We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best in the island, it is not in the center, very clean, great service
Breakfast is include and plenty the barand restaurant has great food
Best rooms 103, 104
Great shuttle bus to town free
Kayak free
And the prices for tours are the same as the ones on town with the benefit that the boat will pick and leave you in the hotel
We went with our kids and my fathers in law a very family friendly hotel

Room Tip: Ac is a little noisy and walls are thin But believe me the tile floor and small details are nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Machado, Director of Operations at Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ale C,

Thanks for your enthusiastic comments about your family experience at Playa Tortuga Hotel and Beach Resort!

We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the Baulas restaurant service, our clean rooms with balcony and ocean view, and complimentary Kayak. .

Thanks also for your positive comments about our free shuttle service. Many guests like this free amenity.

Bocas del Toro is a destination with great natural beauty and nice caring people. Our associates strive to offer warm, welcoming service. We will share with them this information.

Best regards,

Fernando Machado
Director of Operations
Playa Tortuga Hotel and Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    160
    111
    54
    40
See reviews for
113
195
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had 1 night in Playa Tortuga before transiting to Isla Popa and choose it as it was virtually the only hotel on Isla Colon with any availability. First impressions were good - we were met at the airport by a shuttle bus service and the driver gave us an amusing tour of Bocas Town on the way to the resort. Things went down hill from there. The smiley welcome we received at the airport was not replicated at check-in where staff were functional at best.

The room itself is exactly what I would expect of a reasonably priced Caribbean resort - tiled floors, sliding windows on one side, air con etc. Our air con was leaking pretty severely when we arrived, causing some flooding on the floor. We asked for someone to look at it and it was sorted, but not overly quickly. We had two relatively small double beds in the room - perfectly fine but no better.

We used the shuttle service to get into Bocas Town for dinner and again it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fariaz14
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

it is a hype the beach water is dirty, could not even take a deep but yes they do have a clean swimming pool, drinks in the bar are very expensive, there is no light on the patio to relax or read a book. they do not even have a an iron to iron your clothes, when i asked for one they said they do not have one. front desk staff is very frindly and helpful but to pay $170 per night is not worth it, you could stay at local hotel in town and enjoy the beach somewere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time I stayed here. The first visit was good. The last was not. The rooms were clean and nice and the pool area too. The service, however was deplorable. We were served a salad without lettuce. When we complained they returned after a long time with chopped lettuce to put in the dump into the now soggy salad. We booked a tour and showed up at the correct time. The tour guides were unorganized and read room numbers off a piece of crumpled paper. They was great confusion and our guide left without us. After waiting nearly and hour, I demanded they arrange another tour downtown. We only had one day for this tour. After much confusion and hassle they finally arranged for it only after I got mad and threatened to check out a day early and leave. When we checked out the next day surprise surprise...they had my room charges wrong. That was the last straw. We will never return to this hotel. They say it is a top hotel in Bocas. I say they are a nice hotel wannabe. Decent rooms but horrible service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights early in January. I knew that I did not want to stay downtown in a hotel , I wanted something much quieter and with lovely grounds as well as on the water. So we chose to stay here. I have read many of the recent reviews and I have to say I agree with many of them . The hotel really needs to step it up. From our room there was quite a septic smell at times, the staff was not very attentive at all. None were rude, but none offered great service either. This could be due to the automatic 10% gratutity added to your bill. Our room was satifactory as far as cleanliness, but I would have preferred it to be much better. Our room was spacious and everything worked very well. I believe it is time they should invest some money into this resort and do some upgrades as well. What I did like about the hotel was the grounds, they were lovely. For me this was a big plus as I didn't spend much time in our room anyways. I enjoyed the little cabana for lunch and a few drinks. I didn't enjoy the main diningroom as it was much like a cafeteria style. Bright lights, plain tables. But on the other hand in the morning when we chose to eat outside by the ocean, no one seemed to have any issue with this. I would actually have given this a 2 1/2 star but my choice is 2 or 3. For a 3 star rating I would expect it to be cleaner and better service, but again the grounds were wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This resort does not deserve a 4 star, at best a 2. First, the good. The room was clean, basic. The location is good for families and non partying guests. The pool area is very nice and spacious. Now, the rest. The service is terrible. The staff at the desk was very friendly and service oriented with the basics but when confronted with any request we had to practically threaaten. \one in our party ordered a salad for lunch at the cabana by the pool. It came with the meat, cheese and lots of tomotoes, but no lettuce. The waiter acted like that is what a salad was, but the menu clearly stated lettuce as the first ingredient. Oh so we find out that the kitchen at the cabana was out of lettuce. What are they thinking, that we wont notice that the lettuce was missing. Finally, the cook saunters out and goes to the main kitchen for lettuce. After 15 minutes, the lettuce arrives on a tray but the cook is missing so the lettuce sits there. After 20 minutes the cook returns the lettuce arrives in a separate bowl. Next day, we had booked an excursion thru the hotel. Makiing a long sotry short, we had to threaten to check out early in order for the desk to finally take us downtown and pay for an excursion for us. We would not stay here again. The management should be on hand to see that this resort is run properly. It has the bones to be a good one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at Tortuga was so bad so we actually left one day earlier than planned. The hotel didn't meet our expectations at all. And we lived at many different kind of hotels and are not very picky at all. But we didn't get what we paid for! The place is quite run down, a rusty refrigerator met us when entering the room. And everything is shabby. There was also blood on the sheets and when we pointed it out the staff didn't seem to care. (But they did change it.) The staff was without exception very rude and unfriendly. The transfer bus to and from city was almost always full. Over all, we didn't feel welcome and would never go there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Caribbean Beach Resort on the crystal clear waters of Bocas del Toro, Panama.Playa Tortuga offers 117 stylish room accommodations, each with a balcony and spectacular ocean view. Guests may choose from standard rooms, junior suites and large grand suites, all offering a contemporary décor, modern amenities and a soothing tropical atmosphere.Relax in the hotel’s sea view pool, or sunbathe in our water mirrors while enjoying your favorite beverage from the nearby bar area. Little ones will enjoy the children’s pool. Other modern and convenient amenities include free WIFI and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring a private massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tortuga Hotel And Beach Resort
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Isla Colon
Playa Tortuga Resort Beach
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.