We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week at Koko” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koko Resort to your Saves list
Koko Resort
Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Goshen, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Week at Koko”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Koko was great! Quiet, away from town. The hosts were helpful in setting up adventures and the provided breakfast was a pleasant bonus. The walk to town was pleasant but taxi service was readilly available if we didn't feel like walking. Highly recomend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    53
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
49
115
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Orchid, which was nice. Good view. Very spacious. The breakfast was really nice. Pretty close to town (20 min. walk) or $1 cab ride per person. Pretty much exactly what I read online. The walk was a little dirty to the place, but I think it just added personality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can't explain how mad this manager made me!
I have never had someone LIE to me that BADLY at a business!!

Biggest problem:
we requested a cabin far out on the water. Its the most expensive, which would have been fine;
EXCEPT! She mentioned that it had flooded a bit during "The worst storm" they'd seen this year.. that was ALL she mentioned.

The first night, there was a bad storm. Water POURED from the second floor of the cabin to the first floor, like a water fall for HOURS!! We woke up at 3am to find out water poured onto the kitchen counter where we had put all of our electronics cause she said it had flooded in the past. ( After all... when you think flood, you think.. coming through underneath the door.. right? Well, wrong, coming from the second floor/roof. )

After we attempted to rescue are drenched laptops (2), and cameras (2), we looked around and noticed all the water marks on the furniture and walls from where this has happened before.
This is something that obviously happens a few times a year. Oh yeah, its the starfish cabin on the end, and, if you look at the fridge you CANT miss the big rust stain going from the top of the freezer, down through both doors.

OKAY, I get that it happens, but honestly, when I talked to her in the morning and explained as nicely and calmly as possible that our stuff was drenched (electronics, suitcases and dufflebag) and the electronics are totally ruined, she SIMPLY asked if we had closed the outside wind shield blind thing on the upstairs sundeck (Umm.. yes we did at 3am when we woke up... but you never told us to do when you showed us the room..) Because apparently that is supposed to stop most of the water. THANKS for NOT mentioning that before, not that I think it would matter with the ridiculous amount of water coming in

SHE Lied to us, charged us full price for a room, and could not have cared less that she indirectly ruined our electronics.

A simple "Sometimes this room can flood, on the off chance theres a big storm, put your stuff upstairs as it wont get wet."

Okay, so now that Ive mentioned how horrible this lady is; and the thousands of dollars she cost us in replacing our electronics...

The beach around the hotel is littered in garbage. I dove off the dock and had to swim through garbage to get to the ladder.

Its in a neighbourhood a 20 minute walk from downtown which is okay but DON'T be fooled like we were, you cannot get a taxi home after 10 pm.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
These guests were with us during one of the worst rain storms in years for Bocas Del Toro. The rain and wind screen was not closed on there cabin and water blew in from the upstairs balcony and then down into where their electronics were. Bad luck is all it was. These are cabins built over the ocean and we can not control freak rain storms.

That being said no need to lie in the rest of the review just because you had some bad luck that we could not control. We offered you another cabin for free, we offered you a complete refund, we tried to do everything in order to resolve the problem but your anger at the time about your electronics prevented you guys from communication with us and you just left abruptly.

As you can see out of all the hotels in Panama we are rated #1 for customer service on tripadvisor for 2013. That is because we bend over backwards to help our clients no matter what if they allow us to. These guests did not allow that to happen and let there anger over a uncontrollable situation get the best of them.

The cabins do not leak. Since this couples stay we have put up more permanent flood screens on the upper floors of the farther out cabins so when we get another freak storm like this on we are better prepared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My two brothers and I did some island hopping through Bocas and spent our first 3 nights at Koko Resort. Cabins are perfectly situated over the water, allowing for nice, cool breeze every evening..no need for mosquito netting or closed windows and AC. Aside from surfing at Black Rock break, breakfasts w Jack in the Buena Vista kitchen were highlights we won't soon forget. The man has stories for days and really goes out of his way to accomodate all of his guests. Family-style breakfasts allow for opportunity to meet and share day plans with other guests. Every city should have a microtel/lodge/resort like Jack's. Who knows, maybe one day we will be able to cite him as inspiration for our own spot in the states!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orotina, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went just before Xmas 2012 with wife, daughter and her boyfriend. I'd seen the photos and hoped for something great but, as I live in the tropics, I would not have been surprised if things had got a bit shabby. I need not have worried. We had the two bedroom unit on the shore rather than the cabins over the water (which are a touch smaller I think) and it was clean, pretty well equipped and everything worked. The kitchen had been equipped by somebody who actually cooks - everything needed was there. Showers were hot and the A/C worked if you needed it (we didn't). Other reviews have been a little divided about the neighbourhood. My impression was that it is a solid working community, certainly not "rough" and we were greeted cheerfully and politely by our neighbours as we passed to and fro to our accommodation. The owners house and dining area is about 20 yards from the guest cabins and there are houses in between alongside the path between the two. There was a little noise during the day from a small workshop - not a problem if you're out exploring the island anyway, and it was quiet at night. The bay is very pretty indeed and one of the great pleasures was sipping a sunset drink at the end of the jetty between the cabins. The water is crystal clear, except when wind and rain whip up the silt and it gets a bit murky. There is clearly a strict local rule and ALL the houses over the water have drainage back to the land and proper septic tanks. I swam in the water by the cabins and I would not even contemplate that unless I was sure the water was sparkling clean. The owners are very keen to help and share information, set up tours if you want (but not pushily - it's there if you want it) and I personally liked the style of the breakfasts very much. You sit at the breakfast bar and Jack cooks your breakfast in front of you as you chat. Jack is one of those guys who likes to appear a bit 'grumpy' to begin with, but it only takes a couple of minutes to realise that this is an act, and that he's really a nice chap. He seems to be held in high esteem and affection by his neighbours, which says it all, really. His wife Lee can't do enough to make sure you're comfortable and having a good time.
Final note - breakfast theoretically starts at 7am so, as were going to be leaving around 6-15, I just enquired where we could leave the keys. "Just give them to us at breakfast" Explained we were leaving at 6-15 - "Don't worry, we're cooking breakfast at 5-30 anyway for some folk who've got an early flight". This is not a luxury up-market rip-off hotel - this is like staying with your favourite Uncle and Aunt in a rather spectacular location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are two couples from Canada who spent six nights at Koko resort in January. We stayed in the back two cabins closest to the shore as they were a little larger and had queen size beds. The cabins had everything we needed and everything worked just fine. Jack and Leigh were the best hosts we could have asked for. They organized tours with locals for a great price and with people they knew were knowledgeable and reliable. They took care of taxis and recommended great restaurants. Breakfasts were great and we really enjoyed Jack and Leigh's sense of humour and chat about local news and politics. Made for lively breakfast conversations.

The location is unique as you are right next door to working families. We really enjoyed this but it might not be for everyone. The locals were very friendly and we at no time felt uncomfortable but their standard of living is very different than ours so you need to be able to accept this. We especially enjoyed seeing the kids out everyday playing soccer or baseball. It reminds me of what our Canadian kids should be doing instead of playing on their computers or watching tv. These kids were having a ball.

We loved our stay here and would return if we came back to Bocas.

Thanks Jack and Leigh

Room Tip: The cabins at the back have queen beds and are a little larger but the waterfront cabins have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I had two nights here. We loved every minute of it right from the excellent family run atmosphere and customer service to the lovely ambience of the place. Our Cabin was kitted out to a very high standard and all functioned perfectly, this was great as it means you can just cook dinner then hang out on the Hammock on the small outside area.

In fact as long as your not fussed about dining out you can save a lot of monet by just cooking in your Cabin and eating outside. Also the free breakfast in the morning is big and tasty, thanks Jack.!

We also really liked the fact that everything was very close by main town just 15 minute walk (if that) and you can rent for free for bikes and canoes which is a real plus. Beach and other islands very assessable.

We felt the owners Leigh and Jack really went the extra mile for us and all other guests we spoke to really loved this place. We would stay here agian without hesitation!

Nick, UK and Brigitte, Colombia

Room Tip: we stayed in Gecko which met and exceeded expectation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.