We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Seclusion with a Few Things to Keep in Mind...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Save Saved
You added Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Isla Colon
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Seclusion with a Few Things to Keep in Mind...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Punta Caracol for the first part of our honeymoon - 5 days, 4 nights. It's important for us to give a balanced review so I will give you the pros and cons of Punta Caracol:

Cons:
-it is in the middle of nowhere (that's the point) so transportation to other islands is a little tricky
-the other reviewers that said the coral is dead is somewhat accurate - there are still quite a few varieties of fish and some living coral, but it's not like people are going to Punta Caracol for the snorkeling...they're going for the serenity
-it's a bit overpriced - there are several people that have complained that it's not the luxurious huts like Bora Bora, and they aren't meant to be...this is an eco-friendly hotel and so expectations should be adjusted accordingly
-activities they offer are expensive - we spent about 4-5 hours looking for sloths, swimming at Starfish Beach & eating lunch at Bocas del Drago and split the cost with another 2 women and it still cost us $80 for basically a boat ride (a neat one, but still overpriced)
-lots of tiny little lizards - because there are no glass windows or screens nature is allowed to come and go as it wants. the lizards did not bother my husband, but i was a bit uncomfortable with them. they won't bite and they're actually quite cute...but they are everywhere!
-there are little bugs (super tiny) that did bite me up pretty bad, but it was tolerable

Pros:
-staff was very nice and accommodating - my husband wanted a cigar and because we were so secluded one of the guys on staff went out of his way to get him a cigar from the mainland before we left
-it's quiet and secluded...perfect for recovering from a having a large wedding
-the food was very good - breakfast and 3-course dinner are included
-drinks weren't anymore expensive than they were at the resort we stayed at on the mainland
-snorkeling equipment and kayaks included
-as long as you planned the day before they were more than happy to take you to Bocas Town
-because it was low season the most guests (including us) at one time was 10 and when we were leaving there were only 4 guests left

Overall Analysis:
-it reminded me a lot of really, really fancy camping - being one with the outdoors, seclusion, being able to hear your neighbors faintly, bugs, outdoor activities all while being served fantastic meals, sleeping in a bed and being able to look out over the ocean. Just keep in mind that this place isn't meant to be the St. Regis...as long as you go into it with the right expectations you will enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    46
    19
    22
    13
See reviews for
25
125
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. Excellent accommodations with 7-star service. Both, Sunrise and Sunsets were amazing. Loved having access to the water just below our deck to swim at anytime. Food was delicious and the staff were unbelievable accommodating. Excellent value for you buck since Snorkeling and Kayaking in addition to breakfast, tea time snacks and dinner were included. Highly recommend for Honeymooners. We enjoyed our stay here tremendously and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel worth the price. It is away from tourist boats and you can relax in your room or swim around the small bay. The food was excellent and you can buy fresh fish from fishermen as they drive back to town. The staff was excellent especially Bum Bum. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Bocas.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were blown away by this place. After reading the reviews here we were a little worried that we overpaid, but it was worth every penny.

This was top shelf service, something hard to find in Central America. The staff was top notch, the food was excellent. The place itself is a true spectacle...tourist boats would slow down to allow people to take pictures of this amazing place. There are only 9 cabanas to rent, so you get the VIP treatment from the staff along with not having to run into other guests.

My wife's birthday was over the weekend we stayed. We told no one but the boat driver who took us to the resort. On the night of her birthday they brought out a cake and sang to her. Unforgettable experience...highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second trip to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge even topped our first. From the time that you step off of the water taxi and onto the decking of Punta Caracol your mouth hangs open. It is the most relaxing, tranquil location. I brought my sister for her Birthday celebration last February and we returned with her husband this year for 6 days. The Staff is truly outstanding from Reception thank you Pilar and Sissi organizing any excursions you might want to do to Stephanie in the Dining room who along with an amazing staff makes every meal so pleasurable. The food is outstanding, The accommodations which we stayed in the Master Suite this year is so tastefully decorated, clean and Location, Location, Location you step off of your personal deck into the biggest fish bowl of clear caribbean water with an abundance of fish. Will be back for sure again Next Year.

Room Tip: All of the Suites are perfect but the Master is amazing if you need more bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The photos of Punta Caracol don't lie. This is a magnificent spot - the water is blue and clear,
the sunsets are amazing. We even saw a dolphin, every so briefly, right in front of our cabin. 5-stars for location. But for the price the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.
Breakfast - unless you are an egg eater, will leave you wondering if there isn't anything better than cocoa puffs available in Panama. The fruit offering was large but after two days, boring.
Tea time would leave the British wishing they hadn't invented it. Vanilla Oreos, Bugles and
Doritos. Really, at this price? Dinners were fine, but again, is fine enough at this price.
The owners and staff are wonderful - the concept of an eco friendly hotel inviting. But it would be so easy to make this a multi star hotel with a small investment in the food, a pro chef, or even a visit from a nutritionist who could match care for the environment with care for the guests health.
With all this in mind, its a beautiful stop over for two days - max - while exploring this part of Panama.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are beautifully located, the higher numbers are larger, and the last one the quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was pure heaven on earth: the cabin, the food, the staff. Everything was a dream. I love this place!
The only down side was the weather, if it rains you are stuck in the cabin and there is not much to do, but if not, you have your own kayak in your back patio, your privacy and excellent offer of excursions and day trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Address: Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Caracol Acqua Hotel Isla Colon
Punta Caracol Acqua Resort
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.