We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel w friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Moon Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55541, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Nantou
4.0 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
Oahu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good hotel w friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We took the HSR from Zhoying then the bus from Taichung; took us approximately 3 hrs. Upon arrival @ Sun Moon lake bus terminal, a call was placed to the hotel and the shuttle van arrived within 5 mins. The ride to the hotel is about two minutes; we would not recommend walking if you have luggages. The hotel lobby offers nice view of the lake and mountain ranges. Hotel staffs informed us that check in time is 3pm and since it was only 1 pm, we decided to have lunch at the town center. Hotel bellhop offers us the ride to the town in the shuttle van. We decided to walk via the pedestrian bicycle path; which is located at rear of the hotel and took us 10 mins. We had lunch at local stand; cheap and reasonably priced. Most restaurants located in the center of town are over priced. We walked back via the same path (remember to apply mosquito repellant if you decide to utilize in the evening hours. We checked in exactly at 3 and the mountain view room is nicely furnished and spotless. The hotel offers free bicycles for the guests; we enjoyed the ride. Next morning we had breakfast; serving both Chinese and western items. It was okay. After spent a day doing the tourist things, we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The Asian fusion dishes were okay, $60 USD for two persons. We returned to our room and house keeping did a really great job with the room. I know it is not customary to tip in Taiwan. However, I would suggest you do tip house keeping due to the fact that most them are hard working aboriginal people and every little bit helps. Although we only spent two nights at this hotel, I agreed w other reviewers that two nights is quiet enough for Sun Moon Lake area. We like this hotel based on the fact that the price was quiet reasonable, the staff/house keeping and location/view of the Sun Moon lake.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Front Office Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for your valuable comments about our hotel

we pride ourself for the Taiwanese hospitality,

please come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

thanks again for staying with us,

hope to you see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel lobby is clean and elegant however the wow factor was in the room. We stayed on the ninth floor and the room was beautiful and modern. The view from the balcony was stunning making you want to spend time just sitting and taking it all in. The bed was massive and there was a control pad on the bed board which allowed you to manage everything from the piped music to the lighting and tv.

The bathroom was very well designed with a bath tub allowing you to sit and take in the view.

Overall, this is a highly recommended accommodation, our only regret is only having 2 nights here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Value customer

I would like to thank you for taking your time to give us a review,

we pride ourself for our Taiwanese hospitality and we take every customers needs seriously

next time, please come stay with us again and let us pamper you again

thank you for your stay and see you next time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at during our entire tour in Taiwan, probably the most expensive too! We heard about it and we totally agreed that it lived up to its name. We enjoyed the buffet dinner in hotel as well as the free cultural showcase of the local dancers in the evening.
Hotel may be a little dated but all the Staffs made us feel welcome throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for your continue support of our hotel

our hotel offers the only bike trail in SunMoon lake and we offer free shuttle bus to and from the Bus station

again, thank you for your support of our hotel and we are looking forward in your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had problem looking for hotel in Sun Moon Lake as the hotels/minsus are either too expensive or cheap with not-so-good reviews. Finally decided to splurge a little and booked Sun Moon Lake Hotel. Booked 3 rooms (2 twins and 1 triple) through a third party website, called the hotel to check on my booking to ensure that extra bed for the triple room is included in the booking, staff who answered my call was very courteous and friendly and she even helped me to put in the request to have all 3 rooms on the same floor.

Upon check-in, the staff were already expecting our arrival and keys were all ready, were only waiting for our passports to register. We were all allocated on the same floor, next to each other. The rooms (including toilets) are very spacious, clean and cosy. The extra bed for the triple room is nicely set up (tatami style) in a little cosy corner. Beds are spacious and comfortable for a good night's sleep. Loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom where you can soaked and watched TV at the same time. There's a panel beside the bed to control all the lightings in the room. Free internet access. Superb lake view with private balcony. Breakfast was also the best I had so far in my Taiwan holidays. Plenty selection from Western to Chinese to Japanese style.

As we toured around Sun Moon Lake, we came across some hotels/minsus that I considered booking and told my family, they were glad that I didn't book those as they do not look as comfortable and some even looked dark and remote. Sun Moon Lake hotel is no doubt the most expensive hotel that we stayed for our 8-day trip, but it was very worth it. We even find that one night stay was not enough. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for your support of our hotel

our hotel is the only bike trail connecting hotel in the Sun Moon lake area, and our hotel is the newest one amount them,

our hotel also offers sunken style bath tub for your little ones

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese style service

please come visit us again in the future, and we are looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sun Moon Lake Hotel is about 1.2km away from Shuishe Visitor Centre 水社游客中心 & it provides free shuttle to the hotel, so that is really convenient especially if you have big luggages.

However you may also choose to walk or cycle by the lake. There is proper footpath, take a stroll, enjoy the breeze, the serene beauty of the Alpine Lake. It's quiet, peaceful and romantic. The hotel provides complimentary bicycle, so that is really nice. Try cycling around the lake, not only you enjoy the tranquility, but also keeps you fit & have lots of fun too.

Staff is helpful, friendly, efficient & always smiling, ever ready to provide assistance. Delicious breakfast, free wifi, spacious room with modern design and a Japanese style living area. That is the way to enjoy and relax sitting by the balcony, having a beer & some snacks, losing the track of time as one is immersed in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued customer

i would like to thank you very much for your time to give us feedback so we can improve ourself

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese style hospitality and we try to improve our service through feedbacks and comments made by our customer

please come stay with us again and we looking for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staffs do not hesitate in giving us the best services beyond what they can offer. They are also knowledgeable in all aspects about the place. Rooms are clean and luxurious. It was one of the better hotels I have stayed in Taiwan! room with a small Japanese style living room overlooking the great lake. - There was some kind of a tablet computer between our pillow with which we could control all the lights in the room, the tv etc. When the tv was closed, a lounge type music automatically turned on which was very soothing ! - Warm welcome from the hotel, and we really enjoyed the hot spring bath in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for your precious comments

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese hospitality service and we are the only bike trail connecting hotel in Sun Moon lake area, next time, please come try out our specialized design bike trail and Im sure it will give you a different impression about SunMoon lake

thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place to stay, friendly staff, free wifi, great view. lake view. modern, mid high range hotel. free breakfast buffet that was delicious included in your stay. free bike rental. good location.

dont stay in sunmoon lake more than 2 nights. its perfect for two nights. everything closes by 10 so its quiet. rent a scooter and check out the two main tribe villages. great food away from the tourist traps.

great experience, perfect 2 night getaway.

Room Tip: tip your guy if he upgrades your room. the upgrade was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for your valuable comments so our hotel can improve

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese hospitality so please come stay with us again next time, we will surely impress you

thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Moon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Address: No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55541, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou
#4 Family Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Moon Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Hotel Taiwan/Nantou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Moon Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.