We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite reasonable and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Limbo on the Sea Hotel to your Saves list
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Isla Colon
Kelowna
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quite reasonable and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel was arranged for us by Panama City travel agency. Good sized room with a balcony facing the street, balcony had, table, chairs and a couch. Fun for people watching, would have preferred to be on sea side for sleeping. Nice restaurant downstairs. Bathroom a bit tight but lots of hot water. Found wooden floor a bit slippery. Put the rug away as rather dangerous. AC worked very well, a bit noisy. Lots of little restaurants and shops nearby. Free breakfast basic but adequate. Staff was friendly. Would look for lower price on one of the websites if booking ourselves as direct price for standard room is $75 and upwards and that was low season. But would be willing to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose seaside if you don't want late night street noise. Lots of partiers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
31
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel needs a major overhaul. It's a dump. Still, I stayed 7 days. The room was cleaned and swept daily. The ac worked well but unsightly and loud. Rooms are not soundproof, a problem if you want to sleep and have families with kids in the room above you. Bathroom works, hot water, cold water, but very dingy/old. Rags for curtains, stained shower curtain. Bed was comfortable.

Breakfast is included, good cafe con leche, they offer SPLENDA!! but tried the scrambled eggs once and could not eat them. Rubbery and horrible taste of cheap cooking oil. No breakfast meat offered, Stick to the fresh fruit if your diet allows. Alternatively, walk to La Buga Dive & Surf and have a gourmet breakfast at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my first trip to Bocas, so I do not have a lot of experience with other hotels in the area. We came in on a last minute 4 day trip with me and a couple friends. The place was nice and we got a great room, with a balcony, overlooking the water. The staff was very friendly, room was clean and the food was very good. The waves were awesome and catching a boat from the back of the hotel was very cool.

For the price, I was very happy and the location is awesome.

Room Tip: Top floor on on the ocean side with a patio is definitely the way to go. Awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was traveling with some friends to Bocas. From the airport you can take this to town - about a 5 min cab ride if that for about $2-$5.
It is in one of the best locations - right in the middle of town - on the water - with a couple of restaurants.
From the hotel it is easy to catch a water taxi - walk to many places like a supermarket, pharmacy, bars, places for dinner, and so on. It is at a Y in the road so it sits off the main street so it limits the traffic and also foot traffic in front of the hotel.
Free breakfast included - scrambled eggs, toast, fruit - the usual, nice but no bacon.
Our check in was nice and got a room with a water view with a queen and twin bed. Our place was clean, and I had no complaints. The room (room #10) itself was decent size and the bathroom was small. There was a tub shower - which was not the most convenient but it worked. It had a frig, and also a safe.
We had towels for a day trip to the Zapillas Islands - and they were super accommodating to any requests.
I did not mind the hotel - and it's location is the appeal. The food in the restaurant attached Isla or something like that was very good, I had lobster and loved it.
I don't know what most peoples expectations are - but this is Bocas, and there is not a whole lot going on there - and most the hotels are similar. There are no real nice super great hotels here - they just seem to be more average. Last time I stayed at Cocomos by the Sea and hated the walk to get to town, and it was harder to get a water taxi. Knowing this I opted for El Limbo.

This was nice since it did have the restaurants, which are convenient. It was a good option and would stay there again, if I was to come back to Bocas. It is a budget destination with some beautiful beaches as the appeal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here only 3 nights and was an incredible experience! In order to travel to isla colon you have to take a 45min flight from panama City ($150) or take a 10hrs bus ($28) to isla Almirante. After arriving you have to take a "water taxi" to isla colon (30 min). After arriving Colon island, Limbo hotel is a couple of minutes waking. All the hotels in colon island are over the sea, so you'll have breakfast with sea view for sure! The decoration of this place was beautiful and have a GREAT indian restaurant right next to it. The breakfast is included and the service (which is REALLY RARE IN PANAMA) was great, the service is always looking to help you! Tip: apparently the hotel have 2 owners (2 brothers who split the responsabilities) the service at day is waaaay better than the one at night ( 2different stafff, 2 different owners), we had some issues with one argentinean girl at night, so! To keep in mine! The rooms are preatty simple, i asked for a rooom with sea view, just beautiful! Almost no hotel have sand (because all are over the sea!) You must take some tours to reach some sand! The NO MISS places are: First, zapatilla island! Crystal clear water! Also there is a beautiful place called Coral Cay where you can do some snoarkling. There are bunch of more beautiful places but these are the ones you'll be sorry not to visit!. Also, in the hotel some times you'll find out there is no water, Is because the guys close it to save some, just call front desk and they'll open it for you!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and our group had two rooms. Both balcony rooms, one street facing and one sea view. The sea view room is $45 more than the street view room and has a large balcony with a love seat, table and 4 chairs. The room had a double and a single bed. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge and a safe. The smoke detector was broken and hung by a wire. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet leaked water on the floor constantly. The room overall was very dated but clean although the windows and doors could have used a scrubbing. The towels were threadbare. There was plenty of hot water and the a/c worked well. The street view room was smaller with a double bed but no safe. The balcony was large and comfortable, great for people watching.
The hotel is well located and the restaurant has a lovely water view. The continental breakfast included cake, bread, jam, plastic wrapped cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. The front desk staff and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. The housekeeping staff however were either lazing on the beds chatting or in the linen room chatting. There was lots of cleaning that should have been done!

Room Tip: Would not splurge on the sea view balcony room again but would opt for the street view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are just okay. We had a street view with a balcony that was nice. The breakfast that is included was to open at 7:30 but several times did not begin until 8:00-8:15. There were several staff members who were very helpful and kind and several who were sour grapes. The staff could use training in customer service. After checking in and viewing the rooms I asked the receptionist if we could move to a room with a king sized bed as ours had a queen and twin bed. She said "all our beds are the same". Well, when the cleaning service was cleaning other rooms we noticed they did have king beds. I guess she just didn't want to bother.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view when you book. The street view would be the next best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Address: Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Limbo on the Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.