We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
New Orleans
1 review
“Superb hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wasn't planning to stay in a hotel at all as I was visiting a friend living locally, but having passed this hotel in town, when the time came to check in somewhere for a bit of civilisation, it was the only place I even considered. Best decision I ever made. The rooms are outstanding; spacious and bright, some with kitchenettes and private patios. Everything is clean and crisp, there are large flat screens with cable and internet as well. Truly luxurious, deluxe accommodations for a very, very reasonable price. Beautiful views (I believe it is the tallest structure on the island). The staff is warm and accommodating, and delicious complimentary breakfasts are made to order in their cafe daily.
We didn't have a chance to dine there for dinner, but happy hour cocktails are two for one, and a pineapple smoothie is only $2!
Very much the highlight of my stay - well, second only to sailing a handmade outrigger boat with a very special sailor. If you catch glimpse of this fellow and his curious boat round the island I highly recommend hiring him to take you for a jaunt out to red frog beach for a dinner, the curry is delicious, as is his company.
And when you return, you can enjoy a night cap on your lovely balcony overlooking the water, and retire to your exquisitely comfy bed in the delightful Palma Royale.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a patio. Panoramic vista, and not too much pricier than lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    64
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
119
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Awesome location, recently built, nice room lcd , a/c, awesome bathroom. We stayed 3 nights, management was very helpful. We stayed at the basic studio, which is the cheapest room, and that explained why the room was a bit noisy since it was behind the reception.
Breakfast was very good, a bit small but included in the price which is reasonable.
Highly recommended great location.

Room Tip: 101 room a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I needed a hotel room for an unexpected one night stay while in Bocas, and had passed by this hotel many times while out and about in Bocas Town, so naturally I thought it might just be the place to stay. I was not disappointed. Very caring staff made sure I was set up in my room, which was spacious and bright, and had a small garden terrace to itself. After having lived in the cramped quarters of a boat with bathroom facilities a 7 minute walk away, it was so nice to have a large, well appointed bathroom to myself. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, cooked to order, and very much welcomed, served in their little bar/cafe. Taxi to the airport cheerfully arranged. My only regret is that I didn't check in a few days sooner :) Highly recommended, I would stay here again in a heartbeat if return to Bocas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed a week at the Hotel Palma Royale and could have stayed longer! I had a lovely room with a balcony and birds eye view of the ocean. Wood floors throughout, lots of windows and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was gorgeous! The hotel is perfectly located in town and accessible to everything from restaurants to off island excursions, all at your doorstep! This was my second trip to Bocas and my first stay at the Palma. i will definitely be coming back to both!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived at this lovely establishment we were greeted with such island charm and hospitality. The rooms were clean and comfortable Loved the food at Breakfast and great panamanian coffee beans with a grinder in every room! How's that for the coffee lovers experience. Beautiful ocean view and comfortable beds. True 5 star accomadations in an island setting. Thanks to the staff for a great stay. Look forward to my return

Room Tip: go for the deluxe suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the first time I feel like writing a review on Tripadvisor and this is because I was really disappointed with the Palma Royale. We arrived to a room full of very strong smelling white little balls - moth powder I think - in every corner, under the bed and in the bathroom. The smell was really intense and after taking a nap after arriving we already felt intoxicated. Even my boyfriend who is usually not sensitive to such things at all! The reception did not offer any help and there were no other rooms available to change to. We had to pay for our 3 night stay on arrival and were told that we would not get our money back either if we decided to leave. I started searching all those balls in the room - like a dog - and hoped to get rid of the smell but it was impossible. As there are no mosquito nets in the windows - the only way to sleep was with the aircondition on all night :( I had to wash all my clothes several times to get rid of the smell and I think I will have to throw away my suitcase as it still stinks. Thinking back to our stay at the Palma Royale still makes me feel dizzy. Waking up with a headache and feeling intoxicated every morning in such a beautiful island is really a shame. The receptionists gave us the feeling they were bothered with whatever question we had - and gave me a very unwelcome feeling. I heard the couple that arrived to the room next door complaining about the smell too - and in the morning (breakfast was not the best either by the way) - we shared our "we seached like dogs for those little terrible Naphtalene balls" experience. Please have a look at "health effects" in Wikipedia. I really regret that we stayed in the Palma Royale. And also- if you still plan on going there- make sure to not get the room behing the reception, because when the phone rings at the reception, it's like next to your bed and it can take minutes for them to pick it up. Happy holiday :(( bad luck

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory.

We do not now nor have ever in the past used any moth balls.
Quite simply, we have no insect issues with respect to which they would be helpful.

You are the first guest to complain of an odor in your room of whatever nature. The Hotel is new, constructed of steel and concrete with hard surface materials on the floors. Very bug unfriendly, easy to keep clean and odor free.

We also have aromatherapy scent wax warmers imported from Canada with fragrances such as earthy lavender, zesty lemon, and water lilies. If a guest chooses not to burn the warmer, we simply turn it off. We offer this to improve our guests experience.

None of these scents resemble moth balls.

Our Manager offered you a full refund and said she would help you make arrangements at another Hotel, which you refused and said everything was OK. According to our staff, the issue of "moth balls" never came up.

The room you occupied is our "economy studio". The least expensive room in our Hotel, it is smaller and in a less desirable location of the Hotel. There is a qualitative difference between the $80 room and the others we offer at Palma Royale.
We suspect that is the real problem.

To future guests, please take a minute to read the numerous reviews of Palma Royale on Trip Advisor, you will see that our staff, especially our receptionists are considered to be very welcoming and eager to help as they have been trained to do so.

We aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family and I had such a great 5 days in this hotel. The rooms are spacious with great attention to detail and I thought the fresh coffee beans with grinder on hand was an awesome addition. The staff are friendly and helpful which made our stay even more pleasing.

For the price I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.