We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for food just don't arrive hungry!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Limbo on the Sea Hotel to your Saves list
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good option for food just don't arrive hungry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I ate here twice while in Bocas town. Once for lunch on a Sunday afternoon which was great as not many restaurants are open. The restaurant has a beautiful water view and the music was good (erykah badu). I ordered a Pina Colada which took a while to come and also chicken breast wrapped in bacon with fetticine and tomato sauce. It also had vegetables included. The service was slow but food was very tasty.

The same night I went to the restaurant for dinner the service was super slow. I ordered a Pina Colada, fried squid for the appetizer and lobster in a coconut curry sauce. It took forever for the food to come out. I finished my drink before the appetizer was even brought out. It took another 30-40 minutes for my main dish. The squid was too chewy. I believe it was overcooked. The lobster was pretty bland. Overall this place is okay but not a top choice and don't arrive hungry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

location and optic of the El Limbo Hotel is nice, but our food was not so good.
Catch of the day was a tasteless piece of fish including fishbones.

this was, overall, a disappointing dinner with my wife.
OK, it was not expensive, but I guess there are better options.
cheers

(PS: I cant rate the hotel, this rating concerns only the resto)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our Xmas dinner at the restaurant at the Hotel Limbo by the Sea even though the starter, supposedly ceviche, was just prawns with a touch of chopped onion and some sauce. The main course, Mahi Mahi with a wonderful sauce and tasty vegetables and coconut rice, was excellent as was the dessert, a crunchy caramel and lemon biscuit. One of the best meals we had in Bocas, and we had a few!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We decided to spend an extra day in Bocas (after Playa Tortuga) and chose this place based on price and close to the water taxi we needed to catch early the next morning. Bathroom was a bit tight, but the shower was roomy. Great AC after a long hot day at Starfish Beach. Ate dinner downstairs and everyone in our group (4) enjoyed what they got. We were misinformed about breakfast and had to leave before it started. We ate at the small red building across the street- delish.

Room Tip: Saw the wifi antenna on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

So this is the type of hotel that's best booked on arrival when you can negotiate the rate (which they are very amenable to). It's right in the center of Bocas town, on the water. Most of the rooms don't face the main street, so they're pretty quiet. The rooms with balconies facing the water are more expensive and worth it if they fit your budget. All rooms have flat screen TVs (with CNN, E! etc), hot water showers with good pressure, A/Cs, full length mirrors and mini fridges. There is WiFi in the lobby and rooms. Rooms are cleaned daily. The waterfront patio is one of the best ones in town.

We checked out about 10 places when we arrived into town and this was by far the best deal for what you get. We were easily able to negotiate $10 off per night and probably could have gotten an even better deal if we tried.

Yes, the breakfast is awful. I've never had suck overcooked eggs in my life and we tried both scrambled and over-easy (not easy at all) and it was pointless. The coffee is watery. The orange "juice" is basically Sunny D or something like that. For good breakfast, skip this and simply go to Johnny's Bakery down the street.

WiFi doesn't always work properly. TVs may need some adjusting. But for $65 per night that we paid, it wasn't a huge deal. We slept well, the A/C was always working, etc.

Bottom line -- good value for what you get if you can negotiate a rate.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street if you like peace and quiet. If you can stretch the budget, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Limbo in Jan.The hotel has great location in the center of Bocas town overlooking the sea. However, the service is rather poor and the staff not very friendly. On average you wait 1h to get the breakfast and the guys serving it do not look very happy doing this job. Our first room for 2 nights was quite nice with a balcony but due to the overbooking we had to change to a smaller room in the first floor for the last night. That was quite a horrible experience when my girlfriend went to a bathroom in the middle of the night and there were 3 big cockroachers waiting there. I told that reception the next morning and they did not even apologise for that. In the end the manager offered a 6!!! USD discount on the price of 75 USD per night.
Regarding the fact that we were paying 100 USD per night on our first 2 nights I would definitely expect a better service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms in the first floor as it doesnt smell good and there is a lot of noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location! Take the rooms with seaview! Breakfast is ok, staff is ok, rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.8 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#8 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Address: Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Limbo on the Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.