We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild, beautiful and wonderful for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bluff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Bluff Lodge
Save
You added Playa Bluff Lodge to your Saves list
Playa Bluff Road, Isla Colon 1000 AB, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Curacao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wild, beautiful and wonderful for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent 6 days at playa bluff this summer with our seven year old son who abolutely loved the owners daughters and the back garden full of frogs, sloths and other wonderful creatures. The resaturant was great and cosy, the beach wild, beautiful and empty and the lodge owners Heleen & Rainier, and restaurant holders Erwin a& Hilde friendly, warm, professional, helpful and full of very interesting stories about the Bocas and its wild life. Our boat trip through the bocas topped everything with wonderful weather, stunning views of the cloud forests, mangroves, amazing snorkelingfields, sloth islands, dolphins etc And to make matters even better we saw tens of baby hawkbeak turtles clamber to the ocean when we got back! . We loved our stay, want to come back and recommend it highly tio everyone with kids !!!

Maya, Martin and Siddhart

Room Tip: really wonderful for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    34
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
112
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have to admit we were nervous as the taxi drove us out to the lodge, it's quite a drive from Bocas Town (20-25 minutes). We quickly grew to love our secluded beach hotel. The room was clean with a nice shower, a safe for valuables, and it's inspiring that the whole place is run with solar power and rain water. It's fun to see the frogs and snakes in the garden and look for parrots in the trees. The beach directly in front of the hotel is scenic, but the real gem is an hour's walk down the road. Just ask the owners, they will direct you. The restaurant in front of the lodge has a talkative owner and serves average food. Ask him about the sea turtles. Tip: the nachos are big and can serve 2 people.

A little attention to detail would really make this place excellent (putting plates on light switches, repairing the lock on guest room doors, etc.)

Overall we loved it here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful beach escape. Forget Bocas Town, its nothing great, you will be glad you are staying way out at Playa Bluff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had three fun packed days and nights at Playa Bluff Lodge. We were two couples and we needed nore time there just to sit and chill at the lodge. We used their quads to run surf dawn patrol and then later explore the farther reaches of the remote resort. The hosts were more than helpful getting us into town with them or with special taxi service. The bar/restaurant out front was beyond my dreams of a tropical bar. Just ask and they deliver. Where else can you sit in a hammock (all day) and order a cold beer(s)!

Note 1: This is not the Holiday Inn at a strip mall in the USA. This is a remote tropical Bed and Breakfast with an "eco-agenda" in a foreign country with a tropical climate. It is luxurious if you are looking for a one of a kind TROPICAL vacation.

Note 2: The indigenous people of Panama were protesting and rioting (justifiably) while we were there and the borders were dicey. The owners of Playa Bluff Lodge went far beyond their requirement in keeping us posted and abreast of the situation and at great effort found options for us to get home safely.

The only dificulty you will have at Playa Bluff Lodge is leaving. You are going to want to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and had a great time with 2 kids ages 8 & 6. The B&B is very comfortable and clean. It's an eco-lodge at the end of the road. The hosts are very interesting and offer great advice on things to do. Very fun. Great place for families.

We did the following: Day 1 took the four wheelers up into the jungle and went exploring and swimming. Day 2 boated to the otter islands with a private guide for a full day of snorkeling. Day 3 hung out at the lodge and Bluff beach. Day 4 jungle tour and then fly out of Bocas. We also saw the nesting turtles at 1 am one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent place to stay! What a heavenly setting: the Playa bluff Lodge lies in between a gorgeous beach and a beautifull garden full of wild animals to see nearby, which is very nice for the kids. It's only a twenty minute drive to the town of Bocas where some excellent excursions start. Our family room was very clean and spacious. There 's a lovely bar & restaurant in front with very nice cocktails; you should definitely try the nachos! No mosquitos in february. And last but not least: it is very child-friendly. As our daughters have the same age as their very nice girls, they had a wonderfull time at the playground, the trampoline, the beach. Excellent hospitality!! Thanks a lot Helene & Reiner. We miss it ....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

awesome place. very clean. the owners are very very kind and helpfull. The lodge is on a very desert a beautiful beach. You can do a lot of activities. You can go to the beach or walk in the jungle. It is a very refreshing place. It's small and cosy. Everyone is very friendly. The restaurant is very nice and the food is delicious.

negative: 10 to 15 dollars taxi ride to go in town. call the taxi 20 minutes before.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

we arrived late into Bocas and were already worried with where to stay as we wanted to head out of the centre of town (fun town but chaos everywhere) we had planned to stay in La Coralina only to find it had recently closed so we ended up in a hostel! not great!!

I was on the internet all night and at 6.30am in the morning I was ringing the lodge and they planned our rescue asap!! picked us up and took us to the quiet and relaxing lodge with the dream playa bluff beach on the front door! Helena, Reiner and Erwin with his wife make a wonderful dream team with lovely accommodation and delicious restaurant! they want you to enjoy your time share there jungle tales and set you on your own amazing adventures!

not only was it a quiet and amazing retreat we had sloths, frogs and monkeys out the back whilst dolphins and leatherback turtles nesting at night out the front!!

My favourite memory was watching the leatherback turtle nesting on the beach the lodge woke us up to let us know there was one nesting and did we want to see it! Of course we did and it was magical!! a memory never to be forgotten!

We hired the quads from Reiner and were given secret maps to lagoons and snorkelling adventures, we listened to the stories of Erwin at night over dinner and beers and when feeling brave would head in to town.

This place is a must stay!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Bluff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Bluff Lodge

Address: Playa Bluff Road, Isla Colon 1000 AB, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool!!! Holiday in the tropics next to pristine beach and jungle. Beachwalk for hours without meeting people. Huge 600 kilo leatherback turtles lay eggs in front of your room. Explore the rain forest and wildlife. Botanical garden with birds, monkeys, poison dart frogs, sloths and many more animals. Large comfortable rooms with private bathrooms and terraces. Pick up service. Just opened lounge restaurant right at the beach, Playa Bluff Lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Bluff Hotel Bocas Town
Playa Bluff Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bluff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.