We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and homely style accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Villa Cingjing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misty Villa Cingjing
Save
You added Misty Villa Cingjing to your Saves list
No.9 Rong Guan Lane,Ren-ai Township, Nantou, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nantou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice and homely style accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent location of this Villa. Located in the vicinity of the main shopping area of Cingjing, this villa is within walking distance to 7-11, Carton King, Little Swiss Garden, MOS burger, Starbucks etc. The villa also provides free 1-way shuttle service to the Green Green Grassland for their guests.

A few pointers to note though:
1. Stairs: as our room is located at the highest level of the Misty Villa, my gf and I had a really tough time scaling up the stairs. Each and every time we scaled up the stairs, we would literally collapse on the floor after we reach the room. Total workout. Fortunately, the villa owner volunteered to help us with the luggage, otherwise I won't be able to imagine how it will kill me.
2. Aircon: no aircon required. The rooms are cold enough to send you shivering with cold in the morning. All natural aircon!
3. Room: big big room with a fantastic view for sunrise! I was fortunate enough to be blessed to catch their morning sunrise despite the heavy mist (no pun intended). The room provided hot & cold water dispenser for guests. The common corridor have a hot water dispenser too in case the one in your room fails.
4. Shower: big big toilet and shower area with hot shower available. No worries with moving around in the toilet. However, please note that toilet papers should not be thrown into the toilet bowl lest you choke up the toilet.
5. Beddings: clean beddings with no stains or unpleasant smell. Good job!
6. Reception staff: very friendly villa owner to readily answer your requests and queries. You may also arrange for the HeHuanShan morning hike to watch the sunrise with them, or even transport down to Taichung HSR should you need to.

One safety note for walking around the mountains in the night: turn on your mobile phone flash lights and have one flashing in blinking mode when getting back to your villa after shopping at the Cingjing main shopping area. For those without a blinking mode, download those flashlight apps and switch it to MOS code mode for the flashing. This enables you to save your phone battery and also ensures safety when walking on foot in the night outside.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, make sure you are a good staircase climber. Expect some slope climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Love the location of this villa. The only cons are those "steps" you gonna climb to your room. We stayed in room 313... with 1 huge luggage, 2 medium luggage, 1 stroller... We're lucky that our driver drove to the back of the villa (2nd floor) so it'll be easier for us to unload all those luggage. During our departure, Misty Villa got the driver (we're pre-arranged with Misty for the driver to send us to Sun Moon Lake, followed by Taichung HSR) to move those luggage into his transport while we're having our breakfast during check-out.

Misty is so convenient! Right opposite Misty is the Cingjing Recreation Centre (Mist Plaza). There're 7-11, MOS Burger, Starbucks, Hotpot restaurant, Old England Café, small food stall, stall selling chocolates, limited winter wear in one of the souvenir shop, Lavender theme shop! Another side of the road, you'll find Little Swiss Garden, Carton King Shop, Carton King Restaurant & 7-11 as well.

We like it here cause they do provide quite a lot of convenient for us, such as:
* Free shuttle bus (one-way) to Green Green Grassland at 9am & 2pm.
* Discounted entrance ticket to Green Green Grassland at TWD140/adult (u.p. TWD200)
* Tied-up with Carton King Restaurant (discount vouchers)

Heard they do organise sunrise tip to Wu Ling/He Huan Mountain as well! How I wish I have company...

We stayed in a Standard Family Suite (3 adults & 1 kid). Better view = higher room + STAIRS!
Room with toiletries, hot & cold drinking water, hot shower, heater bed, balcony, natural air-con!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in room 101. its the room with minimal climbing and walking. Chalet style accommodation with big beds and space for children to run around. No boiler in the room. Hot water point is a few steps outside the room. Thermal flask is provided to collect hot water.
Walking distance (uphill) from the little swiss and 7 eleven.

Meals are delicious.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We took bus from Puli to Cing Jing and alighted one stop earlier. We got off out of nowhere and luckily the minsu arranged to pick us up. If you travel from Puli, do check with the bus driver the correct bus stop. Should be after you have seen the Starbucks/Mos Burger signage.

Since the minsu is located on higher ground, do expect a lot of stairs to your room. We stayed at level 2 and the room is very big (the biggest of all the hotel/minsu during our Taiwan trip). There is a water dispenser in room for usage. The room comes with a small balcony which you can have the view of mountains every morning.

The stay will be more pleasant if the room is warmer.There is heater under your bed although it is not sufficient to keep you warm.

The dinner provided (300 nt/person) is very value for money. There are many dishes served (including steam fish and hot soup).

Room Tip: If you travel with family, you can book the family room (Level 1) to avoid climbing up too many stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked a room with Misty Villa because it seemed like only their family room comes with electric heater. Almost all the other minsu don't come with heater. Although it was not very cheap, we decided to pay for the heat as we didn't want to freeze our young children at night. When we arrived, I found out our rooms were on the 2nd floor only so we didn't have to climb too much with our heavy luggages. My sis-in-law who just followed us blindly to Taiwan without knowing what lodging we booked, was so impressed by the look of the room that she rated it her most favorite out of all the 5 places we stayed during our Taiwan trip. She loves the western/wooden interior of the rooms that reminded her of her past life living in the USA. I agreed with her too; the room was huge and so cosy and the beautiful mountain scenery also reminded me of my life back in the USA. :)

The dinner was great! 7 courses Yunnan dinner and they were delicious! And the eating house was very cosy; with the Christmas tree and the Christmas songs, the whole atmosphere was so homely and we also saw many Singaporean visitors staying there as well. Although the breakfast variety was not super huge, I actually enjoyed it. It was delicious and the warm soya milk topped it off really well! The hostess was very friendly and helpful as well!

Back to the electric heater, actually it did not give out too much heat especially our room was huge so it didn't help that much. However, our heated blankets really helped us alot. We had a super comfortable sleep! I woke up early to watch the Sunrise but because it had been raining and it was winter, the sky was very cloudy and so I couldn't see any sun.

The only thing that I don't like is the bathroom. That's why I only gave 4 stars. It equips with an open bathtub and so when you shower, the water will splash all over the floor. Our bathroom floor was totally wet and I really hate my bathroom floor to be wet. Also, the toilet flushing system in Taiwan is very poor. Our toilet was clogged the first time my niece used it. The staff came up to help us immediately after I called them and he told me that we can't throw too many toilet papers into the toilet or else it will clog again. We have to throw them into the trash bin beside it. Quite troublesome though.

Overall, we enjoyed our 1 night stay here for its beautiful scenery, yummy food, good service and cosy rooms! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Read many good reviews before choosing this place. It is very near to all the shops such as MOS burger and starbucks so its a plus point. The owners are friendly but not as hospitable at i read in other reviews. We booked 3F room instead to 2F deluxe room and its a good choice, view is definitely better. Woke up for sunrise at 7am. The dinner was wonderful- home cooked taiwan dishes. Breakfast was limited but good. Overall recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After reading so many reviews on Misty, we had rather good expectations of our stay and we were not disappointed. As we had arranged for e-go bus transport on our own, Ms Chen didn't know what time we would be arriving, but she was prompt to serve us by arranging to bring our luggage up to our rooms when the rooms were ready (we arrived about 1.30pm so it wasn't check-in time yet) and advising us what to do and where to go for the day.

Stayed in the room on 3F, and I won't talk about the stairs as I believe many others have already written about it. I agree with the previous reviewer that the lack of a room heater was hard to manage considering we were also there in December. This would in fact be the reason why I am only giving 4 stars for this review, as I think at least a portable room heater for the winter months would be good if they wanted to prevent abuse of usage (cingjing is a very eco area), as showering for tourists in a non-heated room is a nightmare since we aren't used to the cold.

Nonetheless, we are very happy with the stay. It was very nice of Ms Chen to advise us that it would have been better to take the e-go bus to Taichung HSR and take the HSR to Taipei, and even attempted to call up e-go to see if our self-arranged transport to Taipei can be changed. Though no change could be made as e-go had already bought our insurance for the trip to Taipei, Ms Chen went a step further to arrange transport for us and our luggages down to Starbucks on the check-out day to wait for our e-go bus as buses to Taipei do not pickup passengers from each minsu. I believe we were supposed to have lugged it down ourselves as that was what the e-go bus driver told us after depositing us at Misty on the 1st day.

Also, my hubby and I thought their dinner was worthy of mention. It was very good and generous, and not expensive at all. We're glad we tried having dinner with the minsu on one of the nights.

All in all, will come back again, but we will remember to ask for the 1F rooms and most importantly, not in the winter months.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Villa Cingjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Villa Cingjing

Address: No.9 Rong Guan Lane,Ren-ai Township, Nantou, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nantou
Also Known As:
Misty Villa Cingjing Hotel Nantou
Misty Villa Cingjing Taiwan/Nantou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Villa Cingjing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.