We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cool, relaxed and waterfront... splendid!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koko Resort to your Saves list
Koko Resort
Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice, cool, relaxed and waterfront... splendid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had the pleisure to stay in one of the waterfront cabins from the 4th to the 8th of April. Confortable and cute! It is true though that the first night we did not sleep much because of the wind and the sound of the waves (just not used to it) but I will certainly not say that it was a problem... we adapted ourselves in no time and have greatly appreciated every minute of our exeperience there. The location is great, the breakfast is good (fun to see Jack preparing it for the guests). Jack and Lee are very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    53
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
49
115
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Well i want say i had very nice time there , i loved the cute cabins and the View , I have 18 years in turist because is my work and is very nice found place like it , exist many place very nice is true with expensive things and luxury , but i like humble and freindly place to stay , Jack and Lee was , and the friendly neighbors around they are very humble people , cute kids run around playing , I will back i m sure , Thanks for my wonderful breakfast and your atention with me and my husband regards . Yorleny :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Bocas Town is a noisy beach town full of bars, beach/surf shops, and young folks. We wanted to be there as a jumping off point for nearby beaches and snorkeling but we didn't want to be listening to reggae and drunks at 3 AM. Koko Resort was in the sweet spot - close enough to town for convience but far enough away for rest and relaxation.

The cabins sit on the water of a small bay with an excellent view of sunset and the distant mainland mountains. The cabins were spacious and comfortable with a full kitchen. They're not luxury accomodations, but they're clean and well-kept and that's what we wanted - just a comfortable home base for three days of water-based activities at the end of a 2 week trip through much of Panama by car.

The property is operated by the owners of the Bahia Resort, just 2 doors down the waterfront path. An excellent breakfast was served there every morning. The hosts are American retirees and they'll bend over backward to help you out in any way they can. They know the local area well and can quickly arrange tours, boats, taxis, or just point you to the right beach for you. I didn't feel like a customer - more like a long-lost friend who was staying a few days while passing through.

Pay attention to the statement on their web site about the location and its proximity to the real Panama. The property is not one of dozens on some secluded beach with nothing but hotels, B&Bs, and houses rented to foreigners. The waterfront properties are mixed bag of B&Bs, rental houses, and private residences of both locals and expatriates. Behind the waterfront is a crowded section of houses occupied entirely by locals. It's the third world by U.S. standards, though it felt perfectly safe to me as I walked through it to and from the nearby market after dark. I only point out the location for the benefit of those not used to rubbing elbows with locals and living in or next to their dwellings. If you're looking for a touristy resort far removed from the realities of the host country then this isn't the place for you. If you want a reasonably priced home away from home and the opportunity to feel as if you've actually visited Panama (not just its tourist spots) then Koko Resort is for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
day, calif.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The previous comments are more or less in line with our limited experience. depending on your perspective, it's nice, but it has it's limits. The accomodations were clean, well maintained, and the kitchen was functional. The place does have its charms, but the surroundings are, by Central American standards, ordinary. The only real problem was very loud music from a place maybe 50 or 100 yards down the waterfront. We would be fine with the place if not for the extremely intrusive music. If the place next door calms down, we'd recommend Kokos, but for now we would recommend asking about it before booking. Ironically, we'd booked into Koko to avoid the busy-ness of the downtown scene.

Upon arrival in the late afternoon on a Sunday for a 1 night layover in Bocas town, the music was very, very loud. No, you don't understand: Loud. Pounding. Inescapable. Very, very loud. Central America can be a noisy, raucus place, but this was far beyond anything we have heard in any residential area we have visited anywhere. The sound did not stop between our arrival and when we went out for dinner. We went into town about 7-ish, and while walking back to Koko at 10:30, we could hear if from literally nearly a half mile away. It finally, mercifully, shut down at midnight, as if on schedule. Lee at Koko's informed us the next day that the source was an "Indian bar" that had recently opened, and that it was only open on weekends. She noted that the bar had little to offer except the stereo and "lots and lots of beer." If that remains to be the case, we cannot recommend Kokos on Thurs. through Sunday. If this local spot has flamed out in the past few weeks, or if the neighbors got tired of it and did something, please let others know. But ask before booking if the place is still operating. If not for the noise, we could recommend Koko Resort.

Oh, and keep in mind that the water may not be 100% safe to swim in due to septic discharge into the sea from houses down the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Unfortunately we can not control the music and being a small island sounds travels easily. Normally the bars only are open and loud on special occasions and are closed many weekends it just depends on the holiday and whats going on. We are very lucky because in town the bars stay open till 5 or 6am and in our community almost always close before midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Ko Ko resort as well as Bahia Del Sol, both the owners jack and Lee are amazing. This was our first trip to panama and going to bocas was a must. First off, I believe they are one of the only guest houses that respond to your emails asap as well as accept visa.
We were greeted by Jack at the airport and got a tour of the town on the way to Ko Ko. Our cabin was literally on the ocean, so beautiful and had everything you could possibly need. Jack is hilarious and full of humour and lee is kind and there to answer any question you may have. The restuarants they recommend are amazing (my fav el ultiom refugio) The breakfast jack makes in the morning is the best i have ever had at any place ive stayed over my many years of traveling all over the world. he fills that belly and every morning there is something new to try. My boyfriend and I loved the fact that the guest house was not on the main drag, heck its only a .50 cent cab ride if you dont feel like walking.
It was my birthday on one of our days there and jack and lee had made me an amazing, chocolate cake. It was very sweet and I am still smiling when i think of what givers and kind people they are.
When I return in the future there will be no question where I will be staying.
Thank you jack and Lee for making my 30th birthday wonderfull.
See you again,
ali and cam

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed four nights at Koko Resort and had a wonderful time. Koko Resort offers a unique setting over the water, away from town, but conveniently close to town. There is nothing quite like relaxing in a hammock while watching fish under the dock and feeling the oceam breezes. Lee and Jack were fantastic hosts. They provided great advice, arranged for tours, and cooked a tasty breakfast every day. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes, but taxis were always available, and cheap. With a neighborhood consisting of mainly locals, we felt that we had a true cultural experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Bocas and had such a great experience at Koko we had to review here! Jack and Lee, and Koko, were a big part of why we loved our vacation so much - not only were the cabins super awesome - but Jack and Lee were the most hospitable and generous hosts you could hope to find. We kept joking that it felt like you were staying with your cool aunt and uncle. By the end of the 6 days we were there, they felt like family.

The cabins over the water are really beautiful - a nice, full kitchen and bedroom loft. It was so pleasant to just sit on the porch in the evening after a day at the beach to wind down. We have traveled pretty extensively, and I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

One last thing - we were somewhat concerned about the distance to town when booking but didn't find it to be a problem at all. Cabs are easy to find and come quickly after Jack calls them for you, and it's just a few minutes into town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.