We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A excellent option for a couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

Hotel Los Delfines
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Delfines to your Saves list
Hotel Los Delfines
Calle 5 Avenida G, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Isla Colon
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A excellent option for a couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After spending one night at one dirty hostel at Bocas, we were looking for a nicer room for the other night. The day before we went to the restarunt beneath Los Delfines and the food was great and the people were very nice. The room is very big, clean and it has the facilities of a higher budget hotel. If you're coming to Bocas to spend your Honeymoon or a relaxed vacation - This place will be an excellent option for you. p.s. - It includes breakfast.

Room Tip: Try their Pizza - it's the best one you can find in Bocas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Window/patio area was more like a crawl space. Rooms were clean but we had water issues from day one of our arrival. We found the staff to be helpful....when we could find them. Wouldn't recommend unless some managerial changes were made. Cleanliness is a plus though! And had a very central location - this might be a negative or a positive depending on what you're looking for.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this hotel, which also goes by the name of Hotel Arco Iris, for the new years holiday.

$65 a night sounded steep but we didn't have much of a choice due to our last minute (1 month before) efforts to find a place in Bocas.

The room, though clean, is very, very basic. I've traveled many places in latin america and this sort of room is pretty much 1 step up from a hostel and is typically $15, $20 a night at the most,

Location is good, very near the main drag on Isla Colon however, one should know, there is a youth hostel across the street with loud club music at night.

The staff was nice and friendly, I mean, aside from completely ripping us off by charging us a 3-star rate for a 1-star accommodation. If it is the last available room on the island, go for it but the price is a complete rip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Too much expensive for what you got. The room did not have great view, no balcony, very simple for 75$. We met a lot of backapacker who paid 10$-20$ by night for the same quality. Ths staff are always smiling..very nice with us. The breakfast was ok...but sorry..that's too expensive !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour we booked with Gecko Trail. We arrived at this hotel and got that sinking feeling when we were greeted on the patio by 20 or so kids around the age of 16 sitting on chairs with their stereos blasting and drinks everywhere. This was about 5pm. The situation got worse when around 10 pm or so the hotel across the street starting blasting the music out of their in-house bar. Things got even worse when the kids boozing it up at the Hotel Delphines decided to merge with the kids at the bar across the street - so it turned into one big 16 year old street party. I am not trying to sound old and cranky and still like to hit the bars myself from time to time, I just dont like my hotel being part of one.
Even with ear plugs in the noise with deafening in our room. We left at 1 am to stay at a different hotel and were not given a refund after complaining to the management. Actually when we went to complain to the owner, the security guard (actually security kid) told us he wasn't on the property and couldn't be found. But when we said we cant leave without our passports (which were in the safe),, the owner magically appeared out of hotel office.
Unfortunately this wasnt the end of our problems there. Because we were with a tour package the owner of the hotel was also responsible for our transportation back to Costa Rica. I went back the following day to speak to him about this and it was arranged to pick us up at 11:45 am the next day at the new hotel we were staying at. Of course 11:45am comes around and there is no bus for us. Long story short was that he rebooked us on the 2:45pm bus instead, but didnt bother to tell us and assumed we would spend 3 extra hours of our vacations waiting in a hotel lobby. I walked over to the Delphines to confront him on this and he explained to me that the bus in Costa Rica had broken down and this was the next available bus. Little did he know that I had just spoken to the bus company prior to talking with him, who told me that infact our reservations were changed by the owner of the Delphines to the later shuttle bus because there was another couple at his hotel leaving tat that time and it would end up saving the owner money to do this.

Anyways I can go on for a while about what a rat this guy is. There are plenty of other examples of what he is like. The simple choice is to avoid this place. There are so many better options available in Bocas (unless you are 16 and looking to party until 6 am). And because Bocas is an isolated island, where you stay and who you stay with does matter alot more than in other situations, because the last boat taxi out of Bocas... is the last chance to get out of Bocas.

Oh and as for the rooms - they were by far the worst out of the 4 different hotels we stayed at on this trip....but that is another story.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My fiancee and I just came back from 9 days in panama, and 3 nights of bad sleep at Hotel Los Delfines on Isla Colon in Bocas del Toro. We arrived on the water taxi from Almirante and walked to the Hotel, where we got a room without a reservation (there didn't seem to be a lot of people staying there, perhaps as it is rainy season, but the town was still fairly busy). The room itself was fine. It wasn't very big but it was clean, with a rustic charm. One queen bed (hard mattress, thin pillows) and a single bed as well, with a desk and bedside table and an area for hanging clothes. A very small tv with cable or satellite channels (a few in English), an air conditioner and private bathroom with shower. A very good value for the price.

However, according to the hotel, there was mandatory government fumigation for bugs ("ants" they said). While we did see these fumigators later, working at numerous businesses in town during our 3 days in Bocas, we were not given any warning or advance notice of this at check-in. On Monday, our first day, we were woken up and told we had to immediately get out of the room for fumigation. This was the first we heard of it. We dressed and left to get lunch. The fumigator had an extremely loud leaf-blower type machine which dispensed a thick fog in the room and all around the hotel. When we returned to the room roughly 6 hours later, the scent of the fumigation still reeked everywhere. And it wasn't possible to open the windows.

We were willing to overlook this as we were still happy customers overall. On Wednesday morning however, at approximately 9:15, we were again woken up by the same hotel employee and told to get out of the room for more fumigation. I told him in English, and my very limited broken spanish, that he had to wait a minute while we woke up and got dressed. I closed and locked the door and woke up my fiancee. Not 30 seconds later, the hotel employee used his key to open up the door and barged in while we were still dressing and my fiancee was only semi-clothed! I yelled at him and told him to leave the room and closed the door on him. As she finished dressing, he again tried to come in the room! I blocked the door and got involved in a shouting match with him. The other employee, Eduardo, came up from reception and got the incredibly rude man to stop and wait. We left a minute later and spoke to Eduardo at reception. We complained that this was the second time in 3 days that we were woken up, without any prior notice, and told to leave the room for fumigation. Furthermore, the smell of the toxic poison pervades the room and any clothes left in it for at least 12-24 hours. And that the hotel employee who was waking up guests and telling them to get out of the room is the rudest person I have ever dealt with at any hotel. Eduardo at reception explained the government fumigation is mandatory, and they don't know when it will happen. He also said the rude hotel employee didn't speak English, and that he had given us prior warning. I explained we had no advance warning whatsoever and that it's outrageous to wake all your paying customers up 2 out of 3 days to fog for bugs. The room is unliveable after that until the evening! He insisted the rude guy gave me advance warning, therefore implying that I was lying, and maintained his amused smirk. I asked for a manager and was told to come back in the evening. But after 3 attempts to speak to or find this manager, we were told he (Jorge?) wasn't there. No satisfaction for our complaint, and no compensation for our troubles. Rudest hotel ever!!! And seemingly, no management whatsoever. (That being said, at least we never saw any bugs in the room while we were there.) Do not stay here. We have travelled many places in Europe and Southeast Asia, and we have stayed in some extremely bare bones accommodation (especially in Asia), but we have never dealt with such bad treatment as Hotel Los Delfines. (There was one nice guy who was helpful, but he was far from a manager.)

Nevertheless, Bocas del Toro is a nice place to spend a few days. I'd recommend the organic chocolate at Super Gourmet and Starfish Coffee. And the food is great at Lili's (breakfast/lunch) and El Pecado (dinner). They're both a must! And we did a couple of dives with Pirate Scuba down the street from the hotel. The diving itself wasn't great (you're better off going to Coiba National Park by Santa Catalina on the Pacific side of Panama), but the staff at Pirate Scuba were good. Professional but laid back. Nice small operation based out of Bastimentos. Great time in Panama, with the exception of this hotel. (side note: there is a restaurant but I never saw anyone eating there; there's also allegedly wireless internet, as we were given a password for it, but it was never working while we were there. caveat emptor.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Spent 3 nights with a buddy of mine in Bocas del Toro...we arrived in town and wandered around trying to find a place that had rooms with two separate beds. The first few places we checked out didn't have rooms with two beds or they were full, and then we came upon Los Delfines.

$55 for a room with two beds! Attached bathroom with hot water, TV with satellite reception, and air conditioning. In our first room, we also had a refrigerator. In our second room, we lost the refrigerator but we got a nice balcony instead.

Breakfast is included in the $55 - and it's pretty good all things considered. Banana pancakes, eggs, pineapple and the like.

A great place for a great price in Bocas!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Address: Calle 5 Avenida G, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 13 comfortable, clean and nice rooms with A/C, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV and wireless internet at the public areas of the hotel.Our staff will make sure that you are going to have the best vacations ever in a warm welcoming atmosphere giving you everything you need to enjoy as much as possible this beautiful pristine paradise of Bocas del Toro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Delfines Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Delfines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.