We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Paradise Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bocas Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bocas Paradise Hotel
1st Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 00420, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Almost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is almost a good hotel. It has many of the right ingredients but the unless you are in Bocas Town on Spring Break or into the late night bar scene then you will want to pass.
It is a shame - the hotel itself is pretty nice. We had what, on arrival, seemed like a great room. Spacious, clean, with a great balcony view over the water. The food in the restaurant was good (although a little pricey for the area). We were happy with everything until about 11 pm or so when we were ready to wind down for the evening. The hotel is right next to an open-air bar aka "the Barco." The combination of no walls, loud sound system, on the water, next to the hotel and going strong till 4 am meant no rest for the weary. Even with earplugs there was no getting to sleep over the constant drone of Reggaeton and Hip Hop.
The management was understanding and allowed us to switch to a room on the other side of the hotel for the next night. Although markedly more peaceful now you are just in any other room in any other hotel and we decided to explore other options for the rest of our stay.
If you are in Bocas Town to party into the night then this is a great location for you. If not - not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side from the Barco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    14
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altos del Maria,Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed two nights and it was very disappointing....not very clean and our patio door didn't lock and the screen fell off if you tried to close it....very noisy due to a bar two doors down...not the hotel's fault but very annoying when you are trying to get a little shut eye.
The food in the restaurant was very good as was the service.Also very convenient to everything.
If you want a good nights sleep I wouldn't recommend it but if you are into the night life may as well be right next door. Also the water taxi is right there and that didn't bother us at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altos del Maria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Not by a long shot.
There's a joke in Spanish, a play on words that says things go from Guatemala to Guate-peor, meaning going from bad to worse. That about sums it up for our experience over the past two nights at this hotel.

We had made reservations long in advance, using an Oferta Simple promotional package. It was our first trip to Bocas Del Toro, as it was for the couple who accompanied us.

The first red flag was that on our arrival, we were told that the room we requested and paid additional funds for, was not available. We had wanted a room at the rear of the building, to have a full water view and kitchenette. Instead, we were given a room on the side, with no kitchenette, and a smaller balcony. They said we could have the right room the following night.
We accepted the offer at the time, but later declined (see below for the reason).

When we got to our room, we were met with more negative "surprises". The safe was non-operational and the lock on the room door was identical to the interior type lock in most private home bedrooms. There was no dead bolt and no security chain. We were told by the head housekeeper that people took and lost the keys to operate the safes, so that's how management resolved the dilemma- by not replacing the keys.

Ah, but it gets worse. The room floor was dirty, the shower was bedecked with long black hair on the wall and in the drain and the sheets had not been changed.

Other than an apology and a promise to clean the room, no adjustments or additional service was provided. I asked for a cup of bleach to clean the shower, which I did. The following day, the room was cleaned, but I question whether or not the floor was swept or vacuumed.

Another shortcoming: At night, there front desk is not always covered, meaning anyone can walk into the place and wander from floor to floor (remember- the locks are not very strong).

The final insult on top of all this was that the hotel is two doors away from a bar called "Barco Hundido" or sunken boat. They crank up the music after dark, and it continues, at decibel levels topping 110, until about 2 or 3 AM. Our friends whose room was in the rear of the hotel got very little sleep either night. Even on the opposite side of the hotel, where we were, the thump of the bass was audible in our rooms, with closed windows and sliding door.

The one positive factor was that the restaurant in the hotel has good food. No ice machine is to be found, but the fare in the restaurant was good.

Please see my review of another hotel, the Boquete Garden Inn, to read about a much more pleasant experience. I will write that within the next 48 hours.

Room Tip: As far from the nearby bar as possible, but the volume there will not be totally eliminated, regardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I get a promotion with this hotel. It was comfortable, clean and pretty. Also has a sea view from our window! Also has an excelent location from bars and restaurants

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

We buy a package from a panama's offer website called ofertasimple.com, so we get there but didnt do too much research this time. But it doesnt matter. First the hotel was next to the boat pier (Taxi 25, recommended if coming by land). Check in was a breeze. The rooms where nice and cozy, nothing luxury but ok with A/C, fridge and even a microwave. They offer a breakfast of fried eggs, bread, fruits and coffee or juice. It is very well located for late time party because is next to "El Barco Hundido (the sunken ship) bar". We have a great time there, truly recommended. They offer wifi at lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night before heading on to their sister island hotel, Popa Paradise. For that, it was worth it. I would not recommend an extended stay here.
The food was GREAT! (seafood!!) and the women working the bar and tables were personable and helpful. We had amazing experiences the three meals and drinks we had there. I imagine some people would be disappointed with the rooms. They are very simple, smell a bit musty, and are nothing special. They are "night and day" compared to their sister hotel Popa Paradise (luxury, paradise!) But, they are cheap and a great place to stop for the night and see the town of Bocas. The front desk people were helpful, though not personable or friendly. They did not have our reservation when we arrived (despite our numerous confirmations) but did their best to accomodate us. And, the location is great!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Coronado, Panama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was pleased with the selection of this hotel for our weekend getaway. It was a slower time in Bocas so we received one of the 4 water facing rooms with our package which was very nice. I am not sure the side or street facing rooms would have had the same effect. The rooms were generally clean. It appears the regular maintenance is lacking somewhat as there were broken bathroom rods, a missing in-room safe, missing kitchen ware and chair cushions. The walls were in dire need of fresh paint and the bathroom towels have seen better days. Having a fridge and coffee maker was great!
As for the prior mentioned noise from next door - yes it was there in full force - but the constant drone from the AC unit (it was loud enough) pretty much drowned this out. Light sleepers will have an issue with the noise.
We only dined in the lovely waterside restaurant for breakfast and it was fine. We did find the pricing on the menu to not match the food quality/quantity (ie three small pancakes for $6.50 versus eggs benny for the same price). There are more than enough restaurant choices out the doorstep as well.
Christen was helpful with tour suggestions and willingly helped point us in the right direction.
We would stay here again if the price was right and only in a waterside room.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bocas Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Paradise Hotel

Address: 1st Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 00420, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bocas Del Toro's newest oceanfront hotel located in the heart of the vibrant and picturesque Bocas Town. The hotel features three stories of colorful Caribbean architecture perched out over the water with spectacular views. The hotel offers 30 rooms, an incredible restaurant and bar and some of the best views in Bocas. Most rooms have breathtaking ocean views, balconies, air conditioning, cable TV, kitchenettes, and high quality furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bocas Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Town Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocas Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.