We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Taitu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mondo Taitu
Save Saved
You added Mondo Taitu to your Saves list
Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at Mondo, started off in dorm which was comfy tho bit noisy if wanting sleep, switched to double private room when came up was spacious and bed so comfy!
Staff were friendly and helpful with information and encouraging ya to go to beach or party with them
Free pancakes that ya make yourself good but kitchen tiny and every1 seemd to be making own food when we were there so got crowded
They have a great bar but are sweet with you taking own drinks into hostel, also have bikes to use!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    10
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
17
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Best spot to stay and drink at in Panama. If you like to get down and meet people this is the place to go. Not for the faint of heart or non drinkers. Go here if you want to get smashed with fun people and hook up.

Get an AC room. The regular dorms are hot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently went to Bocas for a school trip and found a great regular spot for social life. Mondo has the best staff, and honestly, as soon as you walk through the door, they treat you like family. If you are interested in culture/diversity, it offers the best of all worlds, as there are travelers from all over and even the locals enjoy this bar/hostel on the regular. I did not stay at the hostel, but from what I heard from every single person staying there was that it was great and the price is fantastic. The environment is really chill, and there is always a good variety of great songs playing. I can not imagine my Panama experience without Mondo. The staff is all around helpful. I lost my phone in Panama, and when I asked the owners of Mondo, it seemed to me that they went out of their way to help me try and locate it.
Overall, I would say if you are visiting Bocas, MONDO is a MUST. Whether you stay there, or just enjoy the great people, drinks, and prices, it is a sure thing that you will be happy that you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First off, mondo is a hostel. Keeping that in mind, the people who work at and run this hostel are some of my favorite people ever. It's a big, awesome, loving, raging family. If you want peace and quiet, stay elsewhere... But if you want to experience the time of your life with people you'll never forget, check this place out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My friends went to Mondo for drinks and it looked like an awesome time, so we switched from our original hostel. Well, the place was generally kinda gross, staff wasn't too friendly or interested in helping you out, and the next morning we discovered that pink eye was going around the hostel. Not that the staff bothered alerting anyone to this.

That said, they have some sweet beverages and happy hour deals, and it's a fun place to hang out. But the beds and rooms are janky as hell and it was not a pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place kicks a$$. Went down to Bocas del Toro for a 10 day trip and stayed for 3 months.

I can't say enough good things about Mondo Taitu. The hostel has some serious character and has been around a lot longer than most of the surrounding hostels and hotels. They have a bunch of different rooming options (treehouse loft anyone?) and free pancake breakfast and coffee. The staff are awesome; helpful, hilarious, and feel like family immediately.

The bar has gotta be the best on the island. They have a killer happy hour and the best mix of local folks and travelers fill the place nightly. The music and general vibe is such a welcome change from what you experience at other local bars. Their cocktail menu is legend, but beware of 'The Jacuzzi', you may end up having too much fun.

I miss this place and the people like crazy...already planning my return trip. Can't recommend a better spot to call home for however long you stay because inevitably you will stay longer than planned.

Bocas is paradise and Mondo is the icing on the cake.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was absolutely perfect for where I was and what I was looking for. Obviously I was on an island and rolling with the island vibe, and mondo enhanced all of that. It gave me an awesome home base to catch a quick nap (no bed bugs,) grab a few 50 cent beers at the bar, convene with some other travelers, and wake up to some pancakes and coffee to start my day of adventure. I was not looking to spend my entire day laying around a hostel/hotel nodding at others, I was taking it by the balls and trying to explore as much as I could, and mondo was a perfect center to call home. (for 3 weeks!!) Great staff, cute bartenders, and all around great time.

If looking for luxury, spend an extra 80 dollars and have it like the 70 year olds, if you're looking for an "experience" then stay at mondo taitu!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty lodging in Bocas Town
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.