We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel with good restaurant, bar, & view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Save
You added Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun hotel with good restaurant, bar, & view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hostile is well kept and clean. The rooms are very basic and you need share a bathroom in most of the rooms. The hotel is right on the water with a teriffic view and it is easy to flag down a water taxi to to on a tour or just explore the area. The restaurant & bar is fun with music several nights and food specials. It's a short walk to town and even shorter to the mainland ferry. A good deal for the price. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Make reservations and ask for a room with your own private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    26
    23
    18
See reviews for
5
42
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful place to hang out, you have a porch over the water with hammocks and sofas. We compared a few places and its really a good budget for the view you get.
The rooms were ok, small but clean and we had a brand new a/c. We slept there for 3 night. The first nights were really quiet, but the last one was less. The walls are really thin so you can hear everyone coming back from the party. So when there are a lot of young partying people staying there, you'll probably have more noise . The bar downstairs is closed at 10pm but the staff also disappears. I think you just have to be lucky with your neighbours.

Room Tip: We slept in the room at the back which was on the side of the street. It was actually more quiet ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the private room Aqua for one night (December 26th) and had bed bugs. We took a chance because we heard they took care of the problem. We woke up in the morning to a very full bed bug crawling on the sheets and captured it in a water bottle, 5 min later we found another bed bug who hadn't feasted yet and captured him too. We backed up our stuff as quickly as humanly possible and got out of our room. One of the girls took the bed bugs to the staff and they didn't seem to concerned and said they couldn't do anything because the owner wasn't around. Our friend was covered all over her arms and legs and looked like she was diseased. I would never stay at this hostel again which is too bad because of the hammocks and the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at casa verde for two nights in the big room with the two double beds. The spot is really nice with the bar, hammocks over the docks and there is a good vibe amoung the backpackers.

We have seen many hostels and don't expect them to be brand clean. But unfortunuately we got the unpleasant company of some bedbugs. We even found them crawling over the bed and caught them on camera. So there was no doubt.

The bugs where unpleasend, but the help and service of the reception lady was even more unpleasant. She's rude, ignoring and eyeballing you when you complain about it. If you want to speak to the owner, she's not helping and says you have to do it through her. So hopefully he owner reads this and can make sure he hires more friendlier and helpfull staff!!!

After quite a hassle and scene we got half our money back and had to leave. They didn't help us to find something else or wash our clothes. In the end we found our selves a nice place to stay and did our laundry our selves.

Thank you Judeska (don't know her actual name) for the good expierene at casa verde. Not!

We were sad we had to leave this way.

Ow, one more thing. If you arrive at bocas and go there on by yourself. Make sure the localguys don't bring you, because the hostel will charge you their commission for doing nothing at all. They just cicle up with you and claim their commission.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We apologize for your experience with bed bugs. When you came and complained the staff went all over town looking for a place to do your laundry for you (as it was Sunday and nearly all laundromats were closed) and apologized about the situation. The issue that started your negative experience with the manager is when you falsely claimed to be another guest and claimed a larger refund than you were entitled to which was incredibly dishonest. The manager is normally very accommodating, understanding and helpful with all guests but will not tolerate dishonestly and disrespect. The owner trusts in her to handle these situations as he does not live in Panama.

Regarding the commission, the hostel pays a commission to any agent that brings us guests whether it is a hostel website, travel agent or one of the local guys whose job it is to help tourists find accommodations. We do not charge the guest extra for the commission, it is taken as an expense to the hostel for the service provided by the person who brought them.

We're sorry that you had such a negative experience especially since it sounds like you did appreciate the hostel itself and the great vibe at Casa Verde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a nice vibe. Walked into the back deck reception area just before Thansgiving looking around Bocas. ( Was staying up at the other end of town in Casa Max). Back deck over the water, hammocks, cute tables, and spaces to relax of chat. Reception was warm and friendly with - a bell jar of brownies on the counter. WOW. I'm and old American and have been eating brownies for 50 years and these were good! No rooms available (sad face) yet sign was up inviting guests and visitors to sign up for Thanksgiving dinner for $8.00. IF the brownies were this good ...... had maybe 35 for a sit down T-Day dinner. Mashed potatoes, turkey, etc. Each plate served from the kitchen to the table. Sangria. And a fun quick opening toast form the manager in Spanish and English to celebrate the day to give thanks. Sat with a Brit and 2 Aussie divers and world travelers. So much fun.

Room Tip: Book your camina. This place fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The atmosphere and location of this hostel is very nice. The staff was quite friendly, ... but we could not use our room the first night as we found several bed bugs when we wanted to go to bed. Unfortunately it was too late to change the hostel or consult the staff. The next morning when we complained, the boss was very nice and supportive. She apologized several times, gave us another room for the next night for free and we could get washed all clothes we wanted to. Though we were not sure if it was a good decision to stay for another night the second night was alright.
However we were quite surprised to observe that our room was given to new guests the next night!
Anyways if you decide to stay in this hostel avoid room 'Pastores'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVBocas, Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. We sincerely apologize about your encounter with bed bugs but are happy that you were taken care of and were able to switch rooms and continue your stay. Our staff is fully trained and experienced in how to remove bed bugs and any time we receive a report the entire room is stripped down, the sheets are washed in super hot water, the mattress is steamed, the bed frame is dismantled and heat treated to kill any bugs or eggs (as are the walls and outlets) and then everything is covered in diatomaceous earth (a powder harmless to humans that kills bed bugs). We don't want you to think that we don't care and just gave an infected room to another set of guests. Trust us, we take this issue very seriously and do the best that we can to eradicate any sign of bed bugs if there is ANY suspicion that they may exist. We cannot, however, prevent them from arriving in the luggage of our guests from other infected hostels so they can return at any time (as this is an issue that plagues hostels all over the world) but we are making every effort to kill them immediately and keep our hostel clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Verde. The atmosphere and the people there were awesome. It's a really cool place and the location is amazing. It was quiet at night, too and you could also get some rest in the daytime swinging along in one of the hammocks. There are a lot of tours to choose from, not one boring minute and the staff was really friendly.
What I didn't like were the dirty showers, the smell of pee in the kitchen and the trash in front of the entrance. It's a pity, because those are things that are easy to control and taken care of. The place has great potential, just put a little bit more effort in it. Also: Please do something about the lock to the entrance gate. We had to climb over the fence two times at night, because we weren't able to open it... No, we weren't too drunk :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.