We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Bar & Grill

Buena Vista Bar & Grill
Calle Segunda, Isla Colon, Panama
+507 757-9035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 79 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Buena Vista Bar & Grill is located over the water in downtown Bocas (Isla Colon) serving drinks, starters, sandwiches, burgers, and wraps. An additional dinner menu including seafood, steaks, international fare, and house specialties is available after 5:00pm (and often earlier, just ask!). The BV has been serving up food and drinks in a laid-back atmosphere since 1997. Our outdoor seating with plenty o' ceiling fans is a great way to enjoy the gorgeous view (vista). Whether your starvin', snacky, or just plain thirsty, come check us out! Here at the BV, we do our best to give you the prompt service you deserve! The majority of our all-Panamanian staff has been with us for over nine years. By coming in , you are helping to directly support ten local families.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ok location and just ok food, but not much else to bring me back. Service was friendly. m.any better spots in town

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    45
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
David, Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had one of the best meals here that we've had in a very long time. It really was outstanding! The prices were also reasonable, and it was in a great location on the water. I would highly recommend this place!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skip this one.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Avoid this place. Having lived in Panama City, Panama for 5+ years, we were amazed at how great the service was everywhere in Bocas. The service in this town was always friendly and courteous. This was the one exception. The server was rude, as was the cashier.

The food was "just ok". The big pina colada in the pineapple was good, but overpriced. Still i understand the gimmick, and it's a fun purchase. The brownie that the every t-shirt said to try was HORRIBLE. Microwaved nonsense with some of the cheapest vanilla ice cream we've had.

Again, with so many nice restaurants on the water on Bocas, you'd do well to avoid this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Chiquita, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful sea/island view from the dock Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having traveled through Bocas del Toro for business a number of times, we have always tried to visit the Buena Vista Bar & Grill for a quick midday burger. The food and service are good, serving hearty Caribbean fare with a smile and a dash of salsa picante.

The major selling point of this restaurant is the incredible view though. Looking out over the Caribbean from a picturesque wooden dock, fish swimming through the supporting struts, is a wonderful feeling. Taking your meals out here and watching the sun set or the boats pass by is a real pleasure.

We can heartily recommend the burgers here too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went in for lunch...burger and some quesadillas. Burger was a bit mushy...quesadillas were decent. If it was dinner I'd have given two stars but for lunch it was fine..pretty cheap as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Bar & Grill also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Buena Vista Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.