We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a clean place close to everything? This is it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Limbo on the Sea Hotel to your Saves list
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Want a clean place close to everything? This is it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in different places in Bocas, and Limbo provides clean rooms, hot water, a/c and a decent restaurant (staff is very friendly, always!) withinh walking distance to boat docks to adjacent islands, restaurants and stores.

Not bad at all, so far, this is the best I have had @ Bocas.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our daughter and a friend from Norway were visiting and we thought Bocas del Toro would be a place interesting to visit . We booked the trip during the week from Tuesday to Thursday. Flying is expensive but you are there in one hour. By car takes almost 8 hours. Arriving practically at dawn (flight left at 6:30 am) I asked the hotel to honor Thursday`s breakfast on Tuesday since we were leaving also very early that day. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. You have a choice of ocean or street view. The hotel is centrally located which allows for pleasant discovery walks. The main street of the island is full of neat corners. Our breakfast (included in the price) was very complete: fruit, bread, eggs, juice, coffee or tea and an assortment of marmalades. Just the right way to begin a day! The personnel is very helpful and courteous and took care of all my questions and guided me accordingly. The island has a very unique flavour. Do not miss a tour of the circuit of islands, including the dolphin bay and Zapatilla (with lunch opportunities to order on the way out and to be eaten on the way back). El Limbo was a very pleasant surprise as a restaurant, where we enjoyed a delicious dinner one night. The lobster was very well prepared. I highly recommend it for couples, singles and families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 1 week in el limbo and greatly enjoyed our stay.

There was ample choice of breakfast options all of which were tasty and filling. No problems getting another juice or coffee if you felt like it as they were offered by the staff. I usually dont drink juice when i am not sure of the ice but we were assured it was fine and had no problems.
The rooms on the street side are spacious, we had cable tv ( good for the one rainy day), 2 beds, good air con and a sizeable safe. Rooms were clean and secure.
If you are a light sleeper you may prefer an ocean view room but otherwise the street side rooms are fine.
The hotel is about 50 metres from the dock for boats to red frog beach, isla bastimentos, dolphin bay and zapatilla. There is also a good calue restaurant optn directly across the street at Bocas Bambu ( if you are watching your budget, the daily specials board offerings are between 7 and 9 dollars and we found them to be excellent).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 2 days in this hotel. We arrived directly with a ship, it was a fantastic arrival method. :)
The rooms are ok, they are quite big and clean. The staff in the bar is very nice, they were always laughing. You can eat dinner also in the restaurant, they give big portions and the food looks like good.
As a breakfast you can choose from several types of omlets with bread and a little fruit salat. Also a hot drink and an orange juice belongs to the breakfast.
There is a free WiFi in the hotel.

The hotel is located in the city center. You can reach the airport of Bocas del Toro within 5 minutes on foot.

I recommend to evrybody this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I ate here twice while in Bocas town. Once for lunch on a Sunday afternoon which was great as not many restaurants are open. The restaurant has a beautiful water view and the music was good (erykah badu). I ordered a Pina Colada which took a while to come and also chicken breast wrapped in bacon with fetticine and tomato sauce. It also had vegetables included. The service was slow but food was very tasty.

The same night I went to the restaurant for dinner the service was super slow. I ordered a Pina Colada, fried squid for the appetizer and lobster in a coconut curry sauce. It took forever for the food to come out. I finished my drink before the appetizer was even brought out. It took another 30-40 minutes for my main dish. The squid was too chewy. I believe it was overcooked. The lobster was pretty bland. Overall this place is okay but not a top choice and don't arrive hungry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

location and optic of the El Limbo Hotel is nice, but our food was not so good.
Catch of the day was a tasteless piece of fish including fishbones.

this was, overall, a disappointing dinner with my wife.
OK, it was not expensive, but I guess there are better options.
cheers

(PS: I cant rate the hotel, this rating concerns only the resto)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our Xmas dinner at the restaurant at the Hotel Limbo by the Sea even though the starter, supposedly ceviche, was just prawns with a touch of chopped onion and some sauce. The main course, Mahi Mahi with a wonderful sauce and tasty vegetables and coconut rice, was excellent as was the dessert, a crunchy caramel and lemon biscuit. One of the best meals we had in Bocas, and we had a few!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Address: Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Limbo on the Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.