We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and room, highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Moon Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55541, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Nantou
4.0 of 5 stars 77 Reviews
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and room, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Sun Moon Lake hotel last August and had a really great experience there. The hotel is about 15-minute walk from Shui She Tourist's center and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus from the tourist center and the hotel. You can also call the hotel and ask for the bus service. The bus driver was very friendly and gave us recommendations about nearby restaurants. The hotel even provide free bottled water on the car, which is really rare for a four-star hotel. The check-in is very efficient. We booked a Japanese style room, which features two comfortable twin beds and separate seating area. The bathroom is really nice and features a huge tub. The terrace of the room is also very great. The breakfast at the hotel is really great. I highly reconmend the Minced pork rice, which is very tasty. The service in the hotel is also quite good. Hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this hotel and I will return to this hotel if I go to Sun Moon Lake next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear valued customer:
Thank you for giving us such a great comment.
We sincerely wish you will visit us again and we are looking forward for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for one night in a lake-view room. It had a gigantic bed, bath with lake-view (!) and a Japanese room within. It was off-season, so the hotel was very quiet. I don't think the staff were accustomed to non-Chinese speakers but they could get along at a basic level, especially at the front desk. We wished we could have stayed longer.

My daughter is accustomed to oriental style beds, i.e. very hard, and she found the bed too soft.However I believe that there are some Japanese-style beds in some roons.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view: mountain view was not nearly as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself

and I am also glad you and your daugher liked our room

We pride ourself in our Taiwanese way of hospitality and we are the newest lake front hotel in the sunmoon area, and we are also the only bike trail connecting hotel in sunmoon lake

we sincerely wish you can come and stay with us again, and let us pamper your next sunmoon trip

thank you very much and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe lake view quad room and were impressed by how spacious it was. The room was thoughtfully designed, notably with a shoe cabinet for us to deposit our shoes after changing into our slippers. The TV in the Jacuzzi is also a nice touch. We especially enjoyed watching the sunrise from our room and the bicycle trail around the hotel. On the other hand, we note an area for improvement. The sewage system does not appear to be working too well as the toilet reeked of sewage when we first arrived. This is however a minor issue which does not detract much from our perception of this place, as the staff showed professionalism throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for give us feedback so we can improve ourself and make our customers happier next time staying with us

your comment and suggestions are being noted and passed on to the approprate department,

and I hope next time you are visiting sunmoon lake area, you can come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay again

again thank you very much and see you next time very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

On family vacation, initially unsure of hotel given the slightly further from town location but was a great choice in the end given the staff quality, high quality rooms and amenities

Pros
- Very beautiful rooms to 4/5 star standard, lake view is the best!
- in room spa and dinning area were very comfortable
- FREE bicycle rental ( a good range of bikes too, for adults and children)
- 10 minute walking distance from town via lake boardwalk road for pedestrians only
- very good breakfast spread
- free shuttle bus to town. Staff were kind enough to go off schedule for us early in the morning at 710am to catch a connecting bus to Taipei!
- hotel provided cot at no extra charge for baby

Had an excellent experience and just wish I could have stayed longer

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear valued customer

First, I would like to thank you very much for taking your precious time to write us a comment so we can improve ourself and make our customers happy next time staying with us

We pride ourself in our Taiwanese way of hospitailty, and we are the newest bike trail connecting hotel in the sunmoon lake area, and we are also the newest one in town

next time you are coming to sunmoon area, dont be hestitate to come stay with us again and let us serve you and pamper your stay,

again, thank you very much for your comment and we are looking forward to your next staying with us

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe lake view quad room. We wanted to sleep on the tatami, added NT$1900 per night to set up a sleeping area which included breakfast and dinner which we could enjoy because our package already included two meals. First night, electricity suddenly stopped for two times, resumed after moving the keycard in out, at the third time, hotel offered us to change room, which is just next door! There,
the safety box did not work, still not repaired when we departed. The toilet was so smelly that I nearly vomited, after reporting this, condition could still not improve. However, the catering staff were all very kind and considerate, the staff introducing us to the use of bikes was also very nice and helpful. The set dinner was very delicious and high class, 5 star, excellent service provided. Overall we had a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself and make our customers happy next time staying with us

your suggestion is being noted and passed on to the relevant supervisor

i hope you will come back and stay with us again next time you visit sunmoon lake area

again, thank you for your comment and see you next time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The location is about 10 mins walk (along a lovely lakeside path) from the centre of the resort, meaning that the guests have a better chance of being able to enjoy the peace and serenity of the lake.
We paid NTD6000 bed and breakfast mid-week through booking.com.
The room was excellent, replete with a Japanese-style area of low table surrounded by faux-paper sliding doors. But there were no bedside lamps, meaning it was impossible to read in bed. We had a superb, massive, jacuzzi bath next to a picture window over the lake.
We were in the room on the far end of the corridor , meaning that our balcony was frustratingly small when compared to all the other ones on our floor. We could only really fit one person sitting on it comfortably.
The hotel provides free bike rental to guests.
The breakfast on the first morning was not a buffet, presumably because there were so few guests. It was awful. Little choice. Terribly greasy eggs. The buffet on the second morning was much better with your standard Taiwanese and Western favourites.
The bar/cafe on the reception floor lacks atmosphere and seems expensive. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the quality. I understand that when the hotel is busier there is a buffet restaurant for dinner.
My only real complaint concerns the lifts. There are not enough of them for a hotel of this size, resulting in long waits.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself and make our customers happier next time staying with us

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese way of hospitality and we take every customers need and comments seriously

your suggestions are being noted and passed on to the customer service manager

last, I would like to thank you very much again for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself and make ourself better serve customers next time

I truly hope you can visit us again in your near future,

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived after a hellish trip to the hotel (on hour line waiting for a bus from Taoshung + a 2 hour ride to the lake) to discover than our 200 dollars+ hotel room with a mountain view should have been more accurately described as a Parking lot view.

An overpriced buffet dinner at the hotel where we could not choose our table even though some tables were not reserved and a breakfast buffet overcrowded complete the picture.

Fitness Centre consists of one treadmill, one elliptical trainer and 2 exercise bikes in a basement

On the positive side the room is very nice.

Room Tip: Mountain view is Parking lot view... Lake view does not look impressive. Either the hotel pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Director at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself better and make our customers happier next time when staying with us

our hotel has 80% lake view rooms and 20% mountain views and your room is one of the mountain view room with a partially parking lot view

during your stay, its also the national holiday in Taiwan so our hotel is experiencing 100% occupancy rate so its a bit crowded and i would like to apologize for that and since its national holiday, the streets are also crowded and congested and I would like to apoligize for that

we would like to meet every customers needs when choosing their favorite table but our hotel has policy that some tables must be reserved for other guests when time is still early, and I would like to apologize for the inconviniece made for you

a tip for you, next time you plan to come to SunMoon lake area, choose a low season date so its less crowded and you can enjoy yourself more

thank you very much again for leaving us a comment

and we are looking for your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Moon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Address: No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55541, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou
#4 Family Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Moon Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Hotel Taiwan/Nantou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Moon Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.