We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jill was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Buga Dive Center & Surf School

La Buga Dive Center & Surf School
Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
507 7579534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Activities in Bocas Town
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2007, “La Buga Dive & Surf” instantly built up a reputation as a reliable and renowned Dive Center & Surf School in Bocas del Toro. No matter if you decide to go diving or surfing with us, we will ensure that you will have a fabulous time experiencing the multifaceted natural resources Bocas del Toro has to offer. You can also rent one of our kayaks or Stand-Up Paddle Boards. Our qualified international staff is providing top quality service by constantly reflecting our core values: Safety, Convenience and Fun! Hope to see you soon!Your La Buga Family
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Jill was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great experience! My boyfriend is a divemaster/military diver and finally convinced me that diving is something I had to try. He was a tad overprotective until we got started with Jill because she was an excellent instructor and made me feel super comfortable with everything. We went on four dives and covered the skills multiple times until I had the hang of it. The dive sites were amazing...I recommend mornings. Everyone in the shop is super friendly and if I find myself back in Bocas...you'll know where to find me!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    24
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Jill was great with our son!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My son (13) got his certification with Jill last week. She was great with him and in our opinion, covered more than what my husband and I learned in our certifications done in the city. Definitely recommend this place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I did my advanced certification at La Buga in Bocas and I had the best time. Professional and super sweet staff and good dives. We saw nurse sharks on one of the dives, which was amazing! Good and long dives in general - night dive is excellent as well!
I loved hanging out at La Buga when I wasn't diving because of the good atmosphere - it felt a little bit like home:) There are good smoothies in the bar as well! I will definitely try to get back to Bocas and a visit to La Buga is a must.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend rented a board from la buga for the 8 days we stayed in bocas. They were super friendly and helpful. They even kept the board during the day some days so we didnt have to carry it around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After a first diving experience in Egypt and Indonesia I descided to go for my Open Water certification. I picked La Buga after recomendation from my hotel and they were right. Friendly staff, great instructors. Only minus is the poor quality of the wet suits and some masks as well...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buga Dive Center & Surf School also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to La Buga Dive Center & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.