We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most lovely afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden

Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden
1/2 mile from Bocas Town | 200m past Smithsonian Institute, Isla Colon, Panama
507 757 9461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Isla Colon
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Finca Los Monos (the Monkey Farm) is situated on Isla Colon, the largest island in the enchanting archipelago of Bocas del Toro, , Panama. The islands enjoy a steady temperature of between 80 and 93 degrees (27 C – 33 C) all year round, with adequate rainfall to keep them lush and humid. Over the years we have created a magnificent garden with large collections of heleconias, gingers, palms, flowering trees, fruit trees, spices and ornamentals. New plants are constantly being added to the property.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A most lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a most lovely afternoon on our walk through the botanical gardens. The walk was a little over 2 hours. It was slow so that we could stop, look and talk about the gorgeous plants we saw. Our guide, Lynn (the owner of the property) is a cornucopia of information about plants and animals in Bocas and had so many interesting stories about the creation and ongoing development of the gardens. There were so many exquisite flowers that I couldn't stop taking photos. In addition to many varieties of plants, we saw a sloth, several colorful birds and a specimen rhinoceros beetle. At the end of the tour, we were given coconut water in coconuts to drink. We were also given Lynn's thirst quenching cold lemongrass tea. There are bathrooms at the beginning and end of the tour and at various places along the way. Be sure to bring binoculars and a camera and wear comfortable walking shoes. The taxi ride from town was $1 per person each way. The tour costs $15 per person.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be sure to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you only stay in Bocas Town you are missing out on so much that Isla Colon has to offer! This garden is a quick trip from town and will show you all of the wonderful flowers, palms and trees that grow so abundantly in Bocas. Lynn may be an amateur botanist but she is very knowledgable. She worked the land herself so she has first-hand knowledge of the plants and she shares her knowledge freely. So many beautiful flowers! An idyllic garden and a wonderful way to spend a few hours. I highly recommend it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A nearly 3 hr tour of this 14 acre bird, monkey and botanical wonderland led by owner Lynn Gillingham, whose passion and humor are a joy. An amateur naturalist and photographer's dream. Don't miss it. Limited tour days and times, so call or email her before you go.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful visit that should be on every visit to Bocas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This was a very special tour of Lin's really wonderful "garden". The other reviews tell you much of the delights to experience. The trees, flowers, birds, monkeys, butterflies that we saw on our visit made us want to return to this paradise and just enjoy the peace and beauty. No wonder young couples want to get married there. This has been one of the highlights of our visit to Boca/Bastimentos. Thank you Lin for creating this lovely place. I am sure the kids you have been teaching about biodiversity here will always remember your love of nature and many of the do's and dont's of botany and zoology.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in Isla Colon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Lynn is a perfect host and entertained us during a long and delightful tour in her garden. Her life and story is almost as interesting as the garden. It was amazing to see so many different vegetal species, with many explanations that help to know better tropical environment. We also saw the monkeys, and a sloth high up in a tree. The tour ends with a freshly picked coconut, so yummy under the hot weather. This is definitely a go-to in Bocas Islands, but be advised that opening hours are quite scarce.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden also viewed

Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden to your Saves list