We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely the best hotel in Bocas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 3 Nights, get 1 Free
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Likely the best hotel in Bocas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had reserved the Penthouse Suite for 4 nights. The wrap around balcony made for a great ocean view. They even have a telescope on the balcony. Since it's the wet season it was overcast most of the time. Finally on our last day we woke up to sunshine. We stayed another day and had a blast. The employees are all very friendly and speak very good English. Carmen at check in was always helpful and Marlen, the bar tender, mixes a mean drink. The pricing is a good value, since it includes a full breakfast and 2 for 1 Happy Hour. The hotel is at the end of the main street, and everything is within walking distance. The only negative was the fact they have no shelves at all, only a closet with hangers. We didn't bring many clothes, so it wasn't that big of a problem. One bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub, the other one a walk in shower. In the kitchen we had a coffee maker and a grinder, making for great fresh coffee first thing in the morning. Right next door is the Super Gourmet. Try their chocolate bar! It's not cheap but well worth it. It's also a good place to buy water by the gallon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for Excellent review. We appreciate that you provided so many details to potential guests including the breakfast and happy hour! We are looking at dressers for the closets, thanks for helping us improve. We hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks from the Palma Royale staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    74
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
136
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I enjoyed every aspect of Palma Royale, from the clean rooms to the friendly staff. The free breakfast with the room provided a full menu of choices and was always delicious. The staff was always kind and helpful.
I stayed in the penthouse, the double suite, and a room with a bedroom that the staff rolled and extra bed into for my friend. Because it was off season the rooms were discounted and we were able to negotiate deals.

The location of the hotel and the newness of the hotel made it especially comfortable. It was close enoungh to the action in town, while being on the outside of all the activities so it was quiet inside the rooms with the doors closed. Views of the ocean, distant islands, and town are all readily available from the rooms we stayed in on the second, third, and fourth floors.
On two mornings we woke up with no electricity and it became pretty hot, but that was not the fault of the hotel. No running water when the electricity is out either. But the outage did not last more than a few hours so it did not affect us badly.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The penthouse is pricey but a wonderful place to stay. The double suite was my favorite after the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Janice,
Thank you so much for writing such a thorough review. You provided great information to our potential guests. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, our chef is a master of eggs!
I am happy you stayed in so many different rooms and were able to give perspective on each room and decide which is your favorite! Thank you for mentioning that the electricity and water problems were no fault of ours. Sometimes, it is a bit tricky running a Hotel on a little Island in Panama.
Thanks again Janice.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Palma Royale is a first class hotel. We stayed in the penthouse and the double suite. Both were very comfortable. It was a nice touch to have coffee beans which we could grind and make our own coffee, very delicious.

Only ciriticism is that blankets would be better than comforters on the beds. With a comforter you are either too hot or too cold. Thin blankets can be used in layers. Most of the time this won{t be an issue in Bocas, but it was for us since we were there in a rainy period.

Overall, a great place to hang out.

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford, the better rooms are really better and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you appreciated the coffee grinder and beans. Coffee in Panama is so delicious, it would be a crime to not have a grinder.
We appreciate the comments on the blankets. It is a great idea and an option we are considering for those nights when you want your window open and the air off.
Thanks again.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with our stay at Palma Royale. Our deluxe suite provided an incredible 180degree view of the mountains and the ocean. The private balcony was simply amazing. The hotel is very well constructed and the layout of the suite is perfect in its size, appointments, and comfort. It felt more like saying in a spacious condo than a hotel room. Staff are very gracious and always available and the location is very nice in that it is close enough to everything in town but just far enough away to keep things quiet and pleasurable. I would recommend Hotel Palma Royale to anyone looking for top quality accommodations in Bocas Del Toro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the Excellent review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Suites. Glad to hear the staff took good care of you. Thanks again for you wonderful recommendations and 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Bocas del Toro was a surprise to us. The town is less than quaint and is not meant to be the destination point but merely the place to stay while you explore the surrounding locations. The hotel was superb considering the town was somewhat run down. The room was spacious and beautiful. We loved it. The balcony was great. If you are going to Bocas, this is the place to stay without a doubt.

Room Tip: Select the top floor, high ceilings and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is always nice to hear when a guest appreciates how the Palma Royale strives to rise above the rest. We appreciate your recommendations to future guests. Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed two people from 14 to 16 June. Our plane arrived at 7:30 am, and upon arrival at the hotel and we had the room ready! It was a junior suite on the fourth floor. The room is spacious, with kitchen, refrigerator, living room, balcony and bedroom with queen bed, all very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with premium materials. The room has two separate air conditioning units but also have ceiling fans. Every day we had coffee beans, coffee grinder and coffee maker, a detail that had not ever seen. The staff were attentive and efficient. Breakfast is served on the ground floor, menu somewhat limited but adequate. Fresh orange juice. At any time the staff can give recommendations on places to visit, restaurants and taxis. I recommend this hotel for your trip to Bocas. Thanks to Carmen and all staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the Outstanding review! It is so nice to hear when guests appreciate the small details at the Palma Royale and notice things like the "premium materials" and coffee grinder. We are so happy to make your stay enjoyable in Bocas del Toro.
We are proud of Carmen and staff!
Thank you again for taking your time to write such a wonderful review.
Hope to see you again in Bocas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siquirres Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed with friends so the extra bedroom as opposed to 2 beds in 1 room was great. The location and building itself were great.A couple small things were the wifi was a little funky at times and I would say the people in the food service area could have a little better attitude but that was minor stuff and overall would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Gill Phelan

Room Tip: If you go up to the top floor you will have a better view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for writing us a nice review. We apologize the restaurant staff was not at their top performance and we appreciate your comments. We strive to be the best we can be everyday and comments from guests only help us improve. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to seeing you in the future.
The staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.