. The bed was really comfortable and it was a nice touch to have fresh coffee beans and a grinder for our morning coffee. In the morning breakfast is included. Each day there is a happy hour from 5-7 with one drink free with purchase of another. The bartender was very friendly and made me a delightful Pina Colada! The cost for the room was a bit higher than other BocasTown properties, but as soon as you arrive you'll recognize the incredibly value!

Room Tip: 103 is just down from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
Melissa

Carmen is a gem!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    74
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
136
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff and service was excellent. Penthouse was great. Great views and included a telescope. Worth the money. Laundry service was very reasonable and promptly returned great location and good security.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Co, AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were touring Panama for 10 days and our last stop was Bocas. We stayed in many really rough hotels. This place was INCREDIBLE. We walked in and saw the fresh coffee beans in the rooms and knew we picked the right place. We stayed two nights and just loved it. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy bed, nice private patio, convenient location. Very quiet....gosh, I can't say enough good about this place. Whenever we return to Bocas we won't even be looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103, on the ground floor and had a private patio. Rooms upstairs have balconies. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great experience, staff is really friendly and helpfull. The hotel is located on main street therefore you have easy access to the ferry, water taxis and bars/restaurants. Rooms are really spacious and clean as well as their bathrooms, I definitely recommend Palma Royale if you are planning on going to Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable, and wonderfully decorated. I Loved the large bathroom, the large shower and the awesome tile work! We enjoyed having a comfortable deck to sit on in the evening, looking out over the ocean (hotel sits across the small street from the water). The staff were all really helpful, including the breakfast staff. (Breakfast was great...loved the pancakes!) I had considerable difficulty nailing down the flight on Air Panama, and thus I emailed and changed my reservation request to Palma Royale several times, but they were very accommodating and patient. This is within short walking distance of many restaurants, but is just far enough away to be quiet. This is a great option for lodging on Isla Colon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love the pancakes too! We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very good location right on the main drag and not too far from ferry.

Nice looking hotel. Reasonable bar. Included breakfast nice.

Rooms were nice, but the only thing that let it down was attention to detail of decor. With some repair work they could be excellent. e.g. mildew on tiles, limescale on shower head, cracking plasterwork, wonky lightfittings... could do with general maintenance. But the general feel was fairly luxurious with hardwood furniture etc.

Other than that no complaints and the staff were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Our maintenance staff have been made aware of your comments and management will insure they perform to our standards and yours.
Thank you for bringing your approvals and concerns to our attention.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse four nights while in Bocas. My communications with the hotel prior to arrival were always prompt and courteous. We really enjoyed the hammock and views from the wrap around balcony. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms were spacious and we all found the room very comfortable. It was great that breakfast was included. The waitress in the restaurant during breakfast was quite nice. This hotel does have a great location. Close enough to restaurants but on the quiet side of the main drag. Things that could be improved on; I did feel that when we requested help at the front desk on a few occasions, we were being a bother by interrupting personal conversations of the staff. I was also double charged for the room on two different credit cards which has since been resolved but irritating none the less.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the compliments, as well as your critiques. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We try our very best to make our guests feel at home while spending time with us here in paradise. We take pride in our ability to provide upscale accommodations complimented with prompt, friendly and efficient service.
Be assured that the staff issue was promptly addressed and corrected.
As to the credit card issue, doing electronic business in Central America has always been a challenge and we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Please enjoy your next arrival cocktails on me!

Very best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.