We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Bocas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 3 Nights, get 1 Free
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Bocas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We reserved one of the Deluxe Suites for our two nights in Bocas. Our views over the bay were wonderful to watch the sunrise, and we had a double balcony to sit and enjoy the warm nights. Loved the spacious living room with full kitchen, refrigerator, rattan furniture. The rainforest style shower was great after long hot days exploring the area, and the bed very comfortable. You are right on the main street and just a quick walk from the water taxis, restaurants, and bars. Carmen, the manager was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the staff very pleasant. For people with late flights out of the airport, the hotel will let you store your luggage, which is a great help. Room prices include a free breakfast each morning and 2x1 happy hour drinks at the small bar. I would recommend Palma Royale to anyone looking to splurge for a comfortable, stress-free stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a Deluxe Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    75
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
140
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just stayed 1 night at the end of our trip to Bocas...loved being in town for our final night, no early morning water taxi needed. Great location, very spacious suite, comfy bed, real ice! Would stay again, gorgeous early morning sunrise from our balcony :)

Room Tip: Thought the suite was well worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Location is great located right on the main strip and the suite is legit awesome. It's 2 bedrooms with a very spacious living area along with a patio + hammock. It definitely has a wow factor when you first walk in. Worth the price if you're willing to splurge a little.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I can see why Jimmy Buffett stayed at Hotel Palma Royale! We spent our sunsets and sunrises from the deck off the master bedroom looking over the ocean. We could just imagine Jimmy here with his margaritas as we sipped ours.
The hotel is centrally located right across the street from the water taxis and all the amazing restaurants in Bocas. So for $1 you can head to the next island in 10 minutes. The islands in the archipelago are within reach and so affordable.
I do want to congratulate the owner for his English speaking staff! They assisted me with every need or want. It was so fun to start the day with the staff and the "free" breakfast. Numerous choices along with fruit smoothies too!
If you are coming to "Bocas", you should stay at Palma Royale and experience "the village"!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Palma Royale and had a really lovely time.
The room was beautiful and the suit was amazing. Service was very good and the staff was so helpful and informative in every question we had.
Carmen the manager did above and beyond to make us happy and make our stay pleasant.
Bed was very comfortable, rooms were very clean, location is great and you don't need more than what you get here.
Thanks you for a very great stay.

Room Tip: get the rooms in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a beautiful review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale and all the special touches.
Thanks for posting pictures!
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Palma Royale is a great place with great people! The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly. I will surely stay there again! It's in a great location...close enough to the action but far away from the noise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is, without question, the best hotel in Bocas town. We stayed in the top floor two bedroom suite, which was clean and comfortable with great views over the water. The hotel has a great location at the quieter end of the main street, but it is still a short walk to the bars and restaurants (nothing in Bocas is very far, as the town is tiny). Internet worked great and we enjoyed the breakfast and unlimited coffee included in the room rate. We would stay here again and would recommend the property to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review.
We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.