We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finding out about bocas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines Vista del Mar Condo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jardines Vista del Mar Condo
Save
You added Jardines Vista del Mar Condo to your Saves list
4 P.H. Jardines vista del Mar, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010100, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Montrose
1 review
“finding out about bocas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Muhammed was great and very helpful. The accomadations were perfect and away from the noise of town. Getting a taxi was very easy because you are just a 1/2 block away from the gas station / convienance store. Muhammed gave us great advise on what to do and where to eat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olathe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Upon arrival, Mr. Parvez, the proprietor, welcomed us at the airport with transportation. I am not sure what was more wonderful, the island, or Mr. Parvez. Bocas has an abundance of things to do and as a mixed age group we were able to see many sights during our 5 day stay. Try to see the islands, starfish beach, red frog beach, or just take a walk or bicycle ride. Do not let these accommodations pass you by because it states 'out of the town'. You very much want to stay out of town unless you are 21 or younger! The cab ride to town is fifty cents, no bickering, 100's of taxi's on the island (skip renting a car-it's rare to see private vehicles). This condo is across the road and overlooking the ocean, the surf sounds apparent, impeccable cleanliness, modern, full kitchen, friendly staff, balcony, very convenient to the best restaurant in town. Do not pass up the chance to ask Mr. Parvez over for a snack or evening cocktail, he is a wealth of information about the island, has suggestions for touring, and can arrange boat rides, etc. And what a sense of humor! Highly recommend these accommodations for your stay-don't miss Bocas del Toro. (The only reason sleep quality was not rated a 5 is due to a roof being installed behind the condo's, early morning hammer pounding until is was done.)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My family and I spent 10 days in Bocas Del Toro over Christmas. I did a lot of research on line and I was attracted to this condo because of the modern conveniences it offered. I was also impressed with the preliminary communication I had with Muhammed the property manager and when we arrived he was so helpful and very gracious, he provided a lot of good information and was extremely pleasant. I asked him where I could get fresh fish and the next day he brought me 4 extremely fresh red snapper. We were very happy with the condo; it was clean and adequately furnished. They offered daily maid service which it really appreciated. It was a good size and the master bedroom and walk-in closet were very spacious. The most important thing, the bed was very comfortable! It had a very large porch over looking the beach. The location was about 2 miles outside of Bocas town; it was very easy to catch a cab because the condo sits just one block away from the only gas station on the island. It was also nice because the gas station had groceries for any quick needs. I was very surprised at how many restaurants were in Bocas town and Muhammad gave me some great recommendations. We ate out 8 out of 10 nights we were there. We rented bikes for a couple of days and it was easy to ride into town. We also rode the bikes to Paunch and Bluff's Beach. My sons brought their body boards and fins and found the best spot for waves was about half way between the two beaches, across the street from this beach happened to be the home of a group of howler monkeys, very cool . There was a restaurant / Inn by this beach called La Corilina. They had good food and the most beautiful ocean views. They also offered spa services and enjoyed a massage in a private open air bungalow over looking the ocean. We also took a trip over to Bastimentos Island and did the ZIP line tour over the jungle, it was a definite highlight of our trip. I had a lot of apprehension about doing the tour but my fears where quickly gone once we took the first ride, the guides were really good and very safety conscious. On another day we took a boat over to Bastimentos town and the boat captain walked us up to the edge of town and pointed us in the direction of wizard’s beach. We walked about 30 min on a well marked trail through the jungle, Wizards beach was very beautiful. The walk was challenging at times but mostly because none of us had boots on and it was very muddy. I still enjoyed the walk because I like to hike. Here's the only negative and has nothing to do with the condo but the time of year, the rainy season in Bocas is from Dec-Feb and it rained 8 of the 10 days we were there, I was told the amount of rain was unusual.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

There were 4 of us that stayed in a 2 bed, 1 bath condo. It was spacious & clean. Staff were friendly & very helpful. Great views of the beach, just across the street. Convenience store & taxi stop next to property. We all had a wonderful time.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
347 hotel reviews
Reviews in 346 cities Reviews in 346 cities
717 helpful votes 717 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

First, let me tell you where this place is, as it was somewhat of a mystery to me when I booked. If you look at a map of Bocas town and the Isla Colon, these condos are on the small isthmus connecting the town to the larger island. It's probably about 2 kilometers into "downtown" Bocas town, which makes for a little less than a 30 minute walk. But you're unlikely to walk much (if at all) because taxis pass by on the main road (which separates the condos from a mediocre beach) every few minutes and charge 50 cents per passenger for the trip into town.

The "deluxe" 2 bedroom condo I rented was quite large and very reasonably furnished. Not luxurious, but comfortable. The beds were fine. There was a nice balcony overlooking the water, and an inexpensive washer/dryer on the ground floor. They are about to start work on a swimming pool, which would be a very welcome addition.

The best asset to these accomodations is the owner/manager, Muhammed. He is very friendly and helpful and can take care of just about anything you may need. When a few minor items in the condo needed repair, Muhammed brought us a bottle of wine as "compensation." It is also easy to book these accomodations with Muhammed by using the email on the official website. By the way, there's only a tiny sign on the building saying "Jardines Vista del Mar": you'll have more luck telling the locals that you're at "Muhammed's condos next to the gas station."

I think this place works best for a family or an extended stay (like a week) where you might want a kitchen and some extra room. It's probably a bit quieter (other than the occasional rooster) than being in town, but don't think that you're getting a MUCH more peaceful location than being in town. Regardless, the easy/cheap taxi ride makes the location a non-issue. You're also only a couple doors down from what is reportedly the best restaurant on the island, Guari-Guari ($19 prix fixe -- alas on vacation during my stay).

Unless you're coming to Bocas just to relax, you probably want about 3 full days (perhaps 4 nights) on the island. Almost all the stuff to do involves the water, and in 3 days you'll exhaust the most obvious beach/snorkel/dive possibilities. At least for a first visit to the Bocas, I would recommend staying in or near Bocas town, or across the way on Carenero island, just across from Bocas town.

At under $100 night for the deluxe condo, I think Muhammed's Condos represent good value for money. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The Jardines Vista del Mar condo was absolutely perfect for us -- all the comforts of home and then some, because the housekeeper comes daily to keep it spotless. The location is wonderful -- just far enough from town that you only hear the waves on the beach at night. Taxis come by every few minutes and charge 50 cents (U.S) for a short ride to town or the airport. We felt very safe at the condo and and in Bocas in general. The snorkeling was fabulous! Muhammed and Rosie were splendid hosts, ready to help with anything, and gave great advice for things to do. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

If you're not into crowds and noise but are looking for a more private location from which to enjoy the Islands of Bocas del Toro you need only to venture a kilometer or so out of town on the main road to Jardines Vista del Mar. A fully equipped modern condo including a full sized kitchen with modern appliances, comfortable beds, satellite tv, high speed wifi, generous air conditioning and not to mention a large private balcony overlooking the sea which is just a few feet away are just some of the reasons that brought us back a 2nd time to this location. My gf loved bicycling into town each day to buy fresh fish while I preferred to jog right from the condo along the road following the coastline out to the beaches and back. There is a taxi/bus stop 100 feet from the condo and the ride into town is 50 cents. Muhammed the friendly and helpful manager is there to get you settled in and answer any questions you might have about where to go and what to see. Less than 5 minutes from the airport, you'll be in your own private paradise soon after you touch down.

We'll be returning in a few months and there's no doubt about which place we'll be returning to.

Have fun in Bocas!

CF

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardines Vista del Mar Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines Vista del Mar Condo

Address: 4 P.H. Jardines vista del Mar, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010100, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
450 to 900 sq ft condos at prices lower than that of a decent hotel room, with a full kitchen and large seaview balconies or terraces in bright and breezy modern buildings. Located in a non touristy part of the Town of Bocas del Toro, 70 meters from a white sand safe swimming beach and a four minute, 60 cent pp taxi ride from all the action in the Town Center, the condos has many of the amenities you are used to. These include a swimming pool, air conditioning, cable TV, free high speed wifi Internet, a full kitchen, comfortable furniture and furnishings and comfortable beds. We offer 450 sq ft one bed room one bath condos, Standard 750 sq ft two bed room, one bath condos and Superior 900 sq ft two bed room, two ensuite condos. The two bed room condos have large balconies with sea view and the one bed room condos on the ground floor have small private terraces This is a great place to get the Caribbean flavor of Bocas del Toro. Four minutes to night clubs, bars, restaurants, tour operators,and easy access some of the nicest snorkeling spots, the best surfing beaches the best diving spots and the spectacular Red Frog and shady, tranquil Drago and Starfish beaches. The most highly rated International restaurant, Guari Guari, is a two minute walk and reputedly the best Caribbean style restaurant, El Beso de Dragon, less than five minute walk away. There is a small grocery store within 70 meters of the condo.The locals are welcoming, friendly and always ready to go out to of their way to help. Many of our guests have made new friends, not only with the locals but tourists from all parts of the world. The magic of Bocas is that you make new friends easily.Our guests have told us that they have enjoyed going to sleep to the sound of the gently rolling waves rather than that of the loud music that plays till early hours in the Town Center,Muhammed and Rosy believe that they have been lucky to have some of the greatest people as their guests, of which many have become friends. They are dedicated to do all they can to help their guests enjoy their stay and take back wonderful memories of Bocas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jardines Vista Del Mar Condo Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardines Vista del Mar Condo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.