We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Rumba is amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach
| Isla Colon, Isla Colon 507, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Isla Colon
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Hotel La Rumba is amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I very much recommend Hotel La Rumba to everyone looking for a clean, nice place to stay while in Bocas del Toro. It has the friendliest, most helpful staff I have ever encountered in the hospitality industry. Bruno (the manager) is always happy to help in every way possible to make your trip the best he can. The rooms are great, the coffee is delicious and the view is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed in Bocas Del Toro 1/19 - 1/24 aftering renting a house online. Since we were on our own, we walked down the road and came upon La Rumba. Bruno the young owner could not have been more helpful in telling us where to eat, what tours to go on (and avoid). Bruno also made all our reservations for us at no charge.He was also our interperter when we made phone calls. Although we did not stay at his hotel, the open bar/restaurant overlooks the water and the circular thatched roof extends over 30' above you. A lovely view. Food is good and beers are cold.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRumbaNewAdmin, Gerente at Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
I'm very happy to hear, that we were helpful, we like to take care of everybody to make sure you enjoy your visit to Bocas del Toro and Panama, regarless of if you are staying with us at the hotel or not.
At this moment, we do not own the hotel yet, we leased it for a year starting on December 21 of 2010.
Thank you very much for your comment it is very rewarding to know that people enjoy our company and service.
Hopefully we will see you again (very soon, like the movies :-)
Warm regards.


Bruno
Hotel La Rumba
Costa Azul Beach, Bocas del toro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My trip was not for pleasure but to work at the Smithsonian Research Station. If youre looking for a affordable, nice, clean place away from city centre (so you want a hotel where you can actually sleep), this hotel is great. Even though is true that the hotel is not located in the main street, the fact is that taxis in Bocas are very cheap (0.5 to 1 dl per way), so the distance issue is actually more an advantage. As far as I understood, the hotel change its administration and now it has an incredible amicable staff who try to help you in every way they can. Bruno the Administrator is fully bilingual so the language wont be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We reached the hotel, because the other hotels in the center are very expensive.
Bruno greeted us with a smile and was always there to help us find interesting things to do.
The hotel was very quiet.
The rooms were clean, beds are comfortable and always had hot water.
Nice breakfasts.

We enjoyed at this hotel on Bocas del Toro.

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We came to Bocas on 30.12. and all hotels was full in town. Thank God, because it gave us oportunity to know La Rumba hotel which is 5 kilometers from town in a very nice location. Because of new friendly management leader name Bruno, La Rumba hotel is something special. Me and my 3 friends stayed there for 5 days. The taxi ride is just 1 dolar to town, and the taxi is there in fue minutes, Bruno arange everiything. 20 meters behind the hotel there is unusualy nice pet, a crocodile... very nice. And we actualy pay for the tours to see crocodiles in Costa Rica :(...weel you can see it and feet it there for free.
When i will go to Bocas again, i will stay there for sure...!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

La Rumba is the best place to be, because there is everything that you need when you want to have a good time. It is located a few kilometers out from the centre of Bocas del Toro but still close enough to be there in 3 minutes by taxi. Rooms are clean and big enough, it is safe place and quiet too. Just 20 meters away, across the street, there is a very nice sandy beach. Manager Bruno and staff are very hospitable. There is a small bar where you can have a drink or even breakfast or dinner. We all enjoy the time that we spent there very much!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I were lucky enough to drop into this hotel for their grand opening party. Bruno, one of the owners, personally made us feel very much at home and even invited us to their family Christmas dinner which was a wonderful feast. The past reviews should be in no way indicitive of the new management. I have seen personally that the rooms are very clean, the service is wonderful, and the food menu that is being developed is incredibly tasty.

For those who say its noisy, it is much quieter than any Bocas Town hotels. The view is one of the prettiest close to town and the beach is calm so good for families. It is also within a close bike ride or taxi to Ponch and Bluff beaches. Surfers paradises.

Try Oscar's egg sandwich for breakfast - you won't be disappointed. The thin crust homemade pizzas are also incredible.

My only complaint is they are probably charging too little for rooms as they recover from the last owners' reputation. I would pay more than they charge. If you are looking for exceptional value, you will find it here. Be open - its Panama and if you can adapt into the lifestyle and relaxed pace your stay will be more than you could ever have dreamed.

We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach

Address: | Isla Colon, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Isla Colon
Also Known As:
Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach to your Saves list