We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Amarilla

Casa Amarilla
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Amarilla
Save
You added Casa Amarilla to your Saves list
Calle 5, Avenida G, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights in February. The room was big and beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit aged but served its purpose and water worked perfectly. For a very good price it included a fridge, perfectly working air conditioner, a laptop connected to the internet!!! and a flat TV (cable) that Dennis insisted we should watch (sorry, but there was too many nice places to visit and things to do in Bocas, so, no TV for us). Location was good: a short walk from restaurants, main street etc, and far away enough from the noisy places. We only missed a little more outside space, but in general, great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bed room with a friend in March 2012. We called the morning we were departing and booked a room for 2 nights. It was easy to find (the yellow house on the corner) and the owner was there when we called up. Filled out 1 piece of paper, handed the owner the cash for the night, and we were set. Love how simple things are in Panama!

The shower had great water pressure, though we turned it off while we sudsed up, hearing about the scarcity of water in Bocas. The AC ran like a charm! You can get any channel you want on the TV and after spending 8 days in Panama hostels with no TVs or hotels with only spanish speaking stations, it was actually nice to be able to watch some news (or trash) before going to bed.

While this was a very basic B&B, it was clean, had all the things you need (fridge, AC, clean bathroom). Also far enough from the main drag that you are not hearing partygoers at all hours. The only downside were the roosters - woke us up at 5am/6am the first morning. It was horrific! The next morning I woke up, but was able to get back to sleep. i think anticipating the roosters crowing made it easier to sleep through.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The rooms are good value and include air con, flat screen tv,laptop ,safe and a fridge. The hotel is in a good location and close to restaurants and shops. We spent 8 nights on this visit and will stay again in the future. The rooms are very secure and the owners are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Great place to stay if you need amenities. My boyfriend was happy because it had Cable TV and a laptop with Wi Fi.

Great security because it is run by Americans who are also really nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at Casa Amarilla (the yellow house) for three nights. Owner Dennis has four rooms on the first floor, and lives right above. Clean rooms, with excellent amenities (wifi, lcd/cable tv with decent english channels, hot shower, powerful a/c) at a very reasonable price. It's located on calle 5, a five minute walk from calle 3, the centre of Bocas town. It's also a short walk from the Bocas airport. Apart from the early morning wake-up calls from the roosters Dennis keeps in the yard next door, there's nothing not to love about this neat little inn! Best to book online and early as Casa Amarilla fills up quickly!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Casa Amarilla is a very good place to stay in bocas. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable about the area (and for the English speakers, they're from Denver, so their language skills are impeccable). The rooms are well maintained, are very reasonably priced, and have great amenities (cable TV, fridge, AC, hot water). The minor downside is that the chickens in the yard next door may wake you up in the morning (not sure that isn't the case at all places in bocas).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My son and I really enjoyed our stay in Bocas and have to attribute much of our comfort to Dennis and to his fabulous Casa Amarilla. The minute we walked in to the wall of cool air radiating from the room, we knew we had found our Nirvana.

It had been a long, hot bus ride from San Jose, Costa Rica and we arrived at the island around 5 pm without reservations. We were fortunate that space was available as we later learned the place is often booked up weeks in advance.

Casa Amarilla consists of 4 rooms at gound level that each can accomodate up 2 to 3 people. You will get fresh coffee in the morning, spotlessly clean rooms, and the best air conditioning in town! Plus we had flat-screen TV with cable, a fridge, and free internet access with a netbook in our room. It was like staying at the Ritz for my son and I, but still reasonably priced enough for our budget. The rooms are also secured by a gated fence at night. The owner, Dennis, may allow you to park your bikes (if you rent them) inside the gated area if you ask nicely. We rented bikes from Ixa's bike shop just around the corner and the Island was ours to roam. Dennis and his wife live upstairs. If you don't see them on the porch, just holler and he'll come out to greet you momentarily.

The Casa is located in a quiet neighborhood just past the Mondu Taitu on Calle 5 and is within walking distance of all the main attractions of Bocas Town. It is far enough away from the center of town to sleep soundly and yet close enough to get anywhere you want to be in a couple of minutes.

Another interesting feature is that Dennis and his wife keep chickens in the vacant lot next door. The rooster may wake you up, but it is also entertaining to watch the chickens while you sit on the patio and sip your coffee. I can't think of any downside actually to this place. We were very kindly treated and assisted by Dennis, his wife, and his staff and appreciate very much finding such a nice place to stay. I will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarilla

Address: Calle 5, Avenida G, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Amarilla Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Amarilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.