We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bar The Reef

Restaurante Bar The Reef
Cl Tercera, Isla Colon, Panama
507 7579336
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 71 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We dock our dinghy @ the Reef, so feel compelled to give them our patronage. Excellent seafood soup, a large bowl that is a terrific value & could be an entire meal. The Reef Salad has a unique sauce that enhances the seafood flavor over salad greens as an appetizer was also yummy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality with Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was the only restaurant where my husband and I ate more than once. The seafood soup was rich and tasty, as was the seafood rice. The drinks were very good as well. We enjoyed sitting near the water and watching the boats drive past. I think this restaurant is reliably good also because we saw some solo gringos coming to eat and then leaving, as if they were regulars. Just a hunch.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OK food, a little hard to spot as a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our hotel recommended this place for authentic local food. We knew where to find it, but we would normally missed this restaurant. It's at the water, but you can't see it from the street. It's around a corner. Menu was a bit limited, which I think is usually a good thing. We had the red snapper and the steak. Nothing wrong with it, but nothing special either. Atmosphere was a bit gloomy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carribean style fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Was that what it was called? Anyway had an unbelievable sauce(little curry right?). Spent part of an afternoon there drinking rum with the owner. His sister, a lovely women, kept us with the rum and fish. I have a nagging suspicion I left there owing them more money than I had. Sorry guys if this is true because, given the hospitality I received, this would be really bad form. I watched as a young child busied herself by plucking fish right out of the bay under the dining area! My fish was caught, carried to the kitchen and then later served to me. Ah. Thanks guys.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you don't mind slow service then it's ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I agree with all the slow service comments. The location on the water is really cool and the setting is nice. My girlfriend said it was very romantic but being the guy I am didn't notice. The food was pretty good and prices reasonable but the service was very slow. What makes it worse was that there were only 10 people sitting around 3 tables so it should never take that long. We waited for our drinks our food and even our check. When I was reading the menu I kind of discovered why the service may be so bad. They automatically add a 10% gratuity but it doesn't say that in English only Spanish. So if you don't mind waiting or maybe bring your own drinks then try it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar The Reef also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Restaurante Bar The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Bar The Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.