We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Location - you've got to see the Leatherback Turtles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bluff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Bluff Lodge
Save
You added Playa Bluff Lodge to your Saves list
Playa Bluff Road, Isla Colon 1000 AB, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Location - you've got to see the Leatherback Turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The lodge is located a long way out out of the town, which wasn't a problem for us. We stayed in room 2, which was a little gloomy, but as we didn't spend much time there was ok.
We did see the sloths and red eyed green tree frogs in the garden but no snakes (to my sons dismay).
The lodge bar food was some of the best we had in Panama, the Thai curries were outstanding.
We got to see a leatherback turtle laying eggs on our third night, which was good, the amazing thing was watching her slip back into the waves, something which has happened since the time of the dinosaurs.
For the adventurous the cave on Bastimentos was good fun.
Our kids really enjoyed playing with the girls and generally had a great time on the pool table.
Be careful on the quad bikes!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    34
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
112
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I have been to Bocas del Toro many times, but we have always stayed in Bocas Town. Now that much of the road has been paved, we decided to do something a little different and go further out into the jungle. Playa Bluff Lodge provides the ultimate combination of beach and jungle, as well as an delightful balance of serenity and community. Reinier and Helene, are extremely accomodating. Where else in a single day can one see an 800 pound leatherback sea turtle lay eggs on the beach, enjoy live music and experience the scene at the adjacent lounge (great food--especially the Thai curry), and then break bread with fellow global travelers while monkeys and sloths are hanging out overhead? Bocas is a very special place and Playa Bluff Lodge is a marvelous way to enhance the overall Bocas experience. Go. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A great combination of a beautiful beach and a jungle.
The owners Reiner and Helena built a boutique b&b that gives a unique experience off living in the jungle.
The rooms are very elegant with a peaceful vibe and jungle view.
The service was more than expected and we really felt like Being at home.
It's really peace of haven and I recommend allot to stay in this place.
Thank you guys for the wonderful holiday you made us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in this comfortable lodge for 5 nights at the end of February 2013.
When we arrived, the friendly Dutch owners arranged transport from the airport.
In front of the main house is a swimming pool with fresh, very clean water, a nice restaurant and then a gorgeous and quiet beach. Behind the house is a beautiful garden with many different birds and sloths in the trees and frogs on the ground and in the pond. We even found opossums and an armadillo.
We had a comfortable and clean room with a separate bathroom with hot and cold water.
Breakfast was served on a covered patio in the garden (ask for the omelet 'Helene').
The staff in the bar/restaurant was very friendly and even organised a day trip on a small boat for us.
On Sunday afternoons from 2 to 6 pm a local band is invited to the bar. The perfect opportunity to meet other people staying on the island and learn from their 'adventures'. Even on Sunday afternoons the garden behind the house and the beach remain extremely quiet.
We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return if we get the change.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just came back from this beautiful bed and breakfast at Bocas del Toro, Panama.
My family of 4 had a fabulous time here. The rooms are very clean and so are the bathrooms. The lighting in the rooms is dark because they have solar power. The gardens we had breakfast in are gorgeous, with sloths hanging in the trees and colorful frogs jumping around! There's a swimming pool in front of the rooms and the kids loved it. There is also a restaurant/bar on the property with great food and drinks, reasonably priced! No need to go into town for lunch or dinner if you don't want to. The staff in the restaurant is super friendly and also very helpful in finding great things to do for everyone. Even organizing it for us! In the afternoon we would take our drinks and sit on the beach, looking at the waves and sunset...We didn't see the leatherback turtles since we were very early in the season, so we have to come back for that!
The Dutch owners of the bed and breakfast are very welcoming and warm people. We really want to go back soon if we get the chance!

Room Tip: We had room number 5, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

it's been 2 months since we stayed and the glow of Plya Bluff Lodge has not left .Looking back at our pictures shows us with very contend with happy smiles and that says it all. Great service at the lodge and the lounge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was at the Lodge, last year with my 10 years old son, and all was perfect.
Confortable rooms, excelent food, a lot of nature and the kindness of Helene and Reinier made our holidays awesome. Thanks, from Argentina, and be sure that I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Bluff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Bluff Lodge

Address: Playa Bluff Road, Isla Colon 1000 AB, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool!!! Holiday in the tropics next to pristine beach and jungle. Beachwalk for hours without meeting people. Huge 600 kilo leatherback turtles lay eggs in front of your room. Explore the rain forest and wildlife. Botanical garden with birds, monkeys, poison dart frogs, sloths and many more animals. Large comfortable rooms with private bathrooms and terraces. Pick up service. Just opened lounge restaurant right at the beach, Playa Bluff Lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Bluff Hotel Bocas Town
Playa Bluff Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bluff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.