We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kindness Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kindness Hotel to your Saves list
Kindness Hotel
No.16 Lane 209, Section 1, Jhongsing Road, Taitung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Taitung
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in Taitung. We just needed somewhere safe, clean, and easy to get to where we needed to go. This hotel turned out to be a wonderful surprise. Check-in took less than a minute, and the lady was courteous. The room was not big, but clean, modern and stylish. I particularly liked the bathroom with a big shower. The bed and bedding were very comfortable.

We arrived quite late, nearly 8:30pm. After more than 6 hours on the train, we were quite hungry. The lady told us night snack will be served on the 2nd floor cafe between 9-11pm. We never heard of any other hotel serving free night snacks and were very curious. It was a decent buffet spread with hot and cold food, fresh fruit, ice cream and cakes..... Just what we needed. Next to the front desk in the lobby is a free drink and snack bar where hotel guests can enjoy coffee, tea, juice, popcorn, and ice cream any time of the day. Again, this is something you don't often see in other hotels.

All staff were courteous. The location was perfect and quiet. I can't imagine any other hotel in Taitung beating that value. It is a great base for anyone wanting to explore Taitung.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My fiancee and I were visiting her relatives, and this hotel was recommended by her family. It was a great choice!

At first, the location was not that impressive. I rented hotel's bike (free) and rode about the city. It was easy to get around. Roads are wide and safe unlike Taipei.

Taitung reminds me of Hawaii, weather yes, but no good beach. Follow the mountains if heading north or west, follow the sea if heading south or east.

Taitung is small, clean and beautiful. The hotel emphasizes a lot of food, drink, popcorn and ice cream available anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Kindness hotel offered very accommodating staff and a clean hotel. Breakfast was delicious, and many varieties were set-out. The rooms were simple but nice, and only the A/C was hard to set due to it only being in Chinese.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to Hualian and passed Taidong for a night. 康橋大飯店 is quite new and the room is very spaceous. Best of all, it serves all-you-can-eat snake bar, midnight meal and breakfast for free. We arrived quite late (could not arrived by 6pm as advised) but our room was still reserved. After trying popcorn and ice cream, we took shower in the big bathroom which supplies with various kinds of shampoo and soaps. The midnight meal was very attractive and we took several bowls of noodle and meat ball soup. Breakfast was even better with all sorts of Western and Taiwanese food. We then checked out bikes and headed for Forest Park. The condition of bikes were much better than rental bikes and we enjoyed the ride very much.
Overall speaking, this is a high C/P value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Free pop corn, ice cream and coffee/juices in cafe 24/7. Close to markets, central park, shopping district, transports and mrt. Pretty happy with the place and services.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Kindness offered a clean (hard) bed and a small room, for a great price, which was fine for my family's needs. We had a double room which easily slept 2 adults and 2 small children. We enjoyed the air hockey table and the 24-hour coffee service. I thought the breakfast buffet offered plentiful and tasty choices, but there was either a true misunderstanding or an attempt to fleece us with the cost. I paid for the breakfasts (included in room price - very reasonable) when we checked in, but we only got one day's worth of tickets. When I asked them the next day for the next day's tickets, they tried to charge me - and not just a little, but NT $8000. I refused to pay that as it seemed too much, plus I had already paid. When my local host talked to them in Chinese the next day, they claimed it was just a misunderstanding and that they never said NT $8000 (even though that's what they typed on the calculator!) Anyway, we didn't end up with the breakfast I paid for on that one day...the other days, we were given our coupons without incident and without additional charges. We did not speak Chinese well enough to make our needs understood, and only one staff member at the Kindness spoke English well enough to truly communicate. Even simple requests like trying to get a taxi to take us to more than one place could not be accomplished. The Kindness was not as central as I had understood, which wasn't the Kindness' fault, but my own. I understood the Naruwan to be a little way out of town, but after visiting there for some shopping, I would definitely consider staying there if it's in your budget. It was not that far away and the staff spoke English well enough to truly communicate. In the end the Kindness was okay, but I would not stay there again unless there were truly no better options.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitung
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I don't think I would actually call it the 'Kindness Hotel', I was there the latter part of July, 2011. Let me start out by saying it is a nice hotel and I would stay there again but I'm new to this area of Taiwan so not sure what else is available. If I come back to Taitung, I wouldn't mind trying a different hotel. The rooms are clean and probably recently updated and you have a mini-fridge, large TV and free high-speed internet. They also provide a free laundry facility which is nice to have, although it takes about 3 hours to wash and dry a load but that is a minor inconvenience.

The cleaning staff and breakfast area staff were very friendly; the women at the front desk were not - borderline rude. I don't know if they think that they are a big deal or something, or are just racist but it made me want to find another place to stay. I don't expect anyone to kiss up to me but this was way below that. Just checking in soured my mood after dealing with their attitude.

If you ever go to Taichung, stay at the Splendor and see how differently you are treated by the front desk clerks - night and day difference.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kindness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindness Hotel

Address: No.16 Lane 209, Section 1, Jhongsing Road, Taitung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taitung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kindness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kindness Hotel Taiwan/Taitung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kindness Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.