We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Limbo on the Sea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Isla Colon
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Worked for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was traveling with some friends to Bocas. From the airport you can take this to town - about a 5 min cab ride if that for about $2-$5.
It is in one of the best locations - right in the middle of town - on the water - with a couple of restaurants.
From the hotel it is easy to catch a water taxi - walk to many places like a supermarket, pharmacy, bars, places for dinner, and so on. It is at a Y in the road so it sits off the main street so it limits the traffic and also foot traffic in front of the hotel.
Free breakfast included - scrambled eggs, toast, fruit - the usual, nice but no bacon.
Our check in was nice and got a room with a water view with a queen and twin bed. Our place was clean, and I had no complaints. The room (room #10) itself was decent size and the bathroom was small. There was a tub shower - which was not the most convenient but it worked. It had a frig, and also a safe.
We had towels for a day trip to the Zapillas Islands - and they were super accommodating to any requests.
I did not mind the hotel - and it's location is the appeal. The food in the restaurant attached Isla or something like that was very good, I had lobster and loved it.
I don't know what most peoples expectations are - but this is Bocas, and there is not a whole lot going on there - and most the hotels are similar. There are no real nice super great hotels here - they just seem to be more average. Last time I stayed at Cocomos by the Sea and hated the walk to get to town, and it was harder to get a water taxi. Knowing this I opted for El Limbo.

This was nice since it did have the restaurants, which are convenient. It was a good option and would stay there again, if I was to come back to Bocas. It is a budget destination with some beautiful beaches as the appeal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
12
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here only 3 nights and was an incredible experience! In order to travel to isla colon you have to take a 45min flight from panama City ($150) or take a 10hrs bus ($28) to isla Almirante. After arriving you have to take a "water taxi" to isla colon (30 min). After arriving Colon island, Limbo hotel is a couple of minutes waking. All the hotels in colon island are over the sea, so you'll have breakfast with sea view for sure! The decoration of this place was beautiful and have a GREAT indian restaurant right next to it. The breakfast is included and the service (which is REALLY RARE IN PANAMA) was great, the service is always looking to help you! Tip: apparently the hotel have 2 owners (2 brothers who split the responsabilities) the service at day is waaaay better than the one at night ( 2different stafff, 2 different owners), we had some issues with one argentinean girl at night, so! To keep in mine! The rooms are preatty simple, i asked for a rooom with sea view, just beautiful! Almost no hotel have sand (because all are over the sea!) You must take some tours to reach some sand! The NO MISS places are: First, zapatilla island! Crystal clear water! Also there is a beautiful place called Coral Cay where you can do some snoarkling. There are bunch of more beautiful places but these are the ones you'll be sorry not to visit!. Also, in the hotel some times you'll find out there is no water, Is because the guys close it to save some, just call front desk and they'll open it for you!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and our group had two rooms. Both balcony rooms, one street facing and one sea view. The sea view room is $45 more than the street view room and has a large balcony with a love seat, table and 4 chairs. The room had a double and a single bed. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge and a safe. The smoke detector was broken and hung by a wire. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet leaked water on the floor constantly. The room overall was very dated but clean although the windows and doors could have used a scrubbing. The towels were threadbare. There was plenty of hot water and the a/c worked well. The street view room was smaller with a double bed but no safe. The balcony was large and comfortable, great for people watching.
The hotel is well located and the restaurant has a lovely water view. The continental breakfast included cake, bread, jam, plastic wrapped cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. The front desk staff and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. The housekeeping staff however were either lazing on the beds chatting or in the linen room chatting. There was lots of cleaning that should have been done!

Room Tip: Would not splurge on the sea view balcony room again but would opt for the street view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are just okay. We had a street view with a balcony that was nice. The breakfast that is included was to open at 7:30 but several times did not begin until 8:00-8:15. There were several staff members who were very helpful and kind and several who were sour grapes. The staff could use training in customer service. After checking in and viewing the rooms I asked the receptionist if we could move to a room with a king sized bed as ours had a queen and twin bed. She said "all our beds are the same". Well, when the cleaning service was cleaning other rooms we noticed they did have king beds. I guess she just didn't want to bother.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view when you book. The street view would be the next best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I visit Bocas del Toro on a regular basis as we own property in the area, and we have stayed at most of the better hotels on Isla Colon, and Hotel El Limbo is one of our favorites, mainly because of the ideal central location and comfortable rooms. The location is great because it is right in the center of all the action in town, but literally on the ocean, with fantastic views to the surrounding islands, and easy access by boat taxi to just about anywhere you want to go, or an easy walk to all the best restaurants on the island. This is important in Bocas because unless you have your own boat, you depend on boat taxis, and finding them can be difficult at times if you are located far from the center of town. The hotel rooms are very comfortable, clean, and have everything you could possibly need. The restaurant is also very good, and the breakfasts are especially delicious, and the hotel service is very friendly too. I highly recommend El Limbo to anyone visiting Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The front desk isn't staffed until 9 am so you can't check out before then, no matter how desperately you need to. The other staff tried to be helpful but they didn't know how to pull together the bill or charge the credit card. We had a tour to get to at 9 am and were desperate to get going but there was no way around it.

The shower ran hot and then cold. The rooms were run down. We weren't expecting luxury but it was pretty dowdy. Restaurant staff were all so very pleasant. They were a plus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cumbres, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Got a great deal to go to Bocas del Toro on Panamanian Holidays (very busy time of year and high season). We received air tickets, hotel and a tour for an extremely reasonable price. The hotel on the offer was Limbo on the Sea. Went to the website, beautiful picture but I knew it was a bit different. We had booked 2 double rooms. When we got the hotel (around 11:30 AM, check in was at 3:00 PM) they had no problem letting us check in early. Everyone was very friendly. My room was the only one on the ground floor, very small, but I did not plan to stay much in the room. Air conditioning temperature did not go below 26 C, which was no problem during the evening, but a little hot during the day. Once again, I did not spend much time in my room during the day, so not a problem. Two single beds, a bathroom and a TV with cable (the TV had a white spot in the middle, weird). No hot water that I can remember, but for some reason, it did not bother me. Very hot days.

One big pull is their restaurant, it's a pier type restaurant and you are sitting right next to the ocean. If the tide was high, the furthermost tables could not be used. Great view, good breeze, and totally relaxing. When it was time for our tour, they picked us up right at the hotel restaurant in a boat.

Breakfast was included and you could have omelettes (they had about 4 different kinds) or crepes. You also had bread to toast, jams, cheese, fruits, orange and mango juice, and some type of sponge cake (white and chocolate). Everything was fresh, but nothing to write home about.

We ate here for lunch twice and the sea food was excellent! We also had a caipirinha during happy hour. Not that good.

All in all, it was a very good hotel for the price we received. We saw some of the other hotels, and they all looked run down (except for some new ones).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Address: Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Limbo on the Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.