We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation, lovely owner & staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotelito Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotelito Del Mar
Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, lovely owner & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Firstly, we had room 2 on the ground floor which was large, reasonably modern, had extremely good A/C and even had a TV.
The inclusive breakfast comprised great coffee, consistently strong each morning, fresh delicious home-made muffins, fresh fruit and some juices from concentrate (a meagre breakfast sure, but they did mention this upon our arrival so nothing to complain about here whatsoever).
The owner, Sally (from the USA), is very welcoming and affords her guests the time to get to know them by casually sitting out in the patio to chat, amongst her pet birds (Pretty Bird & Sweet Pea) and her pet cat (Kit Kit).
Staff were all smiley without being fake, helpful and friendly, even happy to chat during a bit of downtime before heading off for the day..
Overall, if coming back to Bocas, I wouldn't even think of looking elsewhere for accommodation, since at these prices, you get more than you pay for, it's a complete no brainer for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
54
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I highly recommend the little hotel by the sea. Clean rooms, great prices, good A/C, cable TV, and WiFi (a must). Sally (the owner) and staff are always helpful and friendly. The property is well landscaped with lots of flowers. I love the upstairs room with your own private porch or the front veranda....either place is perfect for relaxing in Bocas. The location is convenient to everything. Why would you stay in a hostel? This is a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotelito del Mar. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent three nights here and were very happy. It is very quiet, a big consideration for us older folks in a party town. The rooms are clean, comfortable, reliable internet and utilities, and comfortable beds. I especially enjoyed breakfast with good coffee, fresh fruit and muffins, and interesting conversations with other travelers. The hotel is in a good location close to the water, shops, restaurants, city park, and water taxis. The staff is good and the owner is a wealth of information about the area, things to do, and anything else you want to know. There is more on my blog http://blog.thepanamaadventure.com/2013/04/21/bocas-del-toro-hotelito-del-mar/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotelito del Mar. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotelito del Mar for 3 nights last week, and loved it. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We especially liked the second floor rooms with balconies overlooking the street. Location is also good, very close to the water taxis to Almirante, stores, restaurants, etc. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great location and the tropical plants surrounding the hotel give you a degree of privacy not found elsewhere in town. Sally (owner) is wonderful, helpful, charming,engages guests on veranda at breakfast and leisure, good stories. Staff very friendly and helpful. My week stay 3/4-3/11 was fabulous and will definitely book again on return to Bocas

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the hotel was in a location close to everything. Will stay there again when in Bocas. The breakfast was fresh and the coffee hot and plentiful. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Feb12/13-Feb21/13. I don't really know where to start other than this hotel far exceeded my expecitations, it was clean and very well maintained. But the biggest attrubiute to this hotel is the staff. All of the girls went the extra mile to help in anyway possable. Also the owner Sally made you feel very much at home and treated us as family house guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I thank you for your kind words, and look forward to a continuing affiliation with you in the future. Please keep in touch, we hope you will be able to return to Hotelito del Mar in the future. STR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Del Mar

Address: Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel is conveniently located in Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province, Panama. Each of our spacious 7 rooms has cable TV, wireless internet access, A/C and hot water, continental breakfast. They are extremely well insulated and quiet. Groups are welcome. We accept all major credit cards. All inquiries are welcomed and answered promptly. Join us for a unique holiday on a tropical Carribean flavored island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotelito Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Del Mar Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.