We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got robbed !!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bocas Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Bocas Paradise Hotel
1st Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 00420, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Panama City, Panama, Panama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“got robbed !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed 3 nights. They stoled all my cellphones. last day in the checkout the lady told me i had to pay her $25. I asked her of what and she told me that my husband asked her for $25 for the taxi when we made the check in ... witch was a lie cause we paid right away and we went there waking!!! they charged my credit card $100 more and $25 the receptionist said she lend me. Food terrible and cleaning service horrible. !!! worst experience i had in hotels. Dont recommend no body .... there are lots of better places in bocas for same price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bocasparadise, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I am the new manager of Bocas Paradise and I am very sorry for your experience that you had here. Since I have taken over, things have changed here dramatically. If you visit Bocas again we will make sure that you are treated beyond your expectations.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    20
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
43
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I got this offer through Oferta Simple! It was for two people and I ended up going alone. After I bought the deal I read the reviews and was afraid about the noise. I was given a second floor room next to the water taxi building.
Since I only faced a wall, it was quiet. If you want a view, this room would be bad. There were only 3 rooms filled at the hotel and I assume I got a quiet one. I didn't even have to ask for a quiet room. The room's comfortable, bed and a fantastic bathroom added to the quality.
No Wifi access in room. I had to go downstairs.
The manager let me check in early. That is why I would really recommend the hotel. Breakfast was included and wasn't anything to write home about. I even saw the manager eat elsewhere. Just skip the restaurant.
I stayed a third night somewhere else, since the full price would not make this hotel such a bargain. If you do arrive early and they let you check-in early the full price would not hurt as much. If you get a deal take this hotel. Without a deal you may want to shop around.
Great service and nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you do not care for a view. There were rooms with balconies. I did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Good location but small, poorly designed room with no place to put anything. No counter, no hooks (NOT designed by anyone who actually travels!). We learned some rooms have frig and sink; we did not. Quieter rooms on the "Water Taxi 25" side. Best recommendation: the seafood bisque in the restaurant was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff friendly but service very inconsistent.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on Water Taxi 25 side. Also, ask for a room with frig and counter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Bocas Paradise Hotel is not a fancy place, but it fits well with the surroundings! They make fresh margaritas and have an awesome vegetarian burrito at their patio restaurant. Hotel staff is nice and accommodating! The view from the rooms is excellent and the bar/disco next door is a fun hang-out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

One hour after landing in Bocas del Toro turned out that beautiful islands are deprived of electricity. I felt like one of "Six Days Seven Nights" (with Harrison Ford and Ann Heche). Caribbean islands around, no possibility to book return tickets to Panama City or wherever...
In this circumstances, friendly woman from Paradise invited us for "french press coffee". In that way we got clients of hotel.
It's one of most important moments in my life. Atmosphere, sea, deliciuos seafood, travelling between islands for 1 usd... And all that amazing things started from invite to Paradise...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is almost a good hotel. It has many of the right ingredients but the unless you are in Bocas Town on Spring Break or into the late night bar scene then you will want to pass.
It is a shame - the hotel itself is pretty nice. We had what, on arrival, seemed like a great room. Spacious, clean, with a great balcony view over the water. The food in the restaurant was good (although a little pricey for the area). We were happy with everything until about 11 pm or so when we were ready to wind down for the evening. The hotel is right next to an open-air bar aka "the Barco." The combination of no walls, loud sound system, on the water, next to the hotel and going strong till 4 am meant no rest for the weary. Even with earplugs there was no getting to sleep over the constant drone of Reggaeton and Hip Hop.
The management was understanding and allowed us to switch to a room on the other side of the hotel for the next night. Although markedly more peaceful now you are just in any other room in any other hotel and we decided to explore other options for the rest of our stay.
If you are in Bocas Town to party into the night then this is a great location for you. If not - not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side from the Barco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altos del Maria,Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed two nights and it was very disappointing....not very clean and our patio door didn't lock and the screen fell off if you tried to close it....very noisy due to a bar two doors down...not the hotel's fault but very annoying when you are trying to get a little shut eye.
The food in the restaurant was very good as was the service.Also very convenient to everything.
If you want a good nights sleep I wouldn't recommend it but if you are into the night life may as well be right next door. Also the water taxi is right there and that didn't bother us at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bocas Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Paradise Hotel

Address: 1st Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 00420, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bocas Del Toro's newest oceanfront hotel located in the heart of the vibrant and picturesque Bocas Town. The hotel features three stories of colorful Caribbean architecture perched out over the water with spectacular views. The hotel offers 30 rooms, an incredible restaurant and bar and some of the best views in Bocas. Most rooms have breathtaking ocean views, balconies, air conditioning, cable TV, kitchenettes, and high quality furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bocas Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Town Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocas Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.