We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lalu Sun Moon Lake to your Saves list
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou 555, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Nantou
4.5 of 5 stars 216 Reviews
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I heard a lot about this hotel, but never had the chance to experience it until this past weekend, and I was not disappointed, although it was a bit pricey. Upon arrival, we were greeted by hotel staff who took care of our car, luggage, and escorted us to a nice waiting area to enjoy plum tea and almonds while giving us steaming hot face towels to refresh ourselves a bit. Since we arrived in the evening, we were not able to enjoy the vistas the rooms provided. In the morning, there were great views of the lake from every room! There's even a balcony with nicely appointed furniture to take in the views! unfortunately, the morning was foggy and the day was cloudy so no great sunrises was observed. The suites were exquisite! I was only there for a night so I was not able to enjoy the full benefits of a good stay. However, that was a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    51
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
69
76
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I just completed and incredible stay at the magical LaLu hotel. The hotel is nothing less than breathtaking - enhancing the already incredible scenery. Service is beyond what I have experienced in many of the worlds' best hotels. The staff greet you by name and provide the perfect balance of service and privacy. The spa was magnificent and the LaLu massage was one of the best we have ever experienced. Overall, the LaLu has no faults - you will be blown away with the experience - from the room through to your own private tea ceremony.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I heard a lot about this hotel, but never had the chance to experience it until this Christmas Eve, and I was not disappointed, although it was a little pricey. But you do get your money worth. Upon arrival, we were greeted by hotel staff who took care of our car, luggage, and escorted us to a nice waiting area to enjoy tea and snack. A short while later, we were escorted to our very nice and comfortable room with 180 degree view if Sun Moon Lake on its patio/lanai. The room is equipped with an old Bose sound system, but it worked fine. Only complain I had was it had limited cd selection; bring your favorite cd's, since you cannot get AM or FM receptions. I should have check the system to see if it was possible to hook up iPad/iTouch. Too bad that the Japanese restaurant only opens on weekend, so we didn't have the chance to try it. But the reasonably priced Chinese restaurant was pretty good. Same goes to the pool, too. It was beautiful, but we didn't have time to try it. So, I highly recommend that guests set aside some time to use it to get their money worth. Overall, this 2013 Christmas Eve/day we spent there will be a day to remember for the rest of our lives. Big thanks to the fine Lalu staff for making it possible. One last point, the place probably is due for renovation, since there are places, such as the corners and the tiles of the shower stall, that starts to show age.

Room Tip: All the Lake View Rooms are supposed to have full view of Sun Moon Lake, and the rooms we stayed (25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you ask me, I would say, "What a disaster!"  We stayed in the pool villa.  My next-door guests had a party that started at 10 pm, and we'd been waiting until midnight for the hotel staff to deal with it, which took them 30 minutes, but after annoying sound, it was loud embarrassing sound.  You think it was the end, no!  A machine in the bathroom was out of order and keeping making an irritating noise. There were scooters and cars moving every five minutes coz our room was right next to the driveway!  Beautiful scenery but no sound insulation, not to mention the not so good food they provide.  I just need a quiet room to sleep.  Is this too much to ask??

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Entering into a serene lobby and overlooking the magnificent lake was confirmation I had made the correct choice. The service throughout the hotel is excellent. The rooms beautiful, Ah yes, the lake! The view from our balcony encompassed the infinity pool, gorgeous lake, and beautiful mountains. Modern with an Asian sensibility makes The Lalu a true gem .

Room Tip: 1507 is amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We travel a fair bit so have stayed in a good number of hotels. The Lalu was special and is one hotel that we will never forget. The view from our bedroom was beautiful and I particularly enjoyed seeing how changes in the light were reflected in the scene before us. The mountains make a lovely backdrop to the lake. Another reason we particularly enjoyed our stay was the outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. When we asked how to arrange a boat trip on the lake, they immediately offered a driver and car to take us down to the pier. The hotel is very nicely furnished and maintained and somehow exudes an ambience of rest and relaxation. Visit and you will see what I mean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the omelettes were delicious. My only criticism is the espresso coffee that I had one night in the lounge/bar area was very bitter. Apart from that though our stay was perfect and I would gladly return. Two nights was not enough! There is plenty to do and see in the area. Also we thought the spa was lovely and the prices very reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Go, but be prepared for some imperfections. First impressions are fab as the view is the first thing you see and probably the biggest attraction of the hotel. The second thing that you see are the stained carpets in the lobby, when they sit you down for the welcome drink. Then there's the worn wood and broken umbrella stands. The frustrating thing is that there are easy and inexpensive ways to make improvements e.g. just switch the location of the most damaged items. You have to ignore it all, because once you do this is a really lovely place to stay. The room is beautifully designed and a very nice space to be in. The massage and scrub treatment in the spa was excellent. Breakfast also good, nice to eat al fresco on the terrace. Dinner in the western restaurant best avoided...just a single pecan in my salad, strange pesto and dessert was frozen in the middle. The hotel has a special charm; I really enjoyed my two night stay. You can hire bikes from the hotel and there's a nice cycle path along one side of the lake, takes about 90 mins. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and felt relaxed and refreshed when I left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nantou
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou
#2 Spa Hotel in Nantou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.