We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this one if you can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Isla Colon
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skip this one if you can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Playa Tortuga has a nice clean pool and outdoor area that are great for relaxing, and the rooms are well-maintained. Despite this, some of the staff members are extremely rude -- mostly the staff that appeared to have management positions. For example, we had to change rooms from the first floor to the third floor during our stay (which was a change for the better I should say), but no one even offered to help us move our luggage, and there is no elevator on the property. We lugged two large suitcases and two stuffed backpacks up two floors while the staff members passed us by on the stairs. I guess I just assumed that we would have great service and someone to at least help us with our bags, being that we paid a hefty price to stay at a "resort." Also, the food is BAD....do not eat at the hotel unless absolutely necessary. The complimentary breakfast is mediocre, but the food at the restaurant is disgusting and expensive. I would recommend staying at one of the waterfront hotels in Bocas Town instead of Playa Tortuga. I think the staff and hotel owners are more friendly, and you'll be right in town, as opposed to having to take a cab into the central area everyday. Overall, don't stay here if you can help it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    135
    93
    47
    33
See reviews for
99
156
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were very pleased by the size of our Junior Suite, the balcony and beautiful view overlooking the beach. The room was clean, the king sized bed very comfortable. The American style breakfast was a bit disappointing (we would have preferred regional offerings and some fresh local produce, but a lot of people might prefer the American offerings) but we found a great restaurant in town that had great dinner fare.
We booked a private snorkeling expedition for two for $95.00. 4 hours on a large-ish touring boat. The Jamacan captain didn't speak much English and therefore couldn't articulate a lot of what we were seeing (I still wonder about a wreaked ship we drove around) but took us to some great snorkeling spots and was willing to do whatever we wanted. We would have loved it if our excursion advisor from the hotel had told us there were rustic thatched restaurants on the water where we were going where we could have stopped and had lunch or a drink, had we taken cash for such a thing (no credit cards accepted... very rural).
On day 2, we arranged a surf lesson outing. It was rainy, but warm, and we were only there for 3 days. We waited for 45 minutes past pick up time before going back into the hotel to ask where our ride was. The boat arrived 15 minutes later, the driver explaining that he figured we wanted to cancel since it was drizzling. Kind of a non-issue, if you are planning on getting wet anyway! The lesson was at a beautiful little cluster of huts on risers, and the 3 hour lesson more than adequate.
The over-the-water bar at the hotel provided plenty of ambience; a little light on culinary creativity and a bit pricey compared to what else the island had to offer, but was good enough, factoring in the convenience and view.
I didn't see any of the $300.00+ resorts in the area, but we felt this lovely place was a very good value. We would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, on the top floor. We were happy we hadn't booked a room overlooking the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if visiting Boca town. It is a 5 minute cab ride from town and one gets to enjoy a beautiful pool and quietness. I would love to come here and train the staff on waiting tables. I thought everyone was very pleasant, however, I was not impressed with all of the empty drink glasses left out by the pool area. There was a waiter serving drinks, but he would never take any of the empty glasses. I also notice the wait staff of 4 or more congregated together rather than serving and selling. The room was comfortable and clean and we had a great view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in Bocas Del Toro for five days. When I first arrived at the hotel I thought it was okay. The lobby, pool and beach areas were clean and inviting. The room was roomy with a comfortable bed.

Even though the salt air has always been good for my breathing; I'm asthmatic, staying in the hotel wasn't. There was mold on the curtains and if the ac stayed on for too long my asthma would act up. If the curtains and ac was ever cleaned, it's been a very long time since.

But on a better note. The staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We showed up at Playa Tortuga last week without reservations and were told by reception that they were full. The only room available was the Presidential Suite for $600. We asked if they could find another hotel for us nearby but were told that the entire island was booked. So we took the suite. After checking in we discovered the hotel was nearly empty, and that we'd been scammed. Bad place. Do not patronize!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We picked this hotel be because it had fairly good reviews but I was disgusted. I am a very minimal person but these room were so filthy. The baseboards and door were covered in brown gunk, the lamps were stained as well as the curtains. The base of the lamps were even rusty. Won't even get into the hair in the bathroom. Not pleased, won't go back. The only good thing that I noticed was there were no bed bugs. P.S. the websites photos are very deceiving.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the lobby, very noisy otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Playa Tortuga Resort is a good example of why a large, motel-like resort should never have been built on Isla Colon. While guests may want to stay at the only so-called "full service resort" on Isla Colon, beware of what you wish for. Let's face it--you are better off choosing between the hotels in Bocas Town (if you are here to party and don't mind the noise and wild night atmosphere) or in one of several quieter, bed and breakfast and villa properties up the road from the Tortuga in the Bluff Beach area.

From the time we were banded with our plastic wristband at the Tortuga, we had a sinking feeling we had made a very bad mistake. Our room on the bottom floor (the floor nearest to the sewage treatment facility) smelled pretty rank and when one of the local gardeners revved up his weedwacker and blew grass and dirt all over the terrace while we sat admiring the limited beach view, we just smiled because you can't make this stuff up. The limited beach view is a function of the rather limited beach (about 50 feet of not very appealing dirty beachfront) and this is a real pity because just up the road there is 8 kms. of some of the nicest beach you will every experience (separated by a pot-holed road that insulates it from the squalor of the Tortuga area).

We had planned a boat trip from the Tortuga the next day, so we still felt committed and we went to find the activities desk to see about when we should be ready the next morning. Well, finding the activities desk was easy enough, but finding the activities dude Maurizio was another matter. Maurizio is a friendly kind of guy who really enjoys his lunch breaks, coffee breaks, and just about everything about his job. The problem is that he (and the hotel management) are just not very good at it. Yes, they had lost our reservation for the boat trip, and yes, they recommended that we call our tour operator to see what had gone amiss. Well, our tour operator did manage to straighten things out with a few phone calls, but not so much as a "sorry for the inconvenience" from Maurizio or the hotel management.

Before you dismiss this review, let me say that we are not extremely picky or unreasonable, but we do like people to care about their guests and to try to do their jobs in a friendly and reasonably effective way. This only the second negative review I have posted on TripAdvisor in over 8 years.

So, we headed out to lunch at the pier on the property for a forgettable meal and wondered what to do next. We fired up TripAdvisor and found a number of great options on the island, including the Bluff Beach Retreat where we secured a room for (amazingly) about the same price.

When I went back to the desk to check out hours after we had checked in, the young man at the desk somehow didn't seem to be very surprised, although he did say that he had a message that he had neglected to give me earlier and he seemed pretty busy with a few other urgent concerns. No one from the hotel management inquired as to why we were leaving. It was Carnaval week, so occupancy was good, so why bother?

From then on, we were about 20 minutes away from Paradise up the beach at the Beach Bluff Retreat and we didn't look back. (I am posting a photo of the beach just up the road from the Playa Tortuga to give you a sense of what you are missing.)

Room Tip: Try to find a room not too close to the sewage treatment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Caribbean Beach Resort on the crystal clear waters of Bocas del Toro, Panama.Playa Tortuga offers 117 stylish room accommodations, each with a balcony and spectacular ocean view. Guests may choose from standard rooms, junior suites and large grand suites, all offering a contemporary décor, modern amenities and a soothing tropical atmosphere.Relax in the hotel’s sea view pool, or sunbathe in our water mirrors while enjoying your favorite beverage from the nearby bar area. Little ones will enjoy the children’s pool. Other modern and convenient amenities include free WIFI and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring a private massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tortuga Hotel And Beach Resort
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Isla Colon
Playa Tortuga Resort Beach
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.