We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Taitu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mondo Taitu
Save
You added Mondo Taitu to your Saves list
Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to meet people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Super friendly fun hostal. Even if you dont rage in the bar, you can play card games in the back. Vey easy to make friends here. Not on the main strip exactly, but still close to stores and bars, and actually, at least when your hostal's music stops, you dont have to listen to anyone elses, and it's slightly quieter than on the main insane strip, bt close to walk to. Great art. Really enjoyable time there. Rooms a bit decrepit but just cool vibes good scene.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    12
    13
    14
See reviews for
2
19
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Cheap and that's it. There where bed bugs everywhere! I could feel them crawling in the thin, lumpy excuse for a mattress. I got bitten all over my body. You need to go through the showers to get together rooms. Will never go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hostel is pretty dirty and gritty. Kitchen is dirty, small and not well stocked. Dead cockroaches on the floor. To be honest you're better off staying elsewhere and just visiting the bar when you want. Place across the road (Casa Max) has privates with ensuites for the same price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Cool hostel with a good vibe. Beds are not the greatest at all but oh well. The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar is a pretty good place to start the evenings off. The hot water showers have great water pressure which isn't the easiest thing to find.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Cool Place.
Hot chicks get wild!
Sweedish are hot. and intriguing?
People getting wasted and it's funny.
Ate some shakshuka.
Met some amazing people.
German-uruguayan girl.
Mondo's staff are Super cool!

Room Tip: Get the tree room if you're travelling in groups. Dorms are mostly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was thinking I would stay here 3 days, I stayed 3 weeks. If you go to Bocas this is the best place to stay for not too much money.
yes, it's dirty.
yes, it's loud.
yes, the kitchen sucks.
But seriously, what a GREAT place. So chill atmosphare, great parties, cheap beer, the owners are the best. Would go back any day if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The bed and mattresses were absolute garbage. The kitchen is small and always dirty and one of the staff members was a complete dick. However they have a nice bar and I meet some great people. I would not recommend staying at this place, however it is worth visiting the bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.