We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great energy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotelito Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotelito Del Mar
Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great energy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a rough couples days leading up to our stay at Hotelito Del Mar. We could not have asked for a better place to recoup. The staff are absolutely phenomenal. They create such a warm and positive environment.

Rooms are large and well kept. I wish we had longer in Boca because the energy from this place was one of the highlights of our trip. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It is just so gratifying to see your kind remarks about Hotelito del Mar! Thank you for your kind words. Sally T Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
54
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I would stay here again! We stayed for 2 nights last week, and we would've stayed for at least 3 but they were already booked. The rooms are very big, clean, and the price can't be beat for the type of room and the area. You are centrally located to everything in Bocas. They also include a breakfast with muffins, pastries, juice and coffee. I would stay here again!

Also try Lily's Cafe across the street... home of the Killin me Man Sauce, sooo good! We ate there 3 times, once for breakfast, once for lunch and once for dinner. My personal favorites were the Chicken with Coconut Curry and Lemon Grass, the Porkchop with homemade applesauce and the homemade mash potatoes, and hot sauce are wonderful and so full of flavor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed a couple of days...plenty of information provided by the helpful people from the desk, central position, beautiful muffins for breakfast, spotless rooms, reasonably priced. Higly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I just want to thank you for your very positive and kind words about Hotelito del Mar. We are glad you were pleased with our facility.
Sally T Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc,utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and it exceeded our expectations. It is immaculate, roomy and we were very comfortable with 4 adults in a 2 bed room. The ambiance is great. The breakfast is good and the coffee was great. The hotel owner was so friendly and helpful. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de David, Chiriqui, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

First time in Bocas, we had a great experience. The hotelito del Mar is a great hote, good service and it was a nice place, we stayed in 2 rooms we were four persons, one single room with a double bed and other with two beds and both rooms were confortable. Prices are low for the good location that Hotelito del Mar has, 62 dolars for each room in the center of Bocas!! everything is near from the hotel, if you want to go to Barco Hundido just 2 blocks away! Everything was clean and breakfast included, great hotel, I highly recomend it.!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am very glad that you had a good experience at Hotelito del Mar in Bocas del Toro. Thank you for your kind words regrding your stay with us. We hope that you will come back and visit us again some time in the future.
Sally Ramirez, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will9250
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a great stay in our double room. Well priced and well serviced for center of boca....a must stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Located 1 block from the main street and small park, at the starting point of all ferries, bars and restaurants. For this location it has a low price, rooms are between 50 and 82 USD this period and I took the suite nr 6 paying 70 USD cash in hand.
The rooms on the ground floor smelled a bit humid and the suite on the first (highest) floor smelled well and was reasonably spacious.
Everything was available but just OK, small TV, AC (high level only), roof ventilator, hot water and pressure was on the edge, wifi was reasonable, breakfast some fresh fruit and muffin (see photo) with coffee and tea.
Because house has only seven rooms, you are not bothered by the guests and rooms are quiet, you only hear some street activity but that keeps limited and didn't bother me.
The owner is a decent old lady always controlling and trying to make your stay comfortable at your wishes. You can have a nice talk in case you should be boring yourself. She's trying to manage this place at European / US standards in the middle of the nonchalant culture of Bocas Town.
BocasThe Town itself is quiet during the day as all visitors, tourists are taking the ferries every day to visit the wide range of Islands. In the evening it's best to stay in the town, there are some good restaurants in walking distance from this hotel (I liked 'El Fuego' = mix of mid range people on the waterfront at the end of the mainstreet and 'Mystic' = younger public, modern music, vivid interior with a view on mainstreet and waterfront).
My conclusion is that in my opinion this is the best price you can get in Bocas Town center offering just all basic needs in a clean environment. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Take first (highest) floor, they have better ventilation and more spacious rooms. They are called s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Del Mar

Address: Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel is conveniently located in Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province, Panama. Each of our spacious 7 rooms has cable TV, wireless internet access, A/C and hot water, continental breakfast. They are extremely well insulated and quiet. Groups are welcome. We accept all major credit cards. All inquiries are welcomed and answered promptly. Join us for a unique holiday on a tropical Carribean flavored island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotelito Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Del Mar Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.