We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CalaLuna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added CalaLuna Hotel to your Saves list
CalaLuna Hotel
Calle 5, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Bocas. It felt like real luxury compared to other places in Panama. It felt like we were staying in a tree house. It is really well built. The whole place was spotless clean, especially the room. White sheets and towels. Hot water. The owners were very nice and helpful with anything we needed. The food is delicious. The only thing detracting from it is that the owners smoke downstairs. Honestly, it usually really bothers me, but it is not a strong smell, and didn't effect our stay. We wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The owners allowed us to look at all the available rooms in order to chose the one we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSummerSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Larchmont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at CalaLuna in August! Expect a warm welcome from Alberto and Marcela, comfortable beds, crisp sheets, hot water, working a/c, delicious pizza, and amazing coffee. Our hosts were kind, welcoming and helpful and the accommodation was exactly what we needed - reasonably priced and very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more! Gracias Alberto & Marcela!! Diane.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice rooms with airco and hot shower. Well priced. Very close to main street and airport. Owner Alberto is friendly and can provide you with usefull info on transport and more. Pizza's are good at Alberto's!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mvr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We've stayed here for almost a month, while having spanisch classes and surfing around...

Very reasonable priced, and with nice rooms, although not too fancy, so if you're looking for a 5 star hotel this would not be your choice, however if you're looking for the best coffee and pizza in town, most definitely this is your best bet, as on the ground floor there's a restaurant.
Lovely family who owns the place and build it from scratch 20 years ago, Alberto is the nicest person, and will make you the best coffee, even at 06:30 in the morning and everyday when we came back from our lessons, he helped us with spanish and practised with us on small conversations.

Cala Luna, is a close walk to the main street and a 3 minute walk to the watertaxi's that will bring you to surf spots or the famous red frog beach.

We loved our stay here, as we felt at home, which such a nice family, couldn't wished for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjoerd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at Calaluna. The lack of curb appeal is quickly dismissed once you see the rooms and meet the owners. The rooms are clean nicely furnished. They have hot water and AC not something universally available in Bocas. They are a short walk to the airport, the bank, and downtown bars and restaurants. The owners are welcoming and a source of good information.

Also Alberto makes the best cafe americano and the best pizza.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Rooms are clean, well furnished with very comfortable beds & that true rarity, quite & efficient air conditioning. Our room had a lovely private balcony with comfortable chairs, small table & hammock. It's an Italian family managed affair with true European hospitality for a very moderate price. The food is terrific. The lasagna was surpassed only by pizza as good as anywhere in Italy.

Room Tip: We had room # 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The owners are friendly people. Our first room smelled really bad and it was no problem at all to change after the first night. The room was clean, but otherwise we did not like it that much. Apart from thge bad smell of the first room, the rooms smell of pizza until 11PM when the restaurant closes and you can enjoy the loud music. Our toilet didnt flush properly. Overall, we flund the place overpriced and had much better stays for this price during our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wouter188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Terraza
Hotel la Terraza
#6 of 29 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CalaLuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CalaLuna Hotel

Address: Calle 5, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CalaLuna Hotel offers 9 rooms, all featuring air conditioning, cable TV, fridge, safe box and private bathroom with hot and cold water. Free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CalaLuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CalaLuna Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing