We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Fantastic Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotelito Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotelito Del Mar
Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Fantastic Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great stay at the end of June 2014. Close to airport however we did pay $2 for a taxi which made things easier for us. Two of us shared an upstairs room. It was HUGE (two queen beds) and the bathroom was super big. They provided us with beautiful fluffy towels, there was a fridge, tv, AC and everything was super clean. The room has a balcony which was fantastic to people watch right from our own space. Breakfast was simple (bread, juice, coffee and fruit) but I thought it was perfect. The staff was super accommodating by holding our bags while we checked out but still had several hours to kill. The location is key. Super close to everything.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room! It was well worth the extra money. We kept AC on and heard zero street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
56
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great location, just off the main street in Bocas del Toro, but at the right end to be close to everything, including two water taxi docks, and the bars in both street 1 and street 3. We even walked to it from the airport! The pay-off is that it can be a bit noisy at night, but nothing too extreme (we did have to close windows though). On the subject of windows, they had a mesh to prevent insect intrusion which is a massive plus.

Due to location was humid, so air con and ability to open window a plus.

Bed was small, but comfy and pillows good too. Room was a decent size, but like many places in the region lacked a bedside table.

Danny and his team were helpful and friendly.

Simple breakfast absolutely fine.

Only real downer was the dripping shower, which could have ruined our time here due to the noise. However we had packed some string which we hooked up to shower and ran to the floor; problem solved!

Was one of the most pricey places we stayed at on our trip, but I think that's Bocas for you.

Room Tip: Don't forget your earplugs everywhere you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had read good things about Hotelito Del Mar, so when we came into town and saw it about 1/2 block from Water Taxi 25 we decided to check out the rooms. They had one available and it was very clean and ready to go. We checked in for one night and ended up staying for 2 (lucky for us, it was just getting to be low season). Danny was very helpful and made our stay very easy. It was great to be located in the heart of Bocas Town. We had little kids with us and it wasn't loud at all (in room 7). The breakfast was a perfect light start to the day.

Room Tip: It is very quiet for being located in the heart of the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is a bargain for clean, comfortable rooms right in the center of town. The property has a nice garden where breakfast of fresh fruits and coffee is served. The second floor rooms have a balcony with ample sitting area. Beds are great and location is quiet. Owner Danny and his staff made excellent recommendations for dinners and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've visited Boca numerous times and stayed in a number of its hotels. You can find everything here in terms of a night to stay, and the mass can be confusing.
Worse yet, some places have such a severe bug infestation on the rooms and mattresses that it's better to sleep on the street.
Hotelito is super clean, modern, with decent rates, and next to my fav restaurant. In the center of Bocas town, it's also in the center of everything.
There's a new owner, but he appears even more eager to please than the old one.
My rate per night was $58, and worth every penny.
They have a variety of rooms including a family room with balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We came upon this nice little hotel in a great location in Bocas Town. The price was very reasonable and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The property was well kept and nicely landscaped with an outdoor sitting area. The best part however, was the new owner, Danny. He went over and above our expectations to make sure our stay in Bocas was everything we hoped for. All of his recommendations helped us to find exactly what we were looking for. Although he's only been the owner for a few weeks, he seems to be a natural in the hospitality business and is committed to making additional improvements to the hotel. His staff was also extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there and plan on returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just call..talk to Dan the owner (from NYC) great clean rooms, reasonable rates..weekly too, just a block or so from the water taxis. Waterfront bars and restaurants right out the door. Everything's in walking distance. Dan can help you set up any adventure, a taxi to a better beach-cheap-and they really do return in a couple hours to pick you up, or a private water taxi to a remote island adventure. I just loved Bocas and the remote islands.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, depends on the amount of people per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Del Mar

Address: Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel is conveniently located in Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province, Panama. Each of our spacious 7 rooms has cable TV, wireless internet access, A/C and hot water, continental breakfast. They are extremely well insulated and quiet. Groups are welcome. We accept all major credit cards. All inquiries are welcomed and answered promptly. Join us for a unique holiday on a tropical Carribean flavored island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelito Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Del Mar Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.