We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool and the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved the pool and the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed here mid January for 5 nights and had pretty high expectations before coming. The service in connection with the booking and pre-payment was impeccable and even though we arrived at 10 am the room was ready for us when we arrived at the front desk. Since we were travelling with small kids, we had asked for a room close to the pool, and we got a room 10m from the pool. We all loved it! The room was clean, bright and with great aircondition and high quality bed linen.
We had lunch at the hotel a couple of times and loved the burger - the other courses we didn't find too exciting. Almost every evening we took a taxi to downtown Bocas which took 10 minutes and was easily arranged.
If you are a family with kids this must be the best place to stay in Bocas. It's nice and clean, the breakfast is great and even though it's a bit outside Bocas town you can still take advantage of the tours and restaurants there.

  • Liked — The pool , the beach location and cleanliness of the hotell
  • Disliked — The food was a bit boring, except for the excellent burger
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    160
    111
    54
    40
See reviews for
113
195
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Its definitely larger than the other hotels and may be the only RESORT on the island. its a little removed from town which makes it very quiet. it has all the amenities you would want - pool, bar, restaurant, grill, poolside service, gym.

I wouldn't call it a four or five star resort under the traditional expectations of what those resorts would be. but comparatively it was very nice.

The grounds were clean, the staff was very nice and professional; although they don't quite have a system down at the bar. The breakfast is pretty good and the bar menu definitely hits the spot.

The housekeeping staff, while they did mop and change the towels, make the bed and dust, they didn't pick up the dishes ever. even though we stacked them up on the table every day. Sometimes they didn't get to our room until 4;30. And the safe, wasn't attached to anything. So if you wanted to just walk out of a room with the safe you could. That said, i felt very safe.

They have a van - i don't quite understand why they don't offer up shuttle service either to town or the restaurant. They should. They should also offer shuttle service via motorboat to town. That would be a nice feature.

at the end of our stay we heard rumors that the management does not give the gratuities that are charged to every bill to the employees. If this is true it would be very disappointing and exploitive, because the staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Liked — the pool, the view from the bar
  • Disliked — the access, and the lack of a spa
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Don't go. You are better off going to Bocas Town to one of the real vernacular architecture hotels instead of this watered-down imitation of caribbean architecture.
At Playa Tortuga service is non-existent, and the menu is monotonous.
Some highlights of our stay there: we had to walk from the dok to the front desk carrying all our luggage ourselves in plain sight of the hotel staff; we booked a junior suite and found that all the suites are on a third floor with no elevators and the sofabed with a 2-inch thick mattress, when we complained we were changed to a regular room and not given credit for the downgrade; housekeeping never made the room before 4:00 PM; the same beer bottles and used plastic glasses were sitting on the beach furniture for 4 days; my daughter's cellphone was stolen from the luggage room while our bags were in custody; we waited for one and a half hours for three sandwiches, etc.
Need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We loved this new hotel. From the moment we were greeted to the moment we left, we were treated courteously and with a smile. And not only that, but the grounds are beautiful and well maintained, and our room (two double beds) was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Our room was on the first floor, and opened onto a lawn and the little beach on which the property is located. There are kayaks at your disposal. The pool area is also very nice. Breakfast buffet is very good. The food at the bar restaurant (over the water) was also very good compared to most of the meals we ate in Bocas del Toro. Also very easy to get to/from the town, only $2 per person by taxi. If you need your creature comforts and like excellent service, stay at Playa Tortuga.

  • Liked — Warm and attentive staff; clean, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Caribbean Beach Resort on the crystal clear waters of Bocas del Toro, Panama.Playa Tortuga offers 117 stylish room accommodations, each with a balcony and spectacular ocean view. Guests may choose from standard rooms, junior suites and large grand suites, all offering a contemporary décor, modern amenities and a soothing tropical atmosphere.Relax in the hotel’s sea view pool, or sunbathe in our water mirrors while enjoying your favorite beverage from the nearby bar area. Little ones will enjoy the children’s pool. Other modern and convenient amenities include free WIFI and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring a private massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tortuga Hotel And Beach Resort
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Isla Colon
Playa Tortuga Resort Beach
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.