We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Brisas
Save
You added Hotel Las Brisas to your Saves list
Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overall not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not book with mini hostel online! I showed up after booking online and they said they aren't affiliated with mini hostel any longer and don't honour their bookings. Ended up staying 2 nights here, as the location was good, and the rooms weren't bad. The place was so noisy until about 3-4am that it's not possible to sleep. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    28
    8
    18
See reviews for
4
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed for a month at Las Brisas and certainly was the best decision I made when I decided to travel to Bocas Del Toro.
All the staff is super friendly and makes you feel at home.
The hotel policies allow all types of travelers get what they seek, whether to party or to rest, since the rules of use of the common areas are followed with respect for everyone.
Throughout the period I stayed at the hotel, did not see any complaints about the services provided, service, prices or infrastructure.
Therefore strongly recommend to stay at Las Brisas, where I certainly come back often because its warm and friendly atmosphere.

Pedro Wigger

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We only stayed here for one night after coming from a different hostel in Bocas del Toro (where it wasn't great and it cost more...) and Brisas was perfect! Quiet, air-conditioned (albeit with an old/loud machine - but at least it cooled the room down), with own bathroom and hot-water shower. Most importantly the service was so nice and polite and the room very clean! Didn't use the typically sparse kitchen or the back patio with an amazing sea front view, but made the most of the room and semi-private front patio. Well recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this Hostel for 1 night, because we arrived in Bocas without booke accomodations, and were tired of looking for places. There were cockroaches all over the hostel, inside and out. The front desk has 24hr security, but they are not very friendly. The shower in our room was filthy, as was the bathroom sink. The room smelled of moul, and that should have been enough to make us not stay there, but we did anyway. In the morning I woke up with a terrible allergic reaction. The beds were alright, but the bedsheets were safety pinned together and seemed totally sketchy. Overall, it was an awful experience and I woud not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Las Brisas was a great experience! extremely friendly staff, the rooms are great for the money. Everything was clean, good air conditioning, and the back deck is great for swimming, watching the sunset, fishing, ect.. It felt very safe, (there was 24 hour security), and i enjoyed my stay. It is definitely on the budget side of hotels, but we were surfing, fishing, and going on trips to the nearby islands most of the time. But for a clean, safe, and friendly environment this hotel was perfect and inexpensive. highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto jimenez
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Las Brisas is located near the center of town and right on the water, which is great!. Now, the hotel needs a good bit of work. But the last time I was there, I did see some improvements. Las Brisas hotle is on the buggett travelers side of things.. But for the place is clean and good value for your money

Room Tip: one of the room, right by the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I got what I wanted. I was looking for a budget backpacker place on the water with a private room. Rooms were sparse, matresses a little on the thin side but it was ok.
We were going to be outside the hotel most of the time anyway, so this is what we wanted.
The four star thing about this place is the back deck for early morning coffee and afternoon cocktail hour.
Book a snorkel tour for $20pp and they will pick you up and drop you off right on the back deck via boat. Way cool
The staff is friendly.
We will return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas

Address: Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Brisas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Brisas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.