We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very few Hotels anywhere this nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palma Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Palma Royale
Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
GLENWOOD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very few Hotels anywhere this nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Great location, really friendly staff and super clean rooms. You'll love it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    67
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
36
130
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is our second time staying at this hotel, the hotel is spotless, the rooms bright and well equipped ( a set of drawers in the room would be a great addition for clothes). Good breakfast, very friendly staff. We were able to get laundry done the same day. Reasonably
priced. Enjoyed sitting outside in the evening having a cocktail. We will be back!

Room Tip: we were in 403 which has a kitchen, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed in room 403, on the top floor. Full kitchen meant that we had dinner in some nights with excellent food purchased next door at the Super Gormet. Room was clean and, late in the season we got an excellent discount. Breakfast included. We will return to the Palma Royale in future visits to Bocas.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

To start off we arrived and greeted by the most wonderful and helpful staff that I've had the pleasure to meet, it was as if we all have known each other for years. Needless to say got off to a great start. We were taken to our room on the 1st floor and then we were informed to my SURPRISE that we were being upgraded, not being one to look a gift horse in the mouth, was elated that we were getting an upgrade. We were taken upstairs to the 3rd Floor and taken to a very plush spacious room with a spectacular view of the ocean. I'm from Hawaii and believe me you'd pay upwards of USD $500+ per night to get this kind of room. My friend and I could not believe it we are still in shock. Again I must mention the staff and owner(s) you guys are the BEST - anything that we needed, any questions we asked all answered with a smile and ALOHA. Our experience at the Palma Royle has been wonderful and they (Hotel, Staff and Owners) will be our yardstick of against all others for quality, service and just outright being good people and extending ALOHA to all Blessings To La Fimilia De Palma Royale - I look forward to coming back and we will carry you in our hearts always. Much Mahalos

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Let's be kind and start with the positive(s). The rooms are bright and spacious and location is convenient. But that's about it.

When we arrived we were told that we'd just been upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room. How kind! Until we realised that my credit card had been charged 105 USD more than what had been agreed, I complained and did get my money back at the end of the stay, but deliberately overcharging a credit card is unacceptable.

Toilet in the first "deluxe" room we were given was blocked. Staff blamed us for putting toilet paper in the loo, whereas it had been blocked from the beginning, Had I not raised my voice, they would never have admitted that they had purchased the wrong toilets, and that they got blocked quite often. We were moved to another room.

Breakfast is a disgrace. When you book a suite for two, you've got one (yes, just one) breakfast "included". You must know that it will not include fruits or fruit juice and that your tea will consist of microwaved tap water and a tea bag.

I perfectly realise that it is not easy to build a hotel from scratch in a place like Bocas and then to run it. Indeed, it must have been incredibly difficult to find competent builders, plumbers and electricians to set up the whole place and then to find bilingual, experienced personnel to employ. But these are minor issues. Overcharging guests, blaming them for well-known flaws, and not including a proper breakfast for all guests in the room is incompetence at best, dishonesty at worst.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Patrick,

I'm sure you remember me, Melissa. I am very disappointed your review.

My husband and I both spoke with you several times during your stay as you were obviously upset and you expressed your apologies and let us know how happy you were as you left.

You were not deliberately charged. You were upgraded to a room double the cost you were paying because another guest requested the first floor. I changed the room and rushed out before changing the price on the system. Your money was returned to you with my apology.

Our building, plumbing, and electric is built to American standards. We had no trouble finding a competent builder in Bocas and receive compliments everyday about its construction and decor.
The toilets are modern toilets that are a bit testy. We apologized for the problem and did our best by moving you to another room.

You are right, the breakfast was a disgrace. I rented out the restaurant to a friend of mine and realized later that he was cutting corners to benefit himself at the expense of my guests.
He is gone now and the quality of breakfast has returned. There are several options for a guest to choose from crepes, eggs any style, omelettes, and french toast.
Each breakfast is served with a large portion of tropical fruit.

Breakfast is included in the rate for 2 guests in the studios and deluxe suites and 4 guests in the double suites and Penthouse.

We are sincerely sorry your stay was not enjoyable. We always try to do the best we can.

Melissa Martz
General Manager
Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosetown, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We, 2 couples, stayed here for 3 nights, and would definitely go back here. We both had ground floor rooms, which were lovely and clean, huge bathroom with lots of hot water, good amenities. The bedroom itself was not overly big, but had a large closet to hang clothes, AC, flat screen TV, coffee maker and grinder with beans. There is a very small patio with a couple of chairs and small table, but absolutely no view - only the store next door - so never sat out there. You can put clothes out there to dry, but take in at night, as it rained at night.

We had one free breakfast/room - seemed kinda strange arrangement, but I guess this way, you still eat here. The waiter in the restaurant was great ! He had a quite a sense of humour, as well as a good memory - remembered the 2nd day what we had had for drinks the 1st day. Breakfast was good, plenty of it

Melissa and Bob - daughter and father - manage the hotel, and are wonderful ! Melissa arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport where we flew Air Panama from PC. She answered lots of our questions, arranged late checkout for one of our rooms the last day. Bob arranged a snorkel trip for us to Zapatillas with one of his buddies - who only goes out in good weather. We also visited Red Frog Beach, and Starfish beach on other days.

We had laundry done here - $5/bag - clothes are not ironed.

Yes, Bocas has lots of backpackers and young people, and we are in our 50's, but we really liked Bocas. We had some awesome meals in Bocas...it is an eclectic little town - lots of great music playing...lots happenin' here. After coming from Isla Contadora and El Valle, it was quite a change ! The snorkeling here is amazing !! There are lots of vendors set up on the street, selling their wares, although we found the items were more expensive than in El Valle's markets. Go, and enjoy the Panamanian culture.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The location is great and that's why I chose it - very close to the boat docks for snorkel trips.I had a ground floor room for about $90 (was able to negotiate price down from $95 as they were not full). It was tolerable but had no view, other than a minute garden, and the music from the cafe in front was clearly audible. Luckily it shut by 11 pm. Then at 7 I was awakened by the housekeeping staff vacuuming. The room was clean, the bathroom worked well, the ac also. But there was nothing charming about the room or hotel. That said, there are a lot of dumps out there in Bocas so it may be the best choice for a short stay. The staff was very mixed - one woman at the front desk was quite surly. The fellow who made the complimentary breakfast (a good one) was super friendly. Frankly I'd advise skipping the town if you can and just getting out to Isla Bastimentos.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.