We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Buga Dive Center & Surf School

La Buga Dive Center & Surf School
Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
507 7579534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Activities in Bocas Town
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2007, “La Buga Dive & Surf” instantly built up a reputation as a reliable and renowned Dive Center & Surf School in Bocas del Toro. No matter if you decide to go diving or surfing with us, we will ensure that you will have a fabulous time experiencing the multifaceted natural resources Bocas del Toro has to offer. You can also rent one of our kayaks or Stand-Up Paddle Boards. Our qualified international staff is providing top quality service by constantly reflecting our core values: Safety, Convenience and Fun! Hope to see you soon!Your La Buga Family
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The divemasters were extremely thorough, knowledgeable, and helpful -- great 2-tank dive -- loads of fish, coral, sea-life -- the divemasters handled our group very well. I have a weak ankle and they assisted me with preparing for entry into the water. Been on many dives throughout the Caribbean and Pacific -- this was one of the better organizations. Convenient location. We will definitely go with this company when we return!

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hola,

thank you so much for your nice review. We had a really great time with you and are happy that you enjoyed your dive experience with us as much as we did!

Let us know when you are coming back, maybe we can explore some of the outer reefs then :)

Saludos de la isla,

your La Buga Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    24
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a group of 5 of us go for a dive with Keira, she was awesome and knew so much, she ran us through the plan of the dive which was great.
The dive was pretty interesting but we couldn't get to the wall we were swimming to as a friend was running low on air and it took a while to swim to. A recommendation would be to start the dive closer to the wall so we don't have to swim so far.
A storm then hit us when we were under the water which was cool to see, but we decided not to go for our second dive. The cost for the two dives was $60 per person which is very cheap. We got reimbursed for our last dive that we couldn't do. Overall it was a fun dive, they got our gear ready and packed it away for us too which was nice.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hola,

thank you for your nice words. I had a great time with you under water and it was indeed a special dive. Because of the current and the strom it was harder than usually to get to the wall, but when you come next time we can start directly in front of it :D

Let us know when you are back in town, we would love to take you diving again.

All the best and saludos de la isla,

Kira/ La Buga Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great dive in spite of the average weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went with Kira (Dive Master 312658) to 2 dives near Boca, on 24.6.2013. The weather was cloudy and this can hinder a lot the colors underwater, nonetheless Kira made us (me and my GF) enjoy the beautiful coral and fishes with her deep knowledge of the spots and her attentiveness to the divers attitude and skills.
First dive was at a wreck, 13.5 meters deep, 55 min. We have seen 2 Seahorses, a Snapper, a Srooper, Shrimps and Toadfish.
Second dive was at Mangrove Point, 12 meters deep, 45 min. Corals were more colorful here.
Seen: a group of courious squids, Angelfish, a Lobster, Spotted drem...

To make it short, we can only advice you to dive with Buga and Kira if you are in Boca :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hola,
Thank you very much for your nice words. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your dive experience with us as much as I did.
Let us know when you are coming back, maybe we can explore some more dive sites!
Saludos de Bocas, your La Buga family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

They offer two dives in two different places of your choice and they show you a lot of fish!!
The teacher Kira is very nice and help all the time with the equipment. I recommend!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hola Alessia,
Thank you very much for your nice review! It was a pleasure to take you diving and we are glad you enjoyed it!
Pass by if you are coming back!
Saludos de Bocas, your La Buga family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best dive school and team in the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to Bocas Del Toro with intention to do our PADI open water certification. After searching around we found that La Buga was the most inviting by far! It was super easy to organise, we walked in and had a chat with Jill and booked it on the spot. Both Jill and Leon (dive masters) guided us through the theory and prac of our dive course and they were very helpful and made it easy for us to learn. Not only are they super instructors but they make you feel really comfortable too. They encourage you and make it really fun! I felt like i was learning from my friends. We couldn't have had a better diving experience! Cheers to the whole crew at La Buga you guys are seriously awesome - you made our trip to Bocas one to remember! We'll be back to do our advanced cert with you for sure!!! Ten and Jack xxx

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buga Dive Center & Surf School also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to La Buga Dive Center & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.