We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and hot spring.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.200 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Luye Town, Taitung 955, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Taitung
Tainan, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice room and hot spring.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The room is big, with beautiful mountain view and nice balcony. The hot spring is also nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
38
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

(Hotel actual name would be: Luminous Hot Spring Resort & Spa Taitung)

Arrived here on the 5th November. Came because it's part of a tour package by CTC. This hotel is located at a place that is far away from the city area and thus is quite peaceful and quiet during the whole day. My family were arranged to block C, rooms 546 and 547. I got room 547 and the room was quite spacious. The room faces the mountains and it was a great view! There is also free WiFi in every rooms and it isn't shared with the whole level and the speed is fast too! The hotel itself has WiFi all over parts of the hotel too! The bathroom faces the balcony window as to accomodate the hot-spring area. There is hot-spring tubs in every rooms and the water quality wasn't that bad.
Had a floral fusion buffet at the banquet room of the hotel. The food quality overall was okay okay, except that the dish of fish isn't that well-cooked. After the dinner, around 8pm, there's this wishing-lantern(sky lantern) activity, which is a traditional activity within the Taiwanese. Wrote some wishes and hopefully they would come true haha.
Breakfast was okay too and whenever a certain food runs out, they would replace it very quickly and their service is efficient too.
Overall I would recommend this resort but the location is actually quite hard to locate.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same, they offer a quite good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Name of hotel listed in English should be as per my header. I loved the stay here! Service was ok, room for improvement definitely as staff were not as friendly as those from Taipei. The room provided a wonderful in-room hot spring experience. Room is huge and had a balcony which looked out to the mountains. Tranquil scenery. There was a good variety of buffet items for dinner. Room was very clean and comfortable. Will be back if there is an opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Based on reviews and value-packages advertised on the website, I chose to come to Luming for a little getaway. Though I didn't have many expectations, I'd assumed that Luming would be just like 'any other hotel/resort'. Little did I know.
Upon check in, we found that our room was poorly maintained and exceptionally below average. The staff at the front desk obliged to our request for a room change, albeit a little hesitantly.

Amenities
Advertised on the website was an infinity pool, and based on used reviews I read online, the pool was supposed to possess "amazing views". I was utterly disappointed by what the pool had to offer. It was shallow and dirty, a result of inconsistent and poor maintenance no doubt. The "amazing view" was of some bushes, shrubs, and an open and empty field.
Adding on my already unimpressive experience, I was chastised and given a stern reminder form the life guard that I was only able to take ONE towel from the towel station. I'd taken two. Apparently Luming policy is to provide each guest with ONE towel and ONE towel only.


Check-Out
We'd requested to delay our check out for 1 hour (regular check-out time was 12 noon) because our train wasn't until 2:00pm, but was sternly and rudely denied this request by the front desk. A simple request which I'd never before had any trouble with at any of the hotels/motels/resorts I'd stayed at, was apparently unheard of and absolutely not allowed at Luming. An evidently empty resort would in no case whatsoever allow for me to remain in my room an extra hour after check out.

Conclusion?
Avoid at all costs. Walking through the halls of other hotels and resorts, I'd always be greeted by warm smiles and friendly salutations from hotel staff and administrators. Walking through Luming, I was greeted by either apathetic, cold faces, or stern and superficial smiles. The hotel is located in an isolated community, and staffed by people cold as ice, makes your trip seem as if you've been shipped off to a 'resort' camp as part of some cruel, twisted punishment.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost. In the future, I would definitely pay the extra money to go to one of the other w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

At first I couldn't find this on Tripadvisor as the hotel was listed under its Chinese name (Lu Ming), although on its website and brochures it is Luminous Hot Spring Resort & Spa. No matter.

The more important fact that this was a great resort to unwind for a good R & R. It is in the countryside of the East Rift Valley, and about 20-25 minutes' drive from Taitung itself. This made for spacious surroundings, with the view from the back of the hotel facing the mountains.

The hotel had a wide driveway with ample parking. The lobby area also had a high ceiling with a spacious appearance. While we were there, there was also a man from one of the aboriginal tribes demonstrating his expertise at leaf-folding, teaching how to create crickets and other objects. The cricket was especially life-like, given the natural colour of the leaf.

The rooms had a unique layout, with the bathroom and the wash area being away from the door/corridor. This was to take advantage of the view, so it was possible lie in the onsen and look out at the mountains. This also allowed the shower & onsen area to be separate from both the WC and the sink; useful when sharing the room. Having the hot spring tub in the room made it easy to soak whenever you wanted to.

On the ground floor to the left of the lobby was a large recreational area, with a table-tennis table and bats, arcade games and basketball hoop shooting, a library with a reading area. This was great as there isn't much immediately around the hotel, so this was a good diversion after dinner. We didn't use the spa.

Breakfast at their restaurant was good with many tables well-spaced out, so that it didn't feel crowded at all. There was also a noodle station where one could cook your own noodles and choose your combination of ingredients and garnishes, making your own individual dish. There was a good variety of both Western and Chinese dishes as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel has hardly no information in English. It makes it difficult to do any activities, including the spa on 7 floor. Should be improved since the hotel at the moment is number 1 at the moment in Taitung.
The rooms were nice one they were new, but it's lacking maintenance and good care.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel is in the country side with beautiful surroundings. This hotel is meant for relaxing and enjoying hot spring bath. The room is very spacious with two king beds. We did not have to go to the outdoor hot spring pool, as each room has its own hot spring tub. On the other hand, the toilet cubicle is small; one hardlly has room to move around. Another minor point is the lack of storage cabinets. Our group of 24 was served dinner in a separate room, and the dinner was the best we have had during our 1-week tour in Taiwan. There is a library well stocked with mainly Chinese books and magazines, and guests can take books back to their room to read. Guests can use the eight desktop computers in the library free of charge. There is a nightly 40-minute cultural show, featuring songs and dances of the minority Gao Shan (High Mountain) tribe. On that chilly night, the show was performed indoor. It was an enjoyable stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA

Address: No.200 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Luye Town, Taitung 955, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taitung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taitung
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taitung
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA Taiwan/Taitung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.